We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay nice big seaview room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seashells Resort at Suncrest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Seashells Resort at Suncrest to your Saves list
Seashells Resort at Suncrest
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1902, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice stay nice big seaview room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a nice big room staff very nice and very helpfull,thanks for the restorant staff so so nice ,and thankyou to the bar staff always served you with a smile and nothing wes to much for them always there when needed,hotel was clean, food was good we had room no 551 and had a nice view,on all inclusive it is good,buuses go from across the hotel,we enjoyed our stay and we will go back there .

Room Tip: high floor is good and sea view sweet we had it is nice and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We thank you for your short and sweet review and are glad you will be coming back.
Our staff are surelly very happy with your comments - it is great when their efforts are appreciated and not taken for granted.
Keep the good spirit up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    403
    264
    146
    96
See reviews for
329
565
49
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on the 3rd week of November for a one week all inclusive holiday with my partner and another family couple and we were astounded how good value this holiday turned out to be. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant. I had read a number of previous reviews and the majority were good with a few negative ones to the negative ones all I can say I honestly do not know where they are coming from we found the quality of the food was varied, plentiful and very tasty and in the seven days no two days were the same. I would suggest bringing you own teabags or a small jar of coffee as the hotel tea and coffee were not to our liking but this in our opinion was a very trivial matter. During the evening we went to the bar for a number of beverages and the qualityof the alcohol was similar to what you would get at home and indeed as much as you wished for, the bar was available all day long had you wanted it - a few of us had sore heads on a couple of mornings.I had read in a previous review that there was a suggestion the alcohol was watered down to this i would vigourously dispute that and say this we found that this was not the case.

The area of Qwara is both quaint and very pleasant and the sea in the bay is ever so clear and clean. We venturefd out for a large latte or a hot chocolate most days along with teacakes and a biscuit and found this cost less than 2 euros approx half the cost it would have been at home.

We booked this all inclusive holiday at a cost of less than £230pp including flights and transfers.Overall I can confidently say this was a superb value holiday and we intend to return to Malta again and will most likely to the same hotel within the next 12 months.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We thank you for your review and for your good reference. It is great our guests actually point our what they read in other reviews.
We try to make our all inclusive package as worth it as possible and believe you can seldom find such a good offer as ours - when price and package are compared.
Glad we shall see you in less then a year.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Agree with everything Kyle B has mentioned.
amazed at the standard of service & cleanliness considering it was the
2nd last week of the season before the hotel closed for winter.
Imagine there would be more family type facilities in the summer months
ie: extra bar,snack facilities ,shops,kids play areas etc
but personally preferred the peace & quiet.
and the spa treatment/hairdressing service was excellent.
would certainly be back next year.
Check out time normally 11.00 but allowed another hour til transfer coach came And got to check in over an hour early so NO complaints on that front...........Staff couldnt be more accomadating.
Food excellent,When in Malta !!! Can have Pizza /Fish & Chips at home !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
That's the spirit.
A big thank you for your review and the 5 points. We are glad that today, just a few days before we close for the winter and our guests write us such reviews of encouragment and appreciation - even though the weather could have been better for example - thank you.
It is also great that you mention our spa - their treatments are indeed fantastic. When we open again on the 1st March 2013 there would even be a Hammam at the spa - so start packing your bags for next year.
Your comments about our staff are appreciated.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It is a nice Hotel located in Buggiba district, in front of the sea.
the staff is friendly and helping.
No need of rented car. The bus to Valetta is in front of the hotel entrance or you can walk 3 min. to the main station of the district, buy a daily ticket for only 2.60 Euro and travel everywhere in the island with the same ticket.
Very close to good restaurants which are very cheap and with good food. better to avoid the
Italian restaurants.
If you have a late flight, they have given me a room to stay until midnight for only 27 Euro
The breackfast is good. They have offered lunch for 10 Euro p/p
I'll come again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We thank you for your review and are glad you could make use of some of our winter offers.
We are glad you could also discover the surroundings of the hotel as well as the island. Indeed travelling by bus in Malta is cheap and practical and the hotel is served with very good bus routes.
We hope you will visit us again.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just returned from this hotel on 27th Nov 2012 after a 7 day all inclusive break. Initially I was a little apprehensive about this trip given a number of previous reviews however, what a surprise we got. I was accompanied by my wife and another couple. Upon arrival check in was speedy and was carried out by very friendly staff. We went to our room which, was on the 4th floor. It was surprisingly spacious, everything was spotless although slightly dated. It was cleaned daily with towels replaced. The room overlooked a road to the rear of the hotel. It was very quiet at night with no street noise at all. Only in the morning time from about 7 am did it get noisy but this can be overcome by closing the balcony door which filtered out the noise completely.

