We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay At The Seashells Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seashells Resort at Suncrest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Seashells Resort at Suncrest to your Saves list
Seashells Resort at Suncrest
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1902, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Stay At The Seashells Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on an all inclusive basis and were happy with the variety of food and drinks on offer. Would recommend the Maltese restaurant and the poolside BBQ. The room was clean and tidy the only downside i found was there was no safe in the room, the safes are located behind reception which is a bit of a pain every time you want to get something. You will need to get the larger safe if you have cameras etc. Qawra is a good base with plenty of buses going past to get to Valletta and surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Request a seaview if you like to relax on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We thank you for your review and are glad we have reached your expectations when it comes to the all inclusive package.
Indeed Qawra is a good base to be in and the buses are very frequent.
Glad you enjoyed the sea view.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    403
    264
    146
    96
See reviews for
329
565
49
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on all inclusive basis. The food was good with a varied choice on offer. The pool was fantastic, although colder than the sea, but with lovely views of the bay. The entertainment in the evening was a bit patchy but the karaoke night was excellent! Staff were friendly and helpful and the barman mixed an excellent cocktail. Qawra is a tourist town and to see the historical parts of Malta had to go to Valletta by bus. Went on the citysightseeing bus which we were told by the rep was the easiest way to see the island. We should have gone with Arriva which would have been cheaper and less hassle. Would gho back to Malta but probably stay in or closer to Valletta.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We thank you for yet another positive review today concerning our all inclusive package. We would also like to thank you for your comments concerning staff.
With the site seeing bus you can go to a designated area of the island - usually north or south and then stay as long as you like in any particular place. With the public bus one will have to pay each time on the bus - or have a day ticket but there is not the same continuity as with the site seeing bus.
We are glad you would like to return to Malta.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I too don't understand the good reviews - the hotel is a bit old, the service was poor, the food was horrible and the location was not so good - it takes over an hour to get to Valletta.
Would recommend going to another restaurant for sure. Also was so surprise that the internet is separate, the safe is separate, the non-alcoholic drinks are also charged (at least if you do not get the all - inclusive). So even though it somewhat cheaper than others, it may not be as cheap as you would think.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We thank you for your review.
If one is not booked on all inclusive basis - how can one expect to have beverages, alcoholic or not included?
Wifi and safe are indeed at a charge as is very clear on all hotel descriptions.
We leave it for the readers to refer to other reviews with regards to food, location and above all service.
You do not mention whether you enjoyed the rest of your stay on our poor island - we hope you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I visited this hotel together with my sister and elderly parents, my father is disabled so needed a suitable hotel. The positive features- good for disabled people, ramps , lifts and disabled bedrooms. Staff very helpful, friendly and professional. Hotel is right on the sea front so disabled people can get down to the sea front with ease ( but not in the sea as the way down into it is very unsafe). Rooms are fairly big. Negatives- the hotel is being updated but the rooms are looking tired in places. Bedding is poor, pillows are the hardest I have ever had, covers warn,beds ok but not new. My bedding was dirty when I arrived to be fair staff soon replaced it. Food is very variable, breakfast is ok but evening meals were very variable, some days good others very poor. very disappointed that in spite of paying full amount many of the services advertised were NOT provided during my stay. This included the use of an in door swimming pool , fresh lunch time sandwiches ( we were offered very unpleasant cheese and ham sandwiches everyday). We went all inclusive the only snacks available all day were the ham and cheese sandwiches . The pool bar was often closed so no cup of tea available! My parents like entertainment at nights , this was only available on a few nights. Tips 6th floor are said to be the best. It is probably worth going for a sea view as the other rooms face on to a street. IF you don't want to face or pay for a shared transfer in an old van there is a bus. The 3x runs between the airport and stops outside the hotel. The view from the hotel is not the best- there is an old rubbish dump that looks like a slag heap across the bay- it be fair it does not look too bad. The pool area is nice and a well prepared walk way suitable for people with mobility problems compensates for the old rubbish dump.

