We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“does what it says on the tin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seashells Resort at Suncrest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seashells Resort at Suncrest to your Saves list
Seashells Resort at Suncrest
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1902, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Qawra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“does what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Really you should review thoroughly and expect exactly what you read. Some aspects are 4* while others are 3*. You'll love it or hate it ........ Welcome to Malta.
Go the little extra cost and have a sea view with balcony, some rooms will disappoint you otherwise.
Location good for the peaceful sunbathing while in easy reach of bugibba square with its shops,bars and restaurants.
Food was fine and plentiful, everything was clean and generally in good working order. The staff are hit and miss, as are the locals, some smilely and helpful whilst others are blunt but professional.
I'd stay again....... Probably!!!!!

Room Tip: Sea view with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We thank you for your review especially your comments concerning food and cleanliness and of course staff. What you have written, applies to us, to any hotel anywhere and various countries - people are different everywhere - it helps however if the first approach is a pleasant and friendly one.
Do continue following us - on our website - there is a very good chance we will persuade you to return.
Keep the good spirit up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    409
    266
    148
    98
See reviews for
331
570
50
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barkan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

What is the best in this hotel is their stuff. Really helpful and polite.
The breakfast is very good too, including fresh vegetables, English breakfast, continental croissants and what ever you need.
Rooms are big enough for a couple.
Very simple shower in the bathroom, the bath itself was all scratched. Very poor toilet amenities not as in 4* hotel.
The sheets were short and the extra pillows from the cupboard were with used pillowcases.All this was immediately changed but it shouldn't be like this from the beginning.
May be we are spoiled people but in our country when the water in you room is umpotable the hotel provides drinking water in the public areas.
You have to pay for : water,pool towels, TV remote, safe box and WI FI. Just be aware of it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We thank you for your review, especially your comments concerning the staff. We are sure yours will be a popular review for a while.
All hotels in Malta provide water from the same source, namely the sea - this is in turn dissalinated at reverse osmosis plants - the taste of the water is never what you are used to in the UK - having said that none of the hotels in Malta provides drinking water in public areas.
We do apply an eco-charge for pool towels and a charge for a safety deposit box and wifi but not for the TV remote - you must be referring to another hotel but definately not ours.
We are glad you liked the breakfast and the size of our rooms - perhaps you would like to return next year.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

we spent our honeymoon here this june . staff all very helpful and some one on call 24 hrs , basic evening events but still very pleasant, entertanment teams quiz was brilliant ... should do more of these as all seemed to enjoy , zumba ,gym in the pool was great fun .... food was brilliant loads of choices ... thanks for great week

Room Tip: seaview was great on 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
A big thank you for your review - we are glad you chose our hotel for such an important occassion as your honeymoon.
Also thanks for all the items mentioned and especially your comment about our staff.
We wish you many blissful years of marriage and hope you will at least celebrate your golden anniversary at us - in the meantime however you are welcome any time.
Congratulations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

On arriving at Malta airport, we were told we had been transferred to this hotel instead of our original booking at the Qawra Palace (next door). We were not happy about this but told to stay overnight and then approach the Qawra Palace to try to exchange. No reason was obtainable for the change. However, we were given a personal taxi to the hotel which was a nice gesture. Our room was sea view as requested, really spacious and nice (apart from the ancient TV) and we had wonderful views across the bay.

The reception area is beautiful, contrary to a previous comment, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We decided to stay after the first night as everything was perfect, but for my hard pillow. I requested a soft one, and within half an hour had one delivered to my room.

I agree with others about the food. There was a good variety, but almost always rather cold especially at breakfast. We were all inclusive, and yes, there could have been more variety at the pool bar cafe, but it wasn't really a problem.

The pool is lovely and you never have to fight for a sunbed, even at 11.30 or later.... No need to put towels on to reserve. If its too cramped, then stack a bed on another and spread out a bit! The pool music was far too loud on occasions... after all, people come to relax as well as have fun so it was unnecessary at times (though choice of music was good)!
Didn't think much of the evening entertainment. The team did work hard both day and night, but as there were not many of them, it was difficult to put on a good show.
Most people seemed to 'dress down' for the evening which was a shame as we like to get glammed up after a day in the sun. The dress code posted by the restaurant states no day shorts and tops for evening meal, but this was ignored and nothing was said.

Overall we loved it here and glad we decided to stay instead of changing to next door. We will definitely return soon. Apparently the hotel is due for a refurb over winter, so it should be excellent by then.

Room Tip: We preferred a sea view but others would rather have it quiet overlooking the courtyard. Looks like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We thank you for your review and are glad that you liked it so much that you even decided not to change to the hotel originally chosen
It is great you address your comments to the pool area and of course to our staff - who after all work hard to please our guests.
You may of course keep following us on our website.
We look forward to see you soon again in our hotel.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel reception was very plush however this did not extend to our room.The room was very
tacky,curtains were torn,the mirror in the en-suite was all black marks,the phone in the room did not work,my mattress was dipped in the middle and all yellow stains.We asked to be moved on three occasions but was told they were fully booked in the second week of June (I don,t think so).
The balcony can only be described as a back porch and you could barely move on it,beyond the balcony was a brick wall and behind that brick wall was a very, very,very noisy road so got very little sleep!!! If you are offered Room 130 decline it immediatly!!!!

