We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed it very much and would like to go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seashells Resort at Suncrest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seashells Resort at Suncrest to your Saves list
Seashells Resort at Suncrest
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1902, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Qawra
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it very much and would like to go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Returnrd on the 7th june, we had a great time. Staff were very polite and attended to your every need espeailly Pauline.Rooms cleaned every day and clean towels , food very good and a great choice in Le Pavilion and It Tok.We travelled by bus and visited Selima, Valetta, Mosta Dome , Gozo and we visited Sicily, which was good but very expensive. On the whole we had a great time and would love return .
The Joensen Family Fleetwood

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
It is great to hear you have enjoyed yourselves so much that you would like to return also many thanks for your positive review - we would of course love to have you back.
The places you mention are indeed very interesting.
We are also glad you enjoyed the food both in Le Pavillion and it-Tokk. Now it seems that the weather will finally stabilize and we will start with an open air BBQ at the Sun and Surf as of Monday, 13th June. We will have 3 options where our guests can have dinner.
Keep the good spirit up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    408
    265
    147
    98
See reviews for
331
569
50
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We have just returned from a week at the Suncrest. Our first visit was in 1986 and the hotel was still being built. It was a lovely luxurious aparthotel then. Still Lovely location, lovely pool, lovely recption area - but the rooms are in need of a major refurbishment. More 3* than 4* We took our 3 year old daughter. Standard room with balcony. When we got out of the lift on the third floor the smell of musty/damp sweaty smell hit you!!! So Strong - First complaint - One of the three beds - One bed is a pull down down from a cupboard. Safety issue is bad!! the pull down bed had big metal corners sticking out - not only that if you woke up and sat up you would bang your head on the wooden shelf. Not good at all especially with a little one running round. I complained and was given a proper single bed withing half an hour of complaining - which was good. The bed had seen better days and the blanket that they put on top of the third bed was horrendous - Brown thick scruffy fleece blanket!! We took it off! I have seen better dog blankets!!! The button in the middle of the door knob had been broken off so although you couldn't get in from the outside it was easy to open from the inside- So we felt a bit worried incase our little daughter opened the door in the middle of the night while we were sleeping and got out. SO we had to put the pram across the door!!!!! and lived like that for a week! I could of complained at reception but had had enough after complaining about the bed. After all this was my holiday! Supposed to be stress free!!!! We didn't let this spoil our holiday and we had a good relaxing enjoyable week. Our little daughter loved the kids disco - especially Tanya from the animation team!!! I will be watching this space to see what further developments happen at The Suncrest Hotel - This hotel could be lovely4*/ 5* if only the rooms were much better!! Would we return - Maybe in a couple of years!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
We thank you for your comment concerning the kids disco and the animation team. You do not mention our food and beverage outlets. We hope you enjoyed out buffets in Le Pavillion and It-Tokk or even the Sun and Surf.
Our rooms including beds are continuously checked for health and safety issues and they are considered as very safe. As a parent, you have every right to request something different for your child and we are happy to be able to give a different bed.
With regards to the door lock; doors are meant to open from the inside and to keep strangers outside.
We wish you happy reading and hope to see you again at the Seashells Resort at Suncrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Myself and my daughter visited my TimeShare Studio for 1 week 5-12 April. Everyone at Reception was very polite and reaspectful. The service in the Dining room was very good. Our Apartment was kept very clean with fresh towels when needed and extra blankets were available on requested.
The hotel is situated on the coast with lovely views with easy acces to bus station and Swimming pool accessable via underground tunnel.
I enjoyed the lovely walks along the coast road with the view of the sea and the weather was perfect for that time of the year. There is a fairly good bus service and plenty of churches.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncrestHotel, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
We are happy we could be of service to you during your stay and that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your apartament and the pool. The Coast road is indeed pleasant for walks and very often joggers.
We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

I just want to say that we had the best holiday we have had in years, we arrived on 24th May to a gloomy and cold day, however by the following day the weather was beautiful and thats how it stayed all week. Hotel was very clean and the maids were brilliant. There were alot of younger staff training and there were a few issues where they were rude to us and being 2 young women we felt slightly out of place, however we spoke to our rep and this was solved and all were very polite, particually the guys in the resturant by reception. Breakfast was very good, however evening meals wernt great but there was alot of choice. pool was great and the animation crew were fantastic... especially Karl who made sitting by the pool great fun.

Our room was lovely,,, we didnt get sea veiw but this was expected, very clean and well maintained, we would definatly return to the suncrest again on another trip to malta.... visit Murphys bar just around the corner if you get a chance.. we had some great nights there.

Guest relations were very helpful and caring... any problems just chat to them they will make time to help you.

Overall a fantastic holiday had by all :-) will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed yourselves so much in our hotel, that you intend to return. Your comments concerning breakfast, dinner, pool and animation are appreciated.
Our guest relations persons really do take time to talk to our guests - they will at least make one phone call to all arrivals on the day of arrival or the day after to check that everything is to the guests' liking.
We look forward to seeing you soon again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

This hotel is situated in a perfect location - not far from St Julians or Valleta or Begiba, but also far enough away to provide some isolation. The hotel has perfect transport links with the main bus station up one road and round a corner as well as bus stops outside the hotel itself.
The hotel is a little dated in its style and could do with a revamp, but is clean and maintained.
The hotel club - reflections - was actually very impressive! Complete variety in ages but up to date music with a great atmosphere.
AMAZING food and variety. I could not knock the food or the quality / quantity. There was always about 5 mains on offer including veggie, salads, kids, fish and meat! Puddings were good too.
Well worth doing the all inclusive deal due to all snacks, lunches, mains and drinks included - we must have got our money back on just food and drink!!!!
Nice size pool and good childrens club.
Personally, I would have liked a better evening selection and the swimming pool to be a bit more heated but that is really being picky.
Had an amazing room - more like a suite as was massive with 3 balconies over looking the sea!!!!!!!!!!!
Really do recommend this hotel based on value for money and facilities.

