We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tal-Kaptan

Tal-Kaptan
Qawra Coast Road, Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2354 3842
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 75 Restaurants in Qawra
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pizza, Pasta, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: If you are looking for a restuarant that offers: Quality fresh and tasty food; Value for money & Welcoming staff, Tal-Kaptan Restuarant is the place for you!
Birkirkara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited Tal-Kaptan Restaurant on a Saturday Evening. We were about 20 people therefore we decided to book a table. There were only 2 waiters serving all the people in the restaurant. After half an hour they took the order of the food and drinks. The drinks we ordered came 1 hour later. 45 mins after we ordered the waiter came and told us to change the pizza because they did not have an ingredient. A few mintutes later he came again and told us that they did not have any coleslaw. Again, they came and told us that they did not have any warm diet drinks. We were very disappointed with the service... The pizza was terrible and raw. One of my fiends was sick for 3 days!!! We asked for a manager and guess what?? There was no restaurant manager or any supervisor in the restaurant.

I really do not suggest anyone to go there. Very disappointed with the service and food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    49
    24
    22
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Excellent indoor and al fresco dining just up the road opposite the SunCrest Hotel. Pizzas the size of which you will never have seen before

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“good for families...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

went with the family last friday... quite an enjoyable meal, stress free as restaurant was open at around 2pm ish...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Non existent service, burnt food, please avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We visited Tal Kaptan as we were stopping across the road in the Seashells Resort and fancied a change. The service was our main issue, when we sat down there were approx 3 other tables dining, there were 4 waiting staff that night, however it took 15 minutes before we were asked what drinks we would like, a further 10 minutes before the drinks were delivered and we placed our meal order. During the 30+ minute wait for our food we watched a number of other diners be seated, order and be served their food before us; ok if we had ordered some thing exotic I could understand but Pizza and chips?!?
After trying to get one of the 4 waiter/waitresses attention to order some more drinks I finally went up to the counter myself, I had to go up twice more to remind them of our order. When our food finally arrived the pizza bases were burnt which lead to us leaving most of the meal, we daren't send our order back as we couldn't wait another half an hour for a replacement, also the salmon pizza is smoked salmon not cooked salmon as suggested.
During the night the restaurant was by no means busy however we were not the only diners having to get up and remind the staff of their orders.
Although we didn't complain, the waitress must have recognised our displeasure because she brought us the bill without us requesting it or asking if we wanted dessert.
All in all after our previous pleasant experience of the Plum Tree just round the corner I would recommend anyone avoids this restaurant? as best they can.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

food was ok nothing spectacular but portions are large. we were charged double for drinks when we had only had one each but i pointed it out and the bill was rectified.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tal-Kaptan also viewed

 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to Tal-Kaptan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tal-Kaptan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.