We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exelent hotel useless iron !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seashells Resort at Suncrest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Seashells Resort at Suncrest to your Saves list
Seashells Resort at Suncrest
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1902, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exelent hotel useless iron !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just back from a wonderful week at the suncrest staff very helpful nothing is too much trouble,the food was different to what we are used to but what do you realy expect ?when you go abroad ,if malta was full of fish and chip shops the reviews would say "too much like Blackpool"if that is the case stay in Britain or go to Benidorm not that there is any thing wronge with Benidorm but be honest its like Blackpool but hotter.anyway back to lovely Malta its was great to try all your traditional dishes some brill some not so good but you cant please everyone!.my only real moan is your iron i was in your ironing room 30 minuets trying to get it to work even after the maintenance had said it was working so i gave up and went to buy an iron from a great little shop up on Tourist Street ,The Home Centre we wre able to rent a steam iron for 1 euro a day i know we dont go on holiday to iron or i should of took my travel iron but heyho so thank you chaps you saved us from looking like a bag of unironed bag of laundry so if you are short on weight in your luggage {like we were}go and hire one then also hire kettles same price.And a big thank you to Evo our tour rep for sorting out our seats on our return flights{thomas cook rep]. Hope to see you all soon.

Room Tip: Try and get asa view its worth the extra money, to watch the sun rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
A thank you for today's review of our hotel - we are glad you would like to return.
It is great you would give a try to our traditional food (not everbody does) and that you liked it.
Indeed the sun rise in front of our hotel is fantastic - glad you enjoyed it.
We thank you for your comments concerning staff.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    403
    264
    146
    96
See reviews for
329
565
49
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Looking forward to a break with my girlfriend and booked a late deal in Malta. Booked the Seashells Resort, why it is called a resort?, it gives you the impression of a large complex but in reality it is only a hotel. Booked in ok and on the way to the room we got an idea of what was to come. Some small, some not so small but all added up. Covers missing off the lift buttons, carpets stained and old, walls that needed painting and the leather sofa's in the public area were ripped and torn with the padding showing through, were the start.The room was tired and echoed the public areas of the hotel. The main gripe was the mattress, it didnt happen overnight and has been like this for some time I suspect, it was changed after requesting a new one, the photo says it all. This spoiled the holiday as we thought if this is acceptable for the public to see, what is it like where the public cannot see. The bathroom was no better, rusty chrome, stained tiles and grouting and the bath plug would not fit so the water continually leaked out meaning you had to keep the water running to keep the bath topped up. Again please see the photo's.
This is the first all inclusive I have been to where you have to pay for a beach towel, so beware and bring your own. The food was acceptable and provided a good variety but your plate was whipped away if you were finished even though your partner was still eating, this gives you the impression you are being hurried up, management please note. We enjoyed the pool and the staff were mostly pleasant. The animation team was really good and worked hard to please but the night time entertainment was not that good in my opinion. A couple of Karaoke nights, a couple of nights with one or two people on organs and drums gives you the idea of the entertainment but it may be great for some people. All in all a very tired hotel that hasnt been maintained, decorated or cared for in years in my opinion and deserves 2 stars only and those are for the staff and the food. Be very careful if you expect 4 stars. Very disappointing hotel but loved Malta.

Room Tip: If all the rooms are the same as ours then i can't recommend a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We thank you for your review of our property. We are glad you loved our island. Indeed Malta has loads of places if interest, for everybody's taste, be it natural, historic, cultural etc.
The reason we charge for pool towels is the environment - there is one off charge of Euro2.50 per towel - the charge is for every time a towel is changed. Should one decide to keep the same towel - there are no more charges. We would like to underline that bathroom towels may be changed daily free of charge.
Also thanks for your comments concening the pool, staff and food - they are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just back from a one week all inclusive stay. First things first, this hotel is perfectly fine and not as tired and battered as some make out. It is a bit dated but the room we had was clean and functional and was cleaned and tidied to a high standard everyday. So the bad points.....The food wasnt fantastic, it was always fine but never anything special. The bbq was always pleasnt dining experience eating outside and the staff all very helpful and pleasnt. I dont think it would harm anyone to raise the quality of produce perhaps however local it may be, the breakfast sausgaes where just awful and the burgers most certainly economy! My wife does not drink much alcohol but just about every coke, lemonade, fanta we ordered was always flat! The air conditioning in the rooms does not do the job i imagine it once did, In the height of summer i could imagine this to be a real problem, especially if travelling with children. On my last gripe the lifts are appaling, granted we were never in a rush but sometimes we would wait 20 minutes for them to come to our floor. I'd rather be in the sun. The positives, the pool area is lovely and well looked after by the pool boys and staff, lovely view of the harbour and a really pleasant experience. Stella on the all inclusive was a real plus, great to have a nice beer and my wife certainly made the most of the ice creams. The evening entertainment was awful, but so awful it was good....one night we had planned to go out but got so drawn in to the terrible band that played and all the older guests dancing we couldnt go anywhere! Finally... The Animation crew are worth there weight in gold to that hotel. The girls really worked hard and made sure everyone was entertained but without been annoying! I hope they check these reviews and realise how good of a job they do. There Bi-Lingual and have time for everybody on site and do a great job entertaing the kids at the mini disco. All in all we had a great week and would go back as it was value for money and it really is only tweeks that need to be made to make the hotel experience much better.

