We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunny days” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seashells Resort at Suncrest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Seashells Resort at Suncrest to your Saves list
Seashells Resort at Suncrest
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1902, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“sunny days”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

just returned from this hotel food not nice rooms clean but basic lifts some don't work says lobby you come out at avery dark corrider booked this as a alinclusive not worth it not a lot of choise and same snacks every day if you want acup of tea at tables outside in the sun you need to go to bar and they give you it in polystrine cups discusting ilike proper cup canonly have this inside café but don't want to listen to loud telly when on holiday and want outside pool clean plenty sunbeds but all cramed together not much room to move entertainment outside at pool but got cold at night and had to pay 50 euro deposit for room on arrival would not go back to this hotel

Room Tip: not good if problem walking a lot of steps my friend struggled quite abit and lift far from our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We thank you for your review.
Indeed, during the day we serve drinks at the pool in plastic - this we do for our guests' safety as a lot of them are barefooted. This is also not something which the hotel decided to do, but what the health and safety requirements dictate. During the evening drinks are served in glass.
the Euro50,-(per room not person) is refundable at departure.
Our evening entertainment takes place outside on request from our guests. Considering that most of our guests come from countries which are way cooler then Malta, we understand this. The temperatures have been in the 26-28 degrees during the evening lately.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    403
    264
    146
    96
See reviews for
329
565
49
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from this hotel yesterday (sunday 30th) only stayed for a week with the family and went all inclusive. the entertainment at night was very pleasant, the music in the day time when aerobics and animation dance was on was very jolly&theres always something going on during the day (darts, water polo, volleyball etc). The rooms were clean and nice, some rooms aren't up to date but are being updated! The staff were very friendly and the food was reasonable. You don't have to get up to early to get a sun bed there are plenty left. There were quite a lot of English people there (which was good). It was nothing glamorous but it was clean, fun, friendly, enjoyable holiday and would defiantly go back to this hotel again.

The only downside about this hotel is all inclusive stops at 11pm and you have to pay for your drinks.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
A thank you for your review - it is great to read that your hotel was such a success that you would not hesitate to return.
Also great to read is that you enjoyed the animation programme.
Indeed the all inclusive applies until 23.00hrs but until then we do not cut corners - for example we do not only serve spirits but also cocktails - ice cream is served in all food outlets inclusive the sun and surf bar, all type of snacks at the sandwich bar are included etc.
We look forward to seeing you soon again in our hotel.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinver, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just back from a week at Seashells at Suncrest in Qawra (pronounced Ouwra, not Q), sun was great but generally we prefer somewhere quieter. No room either around the pool or in it to swim! Rather noisy too. However.......
Food was nice, BBQ being the fave if you can excuse the odd fly, didn't try fried breakfast but the healthy options were ok (bar the fruit being mostly out of a tin!) Melon was plentiful.
All inclusive - well, cocktails were not nice, who makes a cocktail with orange squash!! but beer and vodka/tonic made up for that. Red house wine with dinner was most acceptable.
Thanks to trip advisor we emailed the hotel asking for the 7th floor a couple of days before departure - and we got 730, huge room with a double bed, only one chair and no drawers though so we had to live out of a suitcase all week, not ideal. Balcony got sun all day and sea view to the right was lovely (see pic); I expected a surcharge but didn't get one, good for them :-). Be warned, towels, safe - have to pay for, and no safe in room - little boxes behind the lobby in a locked room, not ideal if you want to get your things out for evening. 50 Euro deposit taken, we gave cash as did not want to write credit card details down and they took the charges out of that, got about 37 Euro's back.
Quieter as the week went by and we were able to sit downstairs by the sea then go for a swim down the ladder, that was fab and recommended rather than the pool. When busy, towels are out there before breakfast, very annoying. Staff were helpful and place was clean but dated, would we go again? maybe but probably to a quieter hotel. BTW Coffee was just awful! be warned if like me you like your caffeine. Don't go with Thomas Cook if you don't like flying or very hot minibuses, we came home via Cardiff and were delayed for 2 hours on the way as they had scheduled an Air Malta flight and merged the 2 from Birmingham - worse, they knew about it beforehand and didn't tell us! complaint will be on its way, we would never have taken that week if known, their customer service is appalling, you cant even email - but that is not about the hotel, just a heads up on how you may book.

