We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY FRIENDLY STAFF - CLEAN ROOMS - LOVELY BREAKFAST” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lane Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park Lane Aparthotel to your Saves list
Park Lane Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maskli Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1480, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“VERY FRIENDLY STAFF - CLEAN ROOMS - LOVELY BREAKFAST”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I have just stayed in the Park Lane Aparthotel in Qawra Malta. Excellent location - extremely friendly and helpful staff and clean room. Hotel is a bit tired and could do with a lick of paint and re-upholstering of the chairs in reception and in the room, however the location, and staff makes up for this.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    117
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
96
292
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This was our first visit to Malta and we stayed at the Park Lane after reading all the positive reviews on trip advisor. We agree with every positiive comment in all the previous reviews but what really makes this hotel stand out is the staff, we have stayed in many hotels around the world but have never come across such friendly, helpful and nice people running a hotel anywhere else. From Andrea, Daniella , the two Michaels , and Paul on the front desk to Sony ,Barbara and Manuel in Smallts restaurant ( part of the hotel) and not forgetting Michael who runs the taxi service to from the airport and Rochita ( hope the spelling is correct) who cleans the rooms and finally Darren the excellent chef who cooks great dishes , we ate most of the time in Smallts and were never disappointed with the food , all these people are what makes the Park Lane such a nice place to stay.
When we left the staff who were on duty came to wish us go bye with handshakes and hugs , it felt like leaving part of a family . At the end of our stay I mentioned to Darren the chef where could I get a good lasagne at a restaurant in the area -- a couple of nights later he made a special lasagne for myself and a mousakka for my wife and I can quite honestly say it was one of the best lasagnes I have ever tasted.
Every request we made at the hotel was dealt with at once, we asked if we could have a lighter duvet ( provided the same day ) , the kettle didnt turn on easily-- new kettle provided same day etc etc -- great service with a smile.

The hotel is in an excellent location for touring round Malta on the old bedford buses ,which are certainly an experience ,since it is located very near to the bus terminal in Bugibba and should we stay in Bugibba again we would not hesitate in staying at the Park Lane again.We stayed for 3 weeks and I very much doubt if better value could be found anywhere else .
We really enjoyed our stay in Malta and the staff at the Park Lane played a major part in this-- we will be returning to Malta.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

First visit to Malta for my husband and I and we're so pleased we chose the Park Lane. The staff were the most helpful we have ever encountered and even arranged for the handyman to fix my suitcase (damaged by the airline on the way out). We really appreciated the full size fridge and having the kitchen facilities (kettle, microwave etc). We did not eat in the apartment much but it was nice to know it was there and we did have the occasional bacon roll in the morning. The air conditioning and balcony were also a bonus. The breakfasts and the one evening meal we had in the adjoining Smalts restaurant were good and good value. Other reviewers have mentioned the convenience of the location - near the bus station, shops, restaurants, casino, promenade and we would second their opinion. We had also arranged airport transfers through through the hotel and were treated to a pleasant and informative journey both ways by the lovely lady driver. We found the Maltese people in general were really friendly, helpful and very cheerful. The fact that their second national language is English is a bonus. The tours we took were all good value and overall we had a great holiday.

We had a great chinese meal in the Peking (left along Tourist Street), a bad one in the Great Wall (across from the Park Lane) and a really awful Indian one (right along Tourist Street).

If we go back to Malta we would certainly return to the Park Lane.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have sun from afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

IImpeccable service from meeting your connection on arrival at airport. Hotel staff excellent in all aspectsof service and can not do enough to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Apartment extremely clean, spacious and well equipped and balconey with views of resort and bay.Also has very comfortable roof top pool area. Hotel also extremely well located to all amenities, most notably adjacent to bus station which provides unbelievably inexpensive access toother parts of the island.. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

My girlfiend and me spent several nights at the Park Lane Aparthotel late in september 2010. Like other reviewers, we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Also the location of this hotel is worth a mention, being next to the Qawra bus station. From there, you can quickly get to the best beaches in the island, the ferry for Gozo and pretty much everything else, either by car or - guess what? ...bus, of course. :-)

With this said, I definitely cannot refrain from expressing our major disappointment for the room where we slept, which was definitely not what we had expected; and definitely very far from what it is considered a 4 star hotel room by common standards in developed countries.