Room Tip: If your not bothered about a sea view dont waste your money on a "upgrade"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
A thank you for your review.
We are glad you found our all inclusive to be good value for money and you would not hesitate to come back.
Our animators are really hard working and you are not the only one to declaire that kids just love them as well.
You do not mention any site seeing - next time perhaps.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Let me start by saying that I don't expect super duper luxury, and that in the UK I am happy enough with Premier Inn.

OK, so that out of the way, you know now what I am happy with.

I am not happy with carpets that have not been replaced in 2 decades, limescale around baths, a TV with 2 english speaking channels (one with arabic subs), Dodgy cooling fan, non working room fridge, outrageously overpriced wifi (2.50 per hour) and food that is below the standard of McDonalds.

At the price (around 80 euros per night by my estimate) for all inclusive then it's not too bad I suppose, and the pool is pleasent and clean. Indeed the whole hotel is fairly clean even if it is extremely dated.

My final gripe (and it is a big one) is that I HATE people lifting dishes from the table whilst other people at the table are still eating. The waiting staff hover around waiting for the cutlerty to touch the plate., They lift the plate while your still chewing.

This is in no way an evil account. It is an accurate one.

Please suncrest. Take note.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We thank you for your review especially your comments concerning concerning the pool and cleanliness. It is good that you mention that there is an equilibrium between the price and what guests are getting in their all inclusive package.
As our guests come from various countries, we have to be very choosy on the number of channels in each language. Having said that - you did not include all the maltese channels which transmit all films in English for example - and even the daily news at times.
With regards to your comments concerning food, I would prefer not to compare - this is an issue entirely up to a person's taste - there are many other reviews which do not agree - for reader's interest we have also placed pictures of our buffets - I am sure one will see our food is in no way to be compared to that of a fast food chain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

........ I was all set to write a glowing reference, until our experience on the final night.

To start with the positive -
- the room was fine, although the air conditioning didn't work very well and we could never get the room really cool, just a little cooler than outside. Towels were nice and soft!
- the food was great, we tried all 3 restaurants (the BBQ is now closed for the winter so only 2 now) and found a good variety of well cooked food. The sandwich/salad/snack bar downstairs is great and when we went sightseeing they gave us one of the best packed lunches i've had.
- the pool was nice and we had no problems with finding sunbeds even when we went out for the morning and came back at lunchtime.
- access to the sea from the pool area
- the cocktails are very drinkable!
- lifts were ok, we didn't have a problem with getting one and always quite quickly
- the public buses are cheap (2.60 Euro for a day ticket) cool and regular. The bus station is only 5 minutes walk away.

Now the not so positive -
- there is no air conditioning in bar/restaurant areas and it really was very hot and uncomfortable when eating.
- pool towels are charged for.
- as already said above, the bedroom was too warm.

And what ruined it for us? -
- we had a room at the front of the hotel. Our flight was at 7am so we had a 4.30 pick up. On our final night (Sunday) they had live entertainment by the poolbar - a singer who was very loud. We hadn't realised until this point that this stage was almost underneath us and exactly how thin and undouble-glazed the patio doors were. We couldn't hear the TV over the entertainment! We were trying to have an early night but sleep was impossible (even with ear plugs!). When we complained to reception, we were told that there was nothing they could do and it would stop at 11pm (the singing did but they then put on "techno-pop" with a very loud bass until 11.50pm). Unfortunately, this ruined what had, until then, been a great short break for us.

Room tip - you may get nice views from the front, but the entertainment noise is really unacceptable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We thank you for your review, especially all the good points. I have mentioned in earlier responses that as this September has been an exceptionally hot and humid month - even the locals are complaining of this - and we should be used to it.
According to the law - music in open spaces can go on until midnight not 23.00hrs - our receptionists know this.
We are glad you could enjoy our packed lunches whilst discovering our island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Overview we're very pleased with the hotel. As others have mentioned, the hotel is a little tired in places and we occasionally saw some flies on the healthy breakfast area (however there weren't as many flies as I had anticipated when reading some of the reviews).

We loved the selection of food that was offered - two restaurants available for breakfast (with one available until 11.30am) and three restaurants available in the evening. We can't comment on the lunch options as we were half board.