We found the food plentiful and of good quality. Breakfast had the usual supply of juices, fruit, cereals, bread and cooked breakfast. Lunch again was good with a number of different options to choose from. Dinner was excellent with many choices available. There was always something different each evening which, was cooked to a high standard. The only minor problem we encountered was the quality of the coffee and tea. In future I would bring my own.

In a previous review I read that the drinks were watered. What rubbish. I would absolutely refute that as would the rest of my party. We had the occasional hangover to prove it. I spoke to a number of other residents and they were of the same view. The drinks were large and plentiful and although local were of good quality. There was no problem with queues and drink was available upon request.

In the main bar there are four television screens which televised a number of different sports at the same time. For football fans there is quite a number of live premier league matches screened.

The hotel is cleaned to a very high standard. My wife visited the pool side toilet and witnessed staff cleaning it, bleaching down walls and door handles etc. Cleaning of the communal areas is always ongoing with everything spotless. All staff were friendly and could not do enough to help.

We were fortunate with the weather with only one wet day. The remainder of the time was sunny with the occasional cloud with temperatures ranging from 20 to 23 degrees approx. Across the road from the hotel there is a bus stop. Number 12 takes you to the capital, Valletta but many other routes are available from the same stop. A 7 day bus ticket can be purchased for 12 euro with unlimited travel. The main bus station from the hotel is located close by. Turn left out of the hotel and take the first left up the hill, keep on this road for approx 300 yds and you will come across the bus station.

For what we paid for this holiday, it was exceptional value. I would have no hesitation of visiting this hotel again or recommending it to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear of hotel overlook a road but is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We thank you for your review and are glad you had a good experience in our hotel. We especially thank you for touching points which were mentioned earlier and giving your opinion upon them.
A big thank you for your recommendation - we hope to see you soon again in our hotel.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Ayrshire, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Should have written this as soon as we returned..myself and my wife stayed all included Sept 11th - 25th. Was a bit disappointed on arrival had to wait until 3pm for our room..was prepared for it and we weren't the only ones, however I think we were last to get ours, but hey ho, had our lunch and a drink, only thing was something which previous reviews had alluded to....aircon in the main foyer and downstairs restaurant inadequate. I'm sorry that I'm not going with the exceptional heat, just get a better, more efficient system. Not a massive downer though. The room was fine, beds comfy, and the place was spotlessly clean, and kept that way.Pool also was spotless, sunbeds a bit cramped, but what a cracking view from the pool over the sea. This takes me to a gripe, not totally with the hotel....smokers...and not all in general, I found the way that the hotel dealt with the 'ashtrays', now I know that you give out a plastic tumbler with some water in it to stop them from blowing away, but do they have to be clear so we can all see the horrible fag ends floating about in disgusting liquid? make them opaque so at least we can't see them!!!!. The drinks were fine and plentyful...no massive queues like other 'more exclusive' places I've had to endure. the food was okay, brekkie fine, lunch better than dinner which we eventually gave up on, was a bit miffed having to stand for 20 minutes at the main restaurant to get a seat when we could see numerous empty tables...maltees restaurant far better, but a more acquired taste. Plenty good pizza restaurants nearby. The Plum Tree deserves a mention, as does the Great Wall chinese but the service hadn't gotten any better from the last time we were here, food good though...Two cod and chips and a bottle of wine,for 15 euro, just round the corner from the hotel was a hoot! really good. I really like Malta and always get out and about, valletta is cracking, and the open top bus tour is worth a go. In summary, had a really good time, staff were very friendly, pool area good, (but don't leave it too late in the morning to get a sunbed), place spotless. Downside...I have to agree with others here...hotel is showing its age and could do with a bit of modernizing, but was worth the money. Will be back in Malta again...Will I be back at Seashells???...wouldn't rule it out, but might try somewhere smaller next time.