Room Tip: 7th floor, not facing the front or back but to the right as you face the hotel to get a sea view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
A thank you for your review.
We would like to underline that the chargeable towels are the pool ones and not the ones in the bathroom - which may be changed every day. the pool towel charge is done for environmental reasons.
We are glad you liked your room and was satisfied with the AC as well as most food and drink.
The sea water in front of the hotel is absolutely fantastic - the beach is rocky - but the water quality is absolutely great.
We are glad you would consider visiting our island again.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts,UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a one week holiday, All Inclusive, mid-June. We had booked a sea view/balcony room and was allocated one on the 4th floor. Very pleased with our room, great view out.
Positives: Our room was spacious with great view, room had fridge.The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and efficient (reception, restaurants, cafe, bars, housekeeping...). Good choice/variety of places to eat: Main buffet restaurant (very busy but always got a table), It_tokk small restaurant (smaller with Maltese dishes, nice, try rabbit stew), cafe/snack bar and a pool side BBQ (pre-book 24hrs before for evening meal). Food was good, plenty of choice and replenished frequently. Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner times were generous . Plenty of sun beds with no problem getting one. The friendly Animation team worked very hard and did a good job (we liked the music for the pool exercises). Hotel is in a prime position overlooking the bay. Pool Bar/BBQ/Entertainments area with tables and chairs are well placed with shade and sun and views.Ambassador bar also good for a change. Hotel had a good mix of guest nationalities. Bus stop with frequent buses opposite hotel (12 euros for weekly bus pass, great value). The hotel is only a 10 min walk to Bugibba if you do not follow the coast promenade (Turn left outside of hotel, 2nd left - at end of Qawra Palace hotel). Follow road around and you will go past two nearby bars with entertainment, keep going for the Pharmacy, bus station and shops. Get bus map at bus station, also catch bus at the bus station and get seats.
Some negatives: No in-room safe, we hired a box at reception instead, not so convenient.
Could do with more shade options at pool side. Sun beds with umbrellas were reserved early. Was a struggle sometimes to get the shade needed especially as it was very hot and sunny.
The door to our room did not autolock when leaving or entering, you had to remember to push the button in, maybe a small point but a security issue. No free internet access in reception/public areas, 2.5 euros for an hour or 5 euros for 24 hours for internet/wifi vouchers.
Other points: Hotel evening entertainment is low key, typically singer with keyboard.
Room aircon was OK, we had ceiling fan on as well but room was hot early morning with the sun facing the room. You had to pay extra if you wanted pool towels, tea & coffee facilities.
Sunbeds are close together. We thought the hotel lifts were ok, comparable to other hotels.
We could have done with a longer stay here, a week went too quickly when there are so many interesting places to visit. We were pleased with the Seashells hotel, enjoyed our stay and would return again to Malta and this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor (4th floor and above) with balcony and full Sea view was good but is hot in the morning a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We thank you for your review especially your suggestions. We are glad you would not hesitate to come again to Malta and also our hotel.
I am sure our guests appreciate your directions to the bus terminus - indeed if one walks there - just a few minutes - one is sure to get a seat in the bus. Until the busses arrive to the stops in front of our hotel, it may be that all seats are taken.
We are glad you enjoyed our choice of food.
Big thank you from our staff.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

this hotel should be re rated to a 3*, we have just come back from staying here 10nts in one of the rooms without a balcony, these rooms should have the key thrown away. there is only a small window, my son had to stand on a chair to see out , you can only see the view if you stand up the curtains would not draw back so we had 2 chairs to hold them back, it was so dark in the afternoon we needed the light on. Its badly in need of an update i would say they hav'nt replace anything for 30 years only the bathroom was ok, furniture bedlinen old. I had to tell reception our sheets had not been changed for a week, never cleaned th room 1st day.
we were all inclusive, yet they charge for towels around the pool 2Es, never in 15 years of going AI have i had to pay for towels, also i have never had to pay for activities such a table tennis that should be included its not a water sport?anything to make a quick euro. AI means that not keep paying extra for everything.
the food was the same every lunchtime, burgers, hotdogs quiche, chips salad not very nice fish fruit salad, cake, not change fed up with it, roll with hardly any filling, same for upstair in the evening veg meat no variation only pizza 1 night but my son could have made it better.
pool area very nice but no small tables around to put clothes, drinks etc.
advertised in brochure kids club, which is a small room where you can borrow inflatables, that is not classed as a kids club. false advertising. nothing to do for children here. entertainment same every night someone singing with keyboard different person same songs, boring.
good position of hotel bus stop across the road, but would never stay here again due to horrid bedrooms, same food, nothing for kids, animation team lazy and all the extras they want you to pay for. loved malta but this hotel spoit it for us.

