We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful! Freshly cooked & NO MSG!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peking

Peking
Triq it-turisti, Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 21580696
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 75 Restaurants in Qawra
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful! Freshly cooked & NO MSG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Great service, all freshly cooked with no MSG..the restaurant is beautiful, clean, attentive staff, really tasty food! We will be back...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PekingMalta, Owner at Peking, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments we appreciate a lot in the meantime we look forward to host you again at Peking

Regards

Lucy & Marvic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    61
    16
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We have been here for food several times and have always been pleased with the food and service. They are very friendly and efficient. The set menu is a bargain and served fresh with very good sized portions.
A gem of a place definitely worth a visit for decent Chinese food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PekingMalta, Owner at Peking, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments we appreciate a lot in the meantime we look forward to host you again at Peking

Regards

Lucy & Marvic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Must have been an off day!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Based on other reviews on Tripadvisor we went on a Sunday for lunch. Restaurant was not busy at all. When we walked in there was no one to direct us to a table and we had to wait a while to be shown to out table. The order for drinks and food was taken pretty quickly and it was not long before we got our drinks and starters. We had the mixed platter and this was OK but not brilliant. We ordered a choice of second courses and these took quite some time to be served. Again these were OK but were not as tasty as one would expect from Chinese food. We had problems getting service for us to order sweets and additional drinks - surprising to say the least considering there were quite a few waitresses serving the few occupied tables! All in all we were not impressed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PekingMalta, Owner at Peking, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for sparing your time and review our restaurant we look forward to host you again at Peking we re sorry for any inconvenience!

Regards

Lucy & Marvic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Set menu is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Ate here on our first night as it was so close to our hotel. We all had the set menu which was around 12 euros. Fantastic value for money, food was great and loads of it. Good service too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PekingMalta, Owner at Peking, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments we appreciate a lot in the meantime we look forward to host you again at Peking

Regards

Lucy & Marvic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugibba, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Me and my wife went to Peking Restaurant in qawra on a whim and we left very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the chinese food on offer here. For starters we shared the beef dumplings, duck rolls and chicken wantons. The difference in the texture and lightness of the outer pastry paired with the rich filling, went down a treat. Then we shared the aromatic duck which was excellent. Special mention goes to the softness of the pancakes which are the best i ever had. For mains we had the beef in mild curry, chicken satay and the pork ribs in honey sauce with the egg fried rice on the side. The beef was beyond words: the beef was thin and very tender and the sauce was creamy to perfection. The chicken was again very tender and light and the peanut sauce was delicious. The ribs in honey sauce were good, even if too sweet for my taste. The fried rice was good and offered the perfect base for the rich sauces. For dessert we had the fried ice cream topped with syrup. The outer layer was crunchy and light, with the syrup giving it that sweet tinge that contrasted beautifully with the cold melty feel of the vanilla ice cream.
The service was fast for a saturday night and the ambience is modern and minimalist. The staff was helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PekingMalta, Owner at Peking, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments we appreciate a lot in the meantime we look forward to host you again at Peking

Regards

Lucy & Marvic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peking also viewed

 
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to Peking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.