Room Tip: worth extra for excellent sea view, and a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We thank you for your review and are glad you generally liked the food, found our drinks plentiful and the place clean.
We are also pleased to hear that you would like to return to Malta and would not rule out returning to our hotel - I am sure that when you consider what we offer on all inclusive - you will return.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Returned 22/11/2012 after a weeks all inclusive stay. Thought id walked into a palace when we first arrived! The massive lobby was lined with huge comfy leather sofas. Everything was very grand and staff were so polite and attentive.
Never been all inclusive before and it was very nice, always something to eat, infact, with the weather not being great during our stay, we ate too much as food was ALWAYS available. At breakfast you had the usual toast, eggs, bacon ect and the continental option but also, im guessing, a Maltese option. Cheese and salami for breakfast isnt to everyones taste but it was nice! I dont know how they managed to provide so many choices of hot meals at both lunch AND dinner everyday! Always plenty of salad too. Desserts wernt great but then we usually filled up on mains!
Rooms were nice, cleaned everyday, beds comfortable, satalite TV, showers wernt brilliant but acceptable.
As we went out of season there wasnt alot going on in Qawra. Id definatly recommend a trip to Valletta which the buses travel to very regularly and its cheap. Also, due to time of year, the pool bar was closed in the hotel and halfway through our stay the sandwich bar also closed but you could still get drinks and snacks in the main bar. There was no entertainment either which made it a little boring but, again, it was out of season and there wernt many people staying so to provide entertainment would have probably been a waste! We were told most of the staff had already gone due to the hotel closing for refurbishments from 1st DEC. I did notice alot of the rooms had already been emptied and work had commenced but it never disturbed us.
Pool was huge and clean, pool area and sunbeds ect were kept VERY clean, saw the man with his power washer out there every morning! With it being right on the edge of the sea, it was lush to take a drink out and sit outside the pool bar watching the sea, very relaxing. There was also a cut through at the top end of the pool to go down for a swim in the sea.
All we wanted was a relaxing, comfortable stay and we got that and more!!
I would definatly return but in season as the weather let it down but lets face it, thats not the hotels fault!!!

Room Tip: We had a sea view room which I would definaltly recommend, not alot to see from anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We thank you for your review of our hotel and are glad that you got more then you expected. It is good to hear that you were happy with the food items on offer and that you always found something to eat.
Last week we did indeed experience some bad weather - one cannot always vouch for the weather in November although a safe guess is that the weather is quite nice during the first 2 weeks.
We look forward seeing you soon again.
cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seashells Resort at Suncrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Resort at Suncrest

Address: Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1902, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seashells Resort at Suncrest 4*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seashells Resort at Suncrest has been a leading 4 star hotel on the Maltese Islands since its very first days and has kept its tradition of hospitality within the AX group throughout the years. We decided that it was time to give the hotel a face-lift so during the winter months the hotel will be going through an extensive renovation programme with its doors re-opening on the 1st of April 2015. The property is conveniently located on the Salina to St Paul's Bay Promenade, merely a few minutes' walk away from the National Aquarium. Right opposite the hotel entrance guests can also find a very handy bus stop. Take a left outside of the hotel and you will immediately start walking towards all the hustle and bustle of Bugibba and Qawra, the main tourist hub on the island. Take a right and you'll be heading out on to the coast road for a 20 minute drive to St Julian's to enjoy the most popular night life spot in Malta. The hotel is located on the seafront for fantastic views of the Mediterranean and the best sunrise anyone could hope to wake up to. Guests can enjoy a sea water pool and pool bar (weather permitting) enabling them to experience a truly Mediterranean holiday. For the younger audience a kid's pool, fun boat and slide promise fun, activity and excitement. The Carisma Spa and Turkish bath (Hammam) will continue to pamper guests in a more intimate and relaxed atmosphere. Get ready for the new face of the Seashells Resort at Suncrest, your number one resort for individual, corporate and family travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seashells Resort at Suncrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Resort At Suncrest Hotel Qawra
Suncrest Hotel Qawra
Seashells Resort At Suncrest Malta/Qawra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seashells Resort at Suncrest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.