We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN OVERATED 4 STAR HOTEL,JUST MAKES 3 STAR” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Canifor Hotel to your Saves list
Canifor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AN OVERATED 4 STAR HOTEL,JUST MAKES 3 STAR”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

A good hotel ideally positioned for the bus terminus, the buffet breakfast is ok as long as you dont touch the bacon,the sausages are small and sometimes hard as they are left to warm up for a couple of hours the salads are fantastic,.
the evening meals are again buffet style but seem to be very repetitive,the staff are very friendly,we where there for 6 weeks as we enjoy malta, the hotel was just a base,The entertainment mainly caters for the maltese and the very elderly and the pizzeria next door only opened 1 day a week although it might be more in the summer .tea and coffee making facilities are charged per day as is the safe which makes staying there as we did for 6 weeks expensive.we advise not to go all inclusive as you are very restricted in what you can drink +the entertainment,we find going out of the hotel is your best bet as there are bars all around in particular the minstrel bar run by an english girl,it is as cheap as chips and friendly.there is also the elvis bar which has very good entertainment although you have to book a table the night before,one of the few bars you can smoke while watching the acts.
We would recommend this hotel as the price is very reasonable the hotel is clean, but mostly for the position of the hotel within the area of qwara and bugibba

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    230
    246
    204
    200
See reviews for
197
469
63
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

hotel nightmare supposed to be 4 star more like 1 star been to malta many times this is the worst hotel in malta . when we got to the room found thick dust on furniture plus bathroom had a broken seat complained replaced with dirty stained one thick black mould on showerhead and tiles complained manager what did we expect plus on turning down bed blood on pillowcases and long black hairs on sheets plus curly ones

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with CoopTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

4* youre kidding 2+ on a good day , staff surly !!! rooms require full upgrade toillets dont go there !!! carpets thered bare and plaster falling of and paint wotk . reported fault with cooler
unit not cooling but defriosting over 7 days everthing inside wet and water leeking from bottom of door also foot missing at frount . sat/sun night locals invade and redesants cant even get a seat or a dance over all too many faults to menthion . called in to 4* hotel 500m away now thats a 4*

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We used to live in Malta, so we have made many friends over the years, always a home from home place, the area where we lived was Qwara, so as and when we can, we now stay in hotels and vist the many familiar faces and places, we have stayed at the canifor many occassions and have been quite satisfied. This visit we arrived at the hotel to book in to be told that we were being shifted to the Coral Hotel, no way was our reply, after travelling for 12hours, tired, hot and irritable. They then put us inthe cardor apartments, fine by us, but after staying in a middle apartment, with a shaft window in the bedroom, door you walk into was over looking as what can only be described as strangeways prison, next day we asked to be moved, 3 days later we got a lovely apartment with sliding balcony door over looking the pool,we were well satisfied, why does the canifor keep over booking, thought it was a breach of contract, many couples we met that week had all had the same treatment, so be warned if you book the canifor, you may end up in the coral or cardor apartments.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

After reading all the negative reports on this hotel I was really apprehensive but was pleasantly surprised on arrival.
We are seasoned travellers and have stayed in all sorts of accommodation over the years ranging from 2 to 5 star. On this basis I would rate the Canifor as a 3 star.
We booked a superior room for a few pounds extra which proved to be a winner as the room was large and airy with a nice leather settee, table and chairs, a free fridge,iron and ironing board and tea and coffee making faciities,it was cleaned every day with fresh towels and the sheets were changed 3 times during our stay.The air con was very poor and we resorted to the large fan.
There was not much choice of food but we always found something to suit us. The AI drinks were very good but wold have been better up to midnight as is usual in most AI's. The snacks were quite good and we preferred these to the lunches.
The pool area is small but this is normal for a smaller street hotel, it is kept very clean but I think the sunbed mattressess could do with upgrading.
The hotel is in a great location and handy for buses.
We found some staff very pleasant and others quite grumpy.
All in all a great value hotel for what we paid. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Nice reception, clean rooms towels changed every day, close to bus station and shops lots of bars great location for ease of getting about. Area really nice.
Bathroom in need of refurbishment, toilet cistern very difficult to get to flush. Very small pool and sunbeds too cramped together. Some of the staff not friendly others lovely. Food very very basic but there was always something you could fill up on. Air con was large ceiling fan that was very noisy if you had it on at night. Overall it was more like a 2/3star but it wasnt awful though I doubt I would go back to this hotel. LOVED MALTA

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks and had no problems at all, we had good food, hot and tasty, good company.(.in fact 2 weeks of laughing), good clean room and showers and we found the staff friendley if you took the trouble to chat to them. Our 4star it isnt and you get what you pay for, the entertainment isnt that good all the time but we enjoyed some evenings. The Maltese go out dancing at the weekend and should have been looked after in a different room and it did cause problems as they love their ballroom dancing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canifor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.