Room Tip: choose a sea view and 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We thank you for your review and recognition for the suitability to guests with disability and of course your comments concerning staff.
Very many guests have commented about the beautiful view of the Salina Bay and the Coast Road with the opportunity to see a full sun rise across the horizon. Across the Bay - 1km away slightly to the right is an old land fill which is not in use any more and which is being covered professionally. this is also on the other side of the Coast Road.
The Pool Bar was closed because the weather did not permit that we open - you were unlucky to experience heavy rain showers.
We are glad you could all enjoy the pool area.
cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed here with the wife and child in mid September, bed and breakfast only.
Service - first class, very pleasant staff, always smiling and willing to help, free milk/juice for the baby.
Location - Qawra is a a resort town and I could always find a space near the pool.
It is located on the main road so it does get a bit noisy in the morning and late evening but as a benefit the bus stop is right outside.
Room/hotel - Superior room which looks out towards the sea.
It is slightly dated but clean and everything worked.
Food - (B&B only) usual breakfast fare with no issues.
Value - reasonable I think.
Would I go again? Probably yes if I was going to the same area.

Room Tip: if you don't choose sea view you'll be looking out at the back of other buildings! Airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We thank you for your review and are glad that all the family including your child was happy.
We are glad about your fair comments and are glad you would consider to come to our hotel again
Keep the good spirit up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Find another hotel, this is worn with no service. Food was ok. Pool is colder than the sea. If you order coffee facilities they give you a water boiler and coffee powder , I asks for water and was told to go to the shop and buy my own. They charged me E 35,- for 7 days.

Room Tip: Traffic noise in front, not nice in the backyard, aircond not working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We thank you for your review and your comment for the food. It is very difficult for the pool to be colder then the sea, because it is much more shallow.
The charge you have mentioned for the tea/coffee making facilities includes the tea/coffee, milk and sugar as well as a deposit for the equipment. We do not advertise that this facility comes free of charge.
We hope that you at least enjoyed all the places of interest on our island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very good hotel, suitable for all ages.
Very good variety of food, all well labelled for allergies (nuts, alcohol etc).
Pool area extremely clean and spacious, no need to fight for sun beds.
Staff seen all times of day keeping the hotel clean, the room in particular was spotless
Reception staff a mine of information and couldn't be more helpful
First part of holiday was a three day convention, facilities very good for both large and small bookings
Would definitely return
Would have given an 'Excellent' rating but the access for disabled could be a little easier in certain areas

Room Tip: Sea view rooms by far the best, but some noise from the street at the end of the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad your convention was a success and that you will return to our hotel. Of course we would have loved to get that one extra point from you. Our public areas, including the pool may all be reached by ramps - which is ideal for wheel chairs.
We are glad you found the food good and pool area nice.
Hope to see you soon again.
Keep the good spirit up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seashells Resort at Suncrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Resort at Suncrest

Address: Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1902, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seashells Resort at Suncrest 4*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seashells Resort at Suncrest has been a leading 4 star hotel on the Maltese Islands since its very first days and has kept its tradition of hospitality within the AX group throughout the years. We decided that it was time to give the hotel a face-lift so during the winter months the hotel will be going through an extensive renovation programme with its doors re-opening on the 1st of April 2015. The property is conveniently located on the Salina to St Paul's Bay Promenade, merely a few minutes' walk away from the National Aquarium. Right opposite the hotel entrance guests can also find a very handy bus stop. Take a left outside of the hotel and you will immediately start walking towards all the hustle and bustle of Bugibba and Qawra, the main tourist hub on the island. Take a right and you'll be heading out on to the coast road for a 20 minute drive to St Julian's to enjoy the most popular night life spot in Malta. The hotel is located on the seafront for fantastic views of the Mediterranean and the best sunrise anyone could hope to wake up to. Guests can enjoy a sea water pool and pool bar (weather permitting) enabling them to experience a truly Mediterranean holiday. For the younger audience a kid's pool, fun boat and slide promise fun, activity and excitement. The Carisma Spa and Turkish bath (Hammam) will continue to pamper guests in a more intimate and relaxed atmosphere. Get ready for the new face of the Seashells Resort at Suncrest, your number one resort for individual, corporate and family travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seashells Resort at Suncrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Resort At Suncrest Hotel Qawra
Suncrest Hotel Qawra
Seashells Resort At Suncrest Malta/Qawra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seashells Resort at Suncrest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.