All of the staff were very friendly (they genuinely seemed friendly and not the 'false' friendly that can sometimes be detected).

Our holiday coincided with a special event - we arranged for something to help celebrate it which was more than happily organised by the hotel; however they went several steps further and provided much more than we had anticipated. I won't go into detail exactly what it was because it would be unfair on the hotel as others may expect it. Suffice to say we are very grateful for providing such excellent service.

One day whilst we were waiting outside of our hotel, there was someone from the hotel next door (Qawra Palace) asking us for more information on our hotel because they weren't enjoying their stay in that hotel.

It is very easy to travel around the island using the very cheap and regular buses (Arriva buses Euro2.40 for a day ticket traveling anywhere on island). There is a bus stop on the opposite side of the road for the hotel; however in very busy times, sometimes the buses can't stop because they are already full. To overcome this you may need to walk 5 minutes up behind the hotel to pick up the bus from the bus terminal.

When we first arrived we paid to go on one of the privately operated hop on / hop off buses that take you on a tour of the island (they also provide headphones and commentary in a variety of languages). We found it useful to do that initially and then just use the Arriva public transport. Valletta and Mdinha are both worth a visit. The blue lagoon is also worth a visit; however it does get very crowded and not exactly the paradise that you expect when reading the tourist information. We were happy to only be there for a couple of hours before moving on Gozo.

I personally never used the swimming pool at the hotel, although my wife did and she said it was great. We tended to take the 5-10minute walk to the beach in Qawra. This isn't a wide golden sand beach, it is rather small with various types of stones; however all of the locals tended to use it and did the job. You could hire sunbeds and a parasol all day for Euro9.50; plus they had a lifeguard tower etc. the reason we went to the beach rather than the pool was to go snorkeling. We were amazed at how many fish were around immediately as you climbed into the water. You didn't have to even swim out to see all of the fish (or indeed need a snorkel), you could see shoals of them swimming around your feet and legs.

It was our first visit to Malta and we were both very impressed with the island and the hotel. Thank you everyone at the Seashells hotel...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
A big thank you for your review and vote of confidence. I am sure that our staff are enjoying reading your review today.
We are glad you found time to discover our islands - by the way - the next time you are here you should try snorkeling in front of our hotel - it is absolutely great - where there are rocks you will see more movement down there.
The people who live here tend to take things for granted of course - it feels good to read reviews such as yours to appreciate how beautiful our little island is.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Outrageously hot rooms - we moved three times. Tired fittings, nasty mattresses, dreadful sound insulation. Loud party noise throughout the night, half naked and pretty drunk kids running from room to room...if you are coming for a restful stay, this is absolutely NOT the place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We thank you for your consize and to the point review.
Let me assure our readers that we have clothing restrictions in our hotel and if some of our guests try to behave differently, they do so only until they are caught - in fact I have myself asked a few of our guests (male) in public areas to wear a t-shirt. All staff is instructed to do the same. One other thing to clarify is that under no circumstance do we serve alcohol to guests under the age of 18. Also guests under 18 on all inclusive even get a different coloured bracelet in order to be identified by our staff immediately.
Being a resort type hotel, it may happen that a guest decides he/she may be noisy - this does not mean that the hotel encourages such behaviour and the managment always interveens when it is aware of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seashells Resort at Suncrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Resort at Suncrest

Address: Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1902, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seashells Resort at Suncrest 4*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seashells Resort at Suncrest has been a leading 4 star hotel on the Maltese Islands since its very first days and has kept its tradition of hospitality within the AX group throughout the years. We decided that it was time to give the hotel a face-lift so during the winter months the hotel will be going through an extensive renovation programme with its doors re-opening on the 1st of April 2015. The property is conveniently located on the Salina to St Paul's Bay Promenade, merely a few minutes' walk away from the National Aquarium. Right opposite the hotel entrance guests can also find a very handy bus stop. Take a left outside of the hotel and you will immediately start walking towards all the hustle and bustle of Bugibba and Qawra, the main tourist hub on the island. Take a right and you'll be heading out on to the coast road for a 20 minute drive to St Julian's to enjoy the most popular night life spot in Malta. The hotel is located on the seafront for fantastic views of the Mediterranean and the best sunrise anyone could hope to wake up to. Guests can enjoy a sea water pool and pool bar (weather permitting) enabling them to experience a truly Mediterranean holiday. For the younger audience a kid's pool, fun boat and slide promise fun, activity and excitement. The Carisma Spa and Turkish bath (Hammam) will continue to pamper guests in a more intimate and relaxed atmosphere. Get ready for the new face of the Seashells Resort at Suncrest, your number one resort for individual, corporate and family travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seashells Resort at Suncrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Resort At Suncrest Hotel Qawra
Suncrest Hotel Qawra
Seashells Resort At Suncrest Malta/Qawra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seashells Resort at Suncrest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.