The room was in fact quite small and the decor was really tired; walls and most of the forniture would've definitely benefited from a refurbishment or even a replacement.
The plumbing - on quite obsolete pieces of bath equipment - was moreover really poor.

While we were there, we have heard other guests complaining about all this and asking for an earlier check out, in order to migrate to another hotel for the remaining part of their trip. We did not get that far, also because overall cleanliness was fairly good and also breakfast at the restaurant downstairs wasn't that bad. We've asked for explanations though, since we saw other rooms while getting downstairs and they looked in a much better shape. We were told that those were the apartment rooms, and that they are certainly better (bigger, they actually said) than double rooms. From what I could understand from such a conversation, insisting on size matters instead of room decor, hotel staff wasn't probably even aware of the extent to which double rooms would've surely disappointed a customer expecting a 4 (or even 3) star facility. At any case, due to such complaints, I've been told on that occasion that it was their plan not to offer this kind of room anymore. So that nowadays such rooms might have been shut for good. Nevertheless, I think it's always good to know about this in advance, if you plan to stay here. Just to avoid a certain source of disappointment, like it's been for us. Actually, I suggest that you give'em a call prior to your visit, to make sure you're placed in one of the apartment rooms and not in such outdated doubles.

Also because... despite the very poor room conditions, the bill at the end for us hasn't been exactly cheap... And, hoping for a little discount after our complaints, we incurred instead in an extra fee for those wishing to pay with CC.

So... I'm not saying this is a bad hotel at all. You might be able to find a better deal for a double in Qawra, or at least be aware of all this in advance if you plan to stay here.

Room Tip: Absolutely keep away from double rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreamalta, General Manager at Park Lane Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Thanks for your review and comments.


I would like to take this opprtunity to add and confirm that this type of room being mentioned (Inland hotel room of which there are 3 in the hotel) are now being used for single use only and no longer for two persons. All 3 of these rooms have been updated since last September with flat screen tv, double bed and soft furnishings however do not have kitchen facilties and balcony like the apartments do.
I am sorry if there was a misunderstanding when you confirmed the room of your preference however please note we allocate rooms as booked or requested.

Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you again if you decide to come and visit our island.

Best regards

Andrea Bonnici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed for 9 days.
The best thing about this hotel is the people and the service level. Also, you get superb value for money.
Your apartment is cleaned everyday and all the staff are very helpful no matter what you ask for. And they have free internet! Nice with a fridge in the apartment!
The pool on the rooftop is very nice with a good view.
We would definetly come back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

This is the only hotel in Malta that I have found that lives up to its description. It does what is says on the tin.
The accomodation is comfortable and clean. This is my second visit to the Park lane and would be my first choice for any further trips to Malta. The staff from the manager to the lady that cleans your room are all first class and nothing is too much trouble for them. The location could not be better with the bus terminal a few yards away and a large car park again a few yards away if you hire a car. There are ample places to eat in the vicinity and two good supermarkets close by

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Lane Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Aparthotel

Address: Maskli Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1480, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Aparthotel offers 25 tastefully-furnished, comfortable self-catering apartments and 3 single hotel rooms and features a rooftop outdoor pool and terrace with stunning views of the Mediterranean Sea. All apartments enjoy a furnished balcony and most offer pleasant city views or partial sea-views. The apartments include a fully-equipped private kitchenette. LCD televisions come with satellite channels and free movie channels and business-friendly amenities include complimentary Wi-Fi and direct-dial telephone. In addition, rooms include complimentary bottled water on arrival, irons & ironing boards and a safe is also available. Private bathrooms include a bath with shower attachment and complimentary toiletries, and a hair dryer is available in the room. Friendly, multilingual staff offer personalised service to help with all your holiday requirements and assistance with trips and tours. Airport transfers can be arranged by the hotel. Housekeeping is offered daily and wake-up calls can be requested. The Park Lane serves full breakfast and guests can order drinks at the Lobby Bar and enjoy them in the outdoor patio (weather-permitting). The hotel also offers complimentary high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel and guest-rooms, a wide-screen TV in the lobby and a free library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Lane Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Aparthotel Qawra
Park Lane Aparthotel Hotel Qawra
Park Lane Aparthotel Malta/Qawra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lane Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.