We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my husbands birthday trip to malta” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Canifor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Canifor Hotel to your Saves list
Canifor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“my husbands birthday trip to malta”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

we enjoyed our holiday to malta but the hotel canifor was not a four star, possibly a low three star. The food was eatable but staff were not very frendley.We reported a toilet seat in our room as it was very badley scratched and stained black they changed it but said it had been cleaned.No coffee or tea facilities in room.You had to pay for TV and the empty fridge .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    229
    246
    204
    200
See reviews for
197
468
63
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

When I booked this hotel at the last minute it was a bit of a shock to find that the price was less than half that of others in the area and with breakfast included to.
Luckily all was fine and the hotel turned out to be clean and tidy with a good sized room with a balcony overlooking the pool and air-con/fan for keeping the room cool. Wi-Fi was available in reception for free and the hotel has an indoor and outdoor swimming pool as well as plenty of sun-loungers, bar and a pool table area.
Breakfast is a buffet style affair before 10am and includes everything to suit both English Breakfast lovers and the more 'cold continental' start to the day as well as cakes and fruit juices. It wasn't great but it wasn't bad and was pretty much what you would expect from a buffet trying to serve around 200 or more guests in the morning so it was a good start to the morning.
The cleaners checked the room every morning but, for the length of time it took them, the result was either good or shocking with some mornings the throw being arranged to hide an unmade bed underneath!... This was only the case on one out of six mornings though.
The bathroom was very clean with a power-shower and really passed my expectations as I sometimes shiver at the thought of hotels abroad with dirty toilets, etc but this wasn't the case here at all.
My sleep experience was very bad but this was likely to do with the fact that I was suffering from a very painful neck and I do struggle with the extreme humidity and heat during the night. The mattress was bearable but I couldn't sleep on it for more than a week!

The hotel is situated near the head of Buggiba so it only takes 5 minutes to walk to the sea in three directions and the bus station is 2-minutes away. Ten-minutes brings you into the centre of the town with lots of restaurants, shops and entertainment.

The big let-down here was the staff; not the restaurant staff as they were friendly and welcoming but the Receptionists every morning and evening. In all our time at the hotel we didn't get one smile, one greeting or any friendly or helpful advice with some of them blatantly ignoring us until we made a cough or some other noise. If they had given a warmer attitude towards us then this review might've been excellent. What a shame as everything else was pretty good for a 3-star hotel (They say 4 but it really isn't by our standards - think a Britannia or Holiday Inn).

Great for families and couples as the noise tends to die down by 11pm too.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool and was very relaxing with some sunlight but not constant throughout the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Been to Malta a few times before so knew that the 4* wouldn't be 4*, so that wasn't a problem. The hotel its self is ok needs a little tlc, lick of paint etc, bearing in mind how many ppl stay there. We booked B&B as its cheap enough to eat out, breakfast was plenty full lots for everyone's taste, although not up to our standard, but had it every morning. I wouldn't recommend hb or all inc, as there are time limits not like other countries where you cant get what you want when you want. Pool area a bit small but did it job, travelled with family so with 4 kids they could jump dive swim & mess about with no problems. Staff,most of them very friendly, guy on reception seemed a bit 'off ', when we checked in, maid service excellent cant fault them at all. EF students where there, luckly we never had any problems with them or heard them, only time we saw them was when they all got together in reception to go out. So we was quite lucky, as lots of other guest had, had problems & made compliants about them. Try not to use the lifts apart from taking the cases up & down as we where on the 5th floor, they never work as they should going to wrong floors, doors opening between floors so you had to jump out!! Over all the hotel is good very central lots of bars & resturants,bus station 2 mins away very cheap to jump on & go round the island. At the end of the day its not put us of going back, malta is a lovely island & has very friendly ppl. My kids go on educationals & school trips but its usually out of season, maybe if the hotel stopped the ef students in peak season it would be better!

Room Tip: 5th floor room 525 was excellent corner plot was more than large enough for a family of 4, no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ditchingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just returned from the Canifor yesterday and stayed in rooms 428 and 422. I was quite concerned reading the reviews before we went but all in all a good stay. There are elements of truth in all of the criticisms, and I agree that the 4 star rating is optimistic, however the food was good and plentiful and our room was comfortable, but the air con struggled a little in our children's room with the extremme August heat. The reception staff could have been a bit friendlier but they were ok and kept very busy! The pool is small but was never crowded. The location not far from the bus terminal was great for exploring. Mdina and Valleta were beautiful, and about 30mins and 1 hr journey respectively by buses which are cheap. We didn't have any problems with student groups so maybe we were lucky, or maybe the other commentators were unlucky? In summary - not 4 star but not that bad either.

Room Tip: Good views from 4th floor and above with nice breeze looking towards the sea, but rooms overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Date of trip was 8th-15th august 2013. I have a number of points for this hotel all bad, to start the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful,the cleaning was not as thorough as it should be evidenced by a cleaning rota which was last signed on the day we arrived, we found it the day before we left. A large piece of fluff was also on the stairs all week. I also felt the area around the pool could have been cleaner. There were a number of broken and ripped sunbeds around the pool and two of the chairs in the bar area were broken one trapping the skin in my arm in a broken chair arm and another collapsing while my husband was sitting on it (he's not a big man!). The dispenser in the bar for mixers ie coke/lemonade was also broken and all drinks were flat.I also agree with all the complaints (by other reviewers) of students although the ones that were there when we were were not too noisy or invasive. The main issue was food which was really bad badly cooked, badly seasoned and just not very nice. The desserts were extremely limited and didn't include ice cream for all inclusive guests. I spoke to a lot of people during our week and they were all dissatisfied with the food. I also think that the way the Canifor describe the hotel on their website is misleading, they advertise free wifi, but this is only available in the foyer and doesn't work very well if anyone else is trying to use it at the same time as you; its really slow. They also say they have 2 restaurants; which they do, but one is not always open and is not included in the all inclusive price. So overall i would strongly recommend that you don't use this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is definitely not a 4 star rating it just manages a 2 star. The front desk were not polite and friendly. The rooms were not cleaned properly as I found broken glass on the floor which could of resulted in going to hospital. The food was not up to a good standard. The most anoying part was the amount of foreign teenagers under supervision who did not care about other people in the hotel, running, banging, being rude, bad manners and making a nuisance of themselves at all hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This was my 5th visit to Malta first time at the canifor and the last. The hotel would be ok if it wasn't for the rude students from Italy that are staying there, not only are they rude and have no manners there not supervised correctly so just run riot . We were on the fifth floor and an the last three nights of are stay they set up a training session with drums etc that went on nine not accectable if you have young children or you want an early night. The food was good on the whole just had one bad meal one afternoon the waiters are really friendly as are the waiter/ waitress bar staff cleaners happy and helpful even though the students must get them down reception staff are so far up them selfs but not sure why can't comment on pool only went once looked ok to me went to beach well sea most days would need to get rid of the students if they want people to return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canifor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canifor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.