We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3/5” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tal-Kaptan

Tal-Kaptan
Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2354 3842
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 75 Restaurants in Qawra
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pizza, Pasta, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: If you are looking for a restuarant that offers: Quality fresh and tasty food; Value for money & Welcoming staff, Tal-Kaptan Restuarant is the place for you!
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3/5”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Not bad, would go again.
I had swordfish stake which I enjoy and my wife had the seafood platter which was ok but little disappointing compared to other restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie-Azzopardi, eCommerce Manager at Tal-Kaptan, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Here at Tal-Kaptan we cherish your honest feedback and should you choose to visit us again, we will be working hard on getting it right as we first intended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    49
    24
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naxxar, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A mess.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The drinks we ordered were messed up twice. We asked for peach juice and got beer,we informed the staff and we got coke instead..informed again and finally the peach juice arrived.

A relative ordered a pizza which SHOULD have contained melted blue-cheese. Not only she didn't get the melted blue cheese but she got a few parmesan shavings,not even some mozzarella. To top it all off,the pizza was COLD.

Whilst we were 'enjoying' our food,the waitress came to our table about to give us beer twice when we never ever ordered beer.

When we went to pay,we checked our bill and noticed that we were charged for the beer that we NEVER ordered,the waitress said she must have messed up the table numbers.

The whole place was being served by only 3 people who couldn't cope,infact a couple that sat infront of us,got up and left after seeing they were never even given a menu after several minutes of being seated.

Must I add that the kitchen is situated next to where the people sit,so basically if you sit indoors,the only view you will get is that of the kitchen staff cooking.

If you are still keen on trying 'Tal-Kaptan's' food,I suggest that you avoid the Qawra restaurant at all costs and go to the one situated at the Valletta Waterfront which atleast was decent last time we dined there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie-Azzopardi, eCommerce Manager at Tal-Kaptan, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback, which has been forwarded to the management. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointing service. Send us an email on ecommerce@axhotelsmalta.com and give us another opportunity to make it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Finally, different options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Walking and driving around Malta is fun but WHY is every restaurant selling pizza, pasta and burgers. We were so happy to stumble on this (large) restaurant and find Paella en Chicken Curry on the menu for around 11 euro's. We went in curious and went out happy (and stuffed). Great portions with (most important) great taste. If there was something to complain, it was the broken (almost couscous) size of rice they used but flavor wise and amount of meat/fish/sausage wise (or chicken and papadums wise), the amount and taste was fantastic ! Last but certainly not least, the staff deserves a compliment too ! Good service !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie-Azzopardi, eCommerce Manager at Tal-Kaptan, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to write a review about us here in Tripadvisor. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Below standard service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Would only rate the food here as average and the service well below standard. Waited ages before order for either food or drink was taken. Lengthy wait for drinks and a further long wait for the meals. When the meals arrived there were only 2 instead of 3 which meant that 2 of us had finished our food before the missing meal arrived! The waitress seemed to be inexperienced and this was possibly the cause of the problems.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie-Azzopardi, eCommerce Manager at Tal-Kaptan, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We wish to thank you for your comments, as it is only through them that we learn about our faults and are able to make them right the next time round. We apologise for not providing you with the service we first intended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We ate here twice on our vacation and found the food execellent. The view on the veranda is lovely and quiet and a nice place to relax. We had both lunch and evening meal here and both were very good.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie-Azzopardi, eCommerce Manager at Tal-Kaptan, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We are pleased that we managed to prove ourselves to you on more than one occasion. So, thank you for your positive comments about our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tal-Kaptan also viewed

 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Tal-Kaptan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tal-Kaptan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.