Room Tip: make sure your room is on a higher floor,for example floor 4 and upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We thank you for your review. As you do not make any mention of our restaurants and outlets whilst you do mention you were booked on all inclusive basis - we would conclude you were satisfied at least with this part of your stay.
We do not advertise that we have terraces but balconies - on yours you would have also had furniture - readers may rest assured that the size of this rooms balcony is a standard one and is the same as the size on the 4th floor - on the 4th floor the view will be better - but one can understand that we need to fill all of the hotel - especially when the hotel is full - which indeed the hotel was.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for 7 days from May 17th 2014 The hotel is clean nice room was Ok so that's side cant complain main grumble was food the restaurant had a canteen feel to it the food was often luke warn and they were not quick enough in replenishing it so you may have your bacon etc and come to get an egg and not there so everything starts to go cold. same every meal time.

If your first in that's fine but after that you having to ask can I have a cup /glass /knife etc
Evening meal was no different and most hotels I have stayed at before have say cloths on the table candles etc just to make it worth the bother to dress up a little but sadly not here
I have read so many reviews about the salt pots not working I have to say its true all the time we were there never found one that worked ended up unscrewing them but as it salt to be ground that didn't really help the salt grinders were not hotel quality and not up to the job.

Most hotels have snacks in the afternoon where they lay out snacks fruit even make pancakes etc the only snack available all day were pre made sandwiches not often very nice and often soggy no one doing fresh eggs in the morning so your fried or poached egg was usually like a bullet

Pool was lovely only pain is the beds are touching side by side with no room to move unless you get one at the end which I should imagine is a nightmare at busy times as you can even get off at the side only shuffle ungainly of the bottom no where to put a drink down beside you no room to manouver so need to rethink that , we got an end one most days then moved it out a couple of feet to give us some room.

Cocktails nothing special just all ingredients poured in a glass nothing like the pretty pictures they advertise same with the unlimited snacks only sandwiches soggy wraps and maybe cake

The hotel the public areas were lovely staff lovely food a big let down it was OK perhaps I have just had better elsewhere and am I fussy sorry I like to have at least my evening meal relaxed instead of being hovered over to whip my plate away he minute the last mouthful had gone we found we were only in the restaurant for about half an hour you went in ate feeling like you had to eat up and get out .

That's the reason I wont go back to that hotel a real shame as everything else was OK

Room Tip: Its near the road buts that's just the way a lot of the hotels are over there so if your used to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We thank you for your review, especially your comments concering staff.
Since you were here and weather is permitting, we are also offering (besides the lunch in the main restaurant) burgers, sausages etc near the pool. As you do not mention the Maltese Restaurant - It-Tokk in your review, I presume you have not been there for dinner.
We hope you have ventured to visit some sites in Malta.
cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Been at this Hotel for the second time and we must say that we saw a big improvement since our last stay, all our requirements upon booking had been met, the staff was really nice and the room was perfect, and the breakfast had a big selection of food.
This Hotel has everything one needs for a relaxing holiday, and is perfectly located as its is surrounded by shops, restaurants, cinema and beaches.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We thank you for your review and are glad that you are pointing out an improvement since your last star.
We thank you for pointing out that you liked the selection of food.
Well - all good things come in threes - we hope to see you soon again.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seashells Resort at Suncrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Resort at Suncrest

Address: Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1902, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seashells Resort at Suncrest 4*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seashells Resort at Suncrest has been a leading 4 star hotel on the Maltese Islands since its very first days and has kept its tradition of hospitality within the AX group throughout the years. We decided that it was time to give the hotel a face-lift so during the winter months the hotel will be going through an extensive renovation programme with its doors re-opening on the 1st of April 2015. The property is conveniently located on the Salina to St Paul's Bay Promenade, merely a few minutes' walk away from the National Aquarium. Right opposite the hotel entrance guests can also find a very handy bus stop. Take a left outside of the hotel and you will immediately start walking towards all the hustle and bustle of Bugibba and Qawra, the main tourist hub on the island. Take a right and you'll be heading out on to the coast road for a 20 minute drive to St Julian's to enjoy the most popular night life spot in Malta. The hotel is located on the seafront for fantastic views of the Mediterranean and the best sunrise anyone could hope to wake up to. Guests can enjoy a sea water pool and pool bar (weather permitting) enabling them to experience a truly Mediterranean holiday. For the younger audience a kid's pool, fun boat and slide promise fun, activity and excitement. The Carisma Spa and Turkish bath (Hammam) will continue to pamper guests in a more intimate and relaxed atmosphere. Get ready for the new face of the Seashells Resort at Suncrest, your number one resort for individual, corporate and family travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Seashells Resort at Suncrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Resort At Suncrest Hotel Qawra
Suncrest Hotel Qawra
Seashells Resort At Suncrest Malta/Qawra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seashells Resort at Suncrest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.