Room Tip: don't choose this hotel if you like a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We thank you for your review and are glad that you loved Malta.
You were booked in an economy room and especially when the hotel is busy, unless guests actually pay for a room with balcony or sea view we cannot upgrade free of charge as you expected. The hotel receives all sorts of requests prior to arrival - these go in your reservation as requests or wishes- you are only sure to get a sea view or in your case a balcony if you actually pay for it. Every morning I wake up wishing to have a cabriolet but this remains my wish. We have various activities for children around the pool ending every evening with a mini disco from 20.00hrs to 20.30hrs. this is however not child minding - there is the service of baby sitters in this case- just activities for children.
For bathroom towels there is of course no room charge- there is however an environmental charge for pool towels - we are sure our children will appreciate that in a number of years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights, it was not bad, but we expected it much better. We requested a double bed, then we found out two single beds joined together! the room we stayed in could do with a little maintenance...... the door of the balcony was a bit rusty, and the water tap of the sink splashed everywhere whenever used but at least the room was clean.
Another negative thing was the slide pool...which was full of dead insects, and clearly it was not cleaned for at least two days, making it impossible to use it. But on the other hand, the main pool was clean. On the other side the staff was helpful and the healthy breakfast option was good.

Room Tip: Choose a room with seaview on the upper levels, so as not to be too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
A thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you found our staff helpful and that you appreciated healthy breakfast - for readers this option is available until 11.30hrs - long enough to sleep in and still have a good start to the morning.
We have a mixture of twin or double beds - this has to be clear at reservation stage - in your case of course since I do not know your name - I cannot tell if we were informed or not.
We are glad you enjoyed the main pool.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel was built in 1988 and I dont think our room had been updated since then. Tiles broken on floor. wardrobe falling apart, bathroom well used and toilet faulty. Patio doors to balcony stiff to open. TV ancient and air con noisey. The hotel lobby was impressive but that was all. Some of the hotel staff couldn't speak/understand english and some of them were lazy and ignorant. Food very basic and bland. Eat in each of the 3 restaurants once and eat out rest of week. No bottled water available on All Inclusive. Some of the drinks served were not chilled. The staff on reception managed to lose our key on one occasion only for them to find it by the next morning. Pool was OK except for salt water pool. Location not good, its outside Qawra. which is a 15 min walk. Entertainment poor and All Inc stops a 11pm. You have to pay 2 euros for pool towel and extra for kettle in room. Only good thing was the weather 36 deg C all week.

Room Tip: Avoid room 309 This review is genuine ignore the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We thank you for your review.
We serve still and sparking water in jugs during meals in all our restaurant. We do advertise that our pool has sea water(this is found to be a positive thing by many of our guests) and also like most hotel there is a time limit for all inclusive - in our case 23.00hrs.
It would be helpful to know if you aired your feelings either to your representative or our guest relations staff - Helena or Gurli.
Our hotel is situated in Qawra which takes up the longer part of the promenade. Walking around the promenade for 10 minutes or even less through the back streets one arrives in Bugibba.
We do hope that you found some time to visit a few of the numerous places of interest in Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seashells Resort at Suncrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Resort at Suncrest

Address: Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1902, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seashells Resort at Suncrest 4*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seashells Resort at Suncrest has been a leading 4 star hotel on the Maltese Islands since its very first days and has kept its tradition of hospitality within the AX group throughout the years. We decided that it was time to give the hotel a face-lift so during the winter months the hotel will be going through an extensive renovation programme with its doors re-opening on the 1st of April 2015. The property is conveniently located on the Salina to St Paul's Bay Promenade, merely a few minutes' walk away from the National Aquarium. Right opposite the hotel entrance guests can also find a very handy bus stop. Take a left outside of the hotel and you will immediately start walking towards all the hustle and bustle of Bugibba and Qawra, the main tourist hub on the island. Take a right and you'll be heading out on to the coast road for a 20 minute drive to St Julian's to enjoy the most popular night life spot in Malta. The hotel is located on the seafront for fantastic views of the Mediterranean and the best sunrise anyone could hope to wake up to. Guests can enjoy a sea water pool and pool bar (weather permitting) enabling them to experience a truly Mediterranean holiday. For the younger audience a kid's pool, fun boat and slide promise fun, activity and excitement. The Carisma Spa and Turkish bath (Hammam) will continue to pamper guests in a more intimate and relaxed atmosphere. Get ready for the new face of the Seashells Resort at Suncrest, your number one resort for individual, corporate and family travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seashells Resort at Suncrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Resort At Suncrest Hotel Qawra
Suncrest Hotel Qawra
Seashells Resort At Suncrest Malta/Qawra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seashells Resort at Suncrest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.