Room Tip: Pay for a seaview room - I got the best there was!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
We are glad you find our hotel to be good value for money and facilities.
It is very difficult considering the choice of food on the buffet in Le Pavillion and It-Tokk, not to find various items to ones liking. It is great you enjoyed both quality and quantity.
Music at The Reflections is quite varied - so is the rest of the entertainment at Sun and Surf.
The location of the hotel is indeed very good for those who not only want to stay at the pool or the beach but want also to see some of the island. There are bus stops right in front of the door.
From what I can understand you were in a sea view suite - views are great from there aren't they.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

On arrival to the hotel at morning after a night flight, my 5th month pregnant and exhausted wife wanted to check in and get to bed as soon as possible. Unfortunately, as check in time is only after 15:00 our room was not yet ready, but after I suggested to upgrade our room to the sea view room for an extra 12€ per night, hotel staff were willing to find another room which was ready in 10 minutes. Meanwhile they expressed genuine interest in the well being of my wife, offered a glass of water and even suggested to call a doctor. The room was cosy and clean, with a great view to the st. Paul bay. It is apparent that the hotel building is old, and this is also the condition of room furniture and structure (for example, the water pressure in the shower was low, and the balcony door lock was a challenge. water pressure in the lobby's men's room was zero) Nevertheless staying at the room was pleasent with no real malfunctions and no need to call maintenance. The problem with the seaview room is that the main street and is near, and noise from vehicles is heared too well, as well as music from outdoor speakers from neighbour hotel untill late at night. The hotel is nicely located next to some very good restaurants ("Duo" and "Luzzzu" to name a few), and in walking distance from bus stations, casino, bars and commercial centers of the area.
Breakfast was good and sufficiant. Internet is available in the hotel although the computers are limited by policy so you can't download pictures from your camera.
All in all we had a nice stay, mainly thanks to the great service of hotel staff- in specific Luise, whos smile enlighted our stay, Emee, Albert, and of course Pauline the wonderfull house manager who found a creative solution for us on the last day when we needed to extend our stay because of a late-night flight back home.
To sum it up, a nice, good value hotel, not too fancy, but with a big heart which makes you feel like home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
We thank you for your review and are glad that our managment and staff helped your stay turn into a pleasant one.. Indeed check in time is 15.00hrs - we have however no interest into keeping guests waiting if their room is ready - we are glad your situation was solved .
We are glad you liked the area and also found good restaurants.
It is a pleasure to hear you found the package good value for money.
For your next visit, I would like to remind you that cots are free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Management and Staff great. Lovely welcome ands bags taken to my room.
I had a room with a sea view on 6th floor, Fabulous views,excellent room with everything you needed,.Air conditioning , fridge and a complementary bottle of wine and fruit bowl.Cleanliness and attention to detail was wonderfull. Bus terminal only 5minutes walk from hotel.Superp location for getting around the Island. Bus service runs every 15 minutes and so cheap. You do not need a car! A lovely Island with so much history,so much do do and see. The Maltese are so kind and generous and will do anything to help. I will return and I can recommend Suncrest as a great 4star hotel to stay in and an Island I fell in love with.
Dawn Weaver. Chester, Cheshire. UK

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSchembri, Director of Sales at Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Many thanks for your review and especially your comments about Malta and the Maltese. We are also glad that the Seashells Resort at Suncrest lives up to your opinion of the island.
Your recommendation is very much appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you soon again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seashells Resort at Suncrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Resort at Suncrest

Address: Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1902, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seashells Resort at Suncrest 4*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seashells Resort at Suncrest has been a leading 4 star hotel on the Maltese Islands since its very first days and has kept its tradition of hospitality within the AX group throughout the years. We decided that it was time to give the hotel a face-lift so during the winter months the hotel will be going through an extensive renovation programme with its doors re-opening on the 1st of April 2015. The property is conveniently located on the Salina to St Paul's Bay Promenade, merely a few minutes' walk away from the National Aquarium. Right opposite the hotel entrance guests can also find a very handy bus stop. Take a left outside of the hotel and you will immediately start walking towards all the hustle and bustle of Bugibba and Qawra, the main tourist hub on the island. Take a right and you'll be heading out on to the coast road for a 20 minute drive to St Julian's to enjoy the most popular night life spot in Malta. The hotel is located on the seafront for fantastic views of the Mediterranean and the best sunrise anyone could hope to wake up to. Guests can enjoy a sea water pool and pool bar (weather permitting) enabling them to experience a truly Mediterranean holiday. For the younger audience a kid's pool, fun boat and slide promise fun, activity and excitement. The Carisma Spa and Turkish bath (Hammam) will continue to pamper guests in a more intimate and relaxed atmosphere. Get ready for the new face of the Seashells Resort at Suncrest, your number one resort for individual, corporate and family travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz and HostelBookers so you can book your Seashells Resort at Suncrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Resort At Suncrest Hotel Qawra
Suncrest Hotel Qawra
Seashells Resort At Suncrest Malta/Qawra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seashells Resort at Suncrest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.