We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Poor Experience of Malta” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Canifor Hotel to your Saves list
Canifor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Qawra
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“1st Poor Experience of Malta”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just back from the Canifor Hotel.As experienced travellers to Malta we thought we give this hotel a try Wrong Move
Room was at the back of the hotel and we were woken every morning between 04:45 at 06:30by the fuel trucks,water trucks and deliveries for the local Irish Pub opposite also we were next to hotel generator which was on most of the night so we never had a good nights sleep whilst we were there.
We booked a double room but had 2 single beds put together but with single bed covers and sheets
TV was ancient and took 5 mins to warm up before it came on and then another 2 minutes to stop jumping
Food:- We were half board. Breakfast was poor with boiled egss that were always overcooked and black in the middle and every 2nd day a blob of tastless bacon was served the other days the bacon was streaky and was OK
Evening meal the starters were OK but main course was served by the tightest servers I have ever come across you got about a 2oz portion of cooked meat and a level serving spoon of potatoes and vegetables ( when you could eat them,most times a mush of aubergines and courgettes) I asked for more potatoes on more than one occasion and was always greeted a stare then given another half spoon grudgingly.
sweets were gateaux and cheesecakes which were OK
We asked to swith one evening meal to lunch time which we charged 2.50 euros each and then to our horror when we went found out that it was a rehash of the previous evenings menu.
The staff in the dining room need a personality transplant as they never smiled and you hd to be very lucky to get a drinks waiter to take your order 3 evenings we went without.
The only good thing was that the towels were changed every day and the sheets a couple of times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel and definately not the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    249
    259
    220
    215
See reviews for
204
516
72
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We have recently returned from our 10-day holiday at the Canifor, room 123. This was our first visit to Malta and we booked online through Chevron. Flight, transfers and hotel perfect - great value for money. Our room was very spacious overlooking the swimming pool and cleaned every day with fresh towels daily and beds changed regularly. All staff were very polite, friendly and couldn't do enough for you. We were on half board and the food was excellent, plenty of it with loads of choice for breakfast and 5 course dinner, again with plenty of choice. Fresh fruit is available: oranges and apples brought to your table, also ice cream - you just have to ask the waiters. The hotel is very handy for getting about the island, bus station is just a short walk and 7 day "Rover" tickets are now 6.50 euros - excellent value. We would not hesitate in booking this hotel for future trips to Malta.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brean, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

we booked with chevron this the second time at the canifor hotel and we have nothing but praise our flight was good transfers perfect the hotel is very clean all the staff are very helpful and friendly if you want something then just ask and if possible they will assist you we are not big eaters so to have a choice of 4or 5 starters 2 meats or fish or curry all very well cooked is fantastic we certainly dont have such a large choice at home we would reccommend the canifor to every body all amenities are around ie sea bars bus station etc the local buses 1 euro 50 for a all day ticket

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is only the first time I have ever gone back to the same place twice, I am very much a seasoned traveller over many years. I've worked front line in the travel business. The Canifor Hotel, well what can I say? Staff, excellent, what a welcome. Hotel room spotless; food, choices for everyone. Value for money and Mercury Rep, excellent. Mercury Direct the best. Going back for another month anyone complaining about this hotel and the reps should really stay at home in the UK. So looking forward to seeing you all soon!!

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are actually quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

what a great week me and my wife have just had from the flight arriving to the transfer to the hotel,the hotel was very nice for what we paid,the staff was all friendly,very clean maids every day cleaning and changing towels,the hotel is in a perfect place with all amenities' around you from local bars to internet café and restaurants,5mins to sea front,we would definitely go back,FANTASTIC WEEK THANK YOU.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

picked up a cheap deal on spur of the minute and didnt really expect too much but fight good and no hassel,pickup smooth and hotel was good ......had breakfast and decided to upgrade to al which proved to a good deal as food was well cooked and enjoyable ,,,,,,puddings were same all week and no fresh fruit in sight but we were offered to get an upgrade if we went to stay in the sister hotel of drinks at table with meals but we refused .This time of yr hotel was good and staff very funny and looked after us well .......a few would need to learn to smile more and have more respect but its an older clientile.In summer i think it would be hard to stay here cos dinning room is small and pool looks small as well .......rooms were fine but needing updated in the bathroom area and bed matteress was not the best but the cleaning staff were so plesant and nothing was a bother to them .Malta is worth visiting and its a busy holiday with lots of walking but for £6.50 a week u can travel on and off buses to all over island and lots to see ..............Would i go back ???......most definalty and yes to same hotel but as i say im not sure what high season would be like in it

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

we arrived at this hotel, that i selected from the on the beach brochure, looked nice, read a few reviews too, so not really put off,on arrival, the reception cap, dropped the bombshell, "hello nice to see you! you are not booked in this hotel, but in our sister apartments in bugibba,".. so i showed paper work copy number 2, and it said we were, lie number one deteced, " oh sorry u are booked in here" BUT! we have given your room away to the locals, malteese new year, ( but what he did say was there has been a flood, and we have to go somewhere else for one night, hmmm, off we went, still looking for this flood,arrived at the bugibba apartments, room 616, my god what a room, toilet no flush, no heating, no dry bedding, so we diddnt even unpack,back down to reception, given another room, half a mile away,by now ten pm, new years eve, great, stayed in there, never ever again.
Morning came, waited 1 hr for lift in truck,back to canifor hotel, on arrival again waitng for room,finally got room on 1st floor nice room warm, stayed there for six nights, half board, food ok, jakuzzi not working, pool freezing,staff still lying,to new guests as we came to reception, saying we have had a flood please go away, for 4 nites and come back!!!.. this is not on,
the room service/maid i have to say was brilliant,shame the rest of the hotel didnt have the same attitude and williness...if u want a room for sun ask for a front of hotel room they are quite nice, this not a rant, this is the truth, make of it what u can..

Room Tip: front of hotel,dont be put anywhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, HostelBookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canifor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.