We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duo Restaurant & Bar

Duo Restaurant & Bar
Qawra Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB1904, Malta
00356 21578236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 75 Restaurants in Qawra
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Having a great passion for the kitchen and service, brother and sister have teamed up together as your hosts, putting together some dazzling and tasty combinations, in a relaxed, simple and friendly atmosphere.The concept behind ’Duo’ is quite simple ….. to offer its patrons an overall magical experience.
Windlesham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best restaurant in area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Sat in outside "lounge" area and enjoyed a selection of small starters with a local Antonin from a pretty extensive wine list. Were so comfortable we decided to eat main outside as well.
Service excellent and staff dealt with a small blip with a minimum of fuss.
Food of a very high standard; numerous original and innovative dishes without the price to match. Other establishments are ranked higher on the site but some of them are bars.
Duo should be ranked No1 and is an excellent restaurant that you must visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    43
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Recommended restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Helpful & kind staff,very delicious food and very nice atmosphere.great service of course.will visit again for sure.we really enjoyed it.recommended 10/10

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Discovered this jewel with two nights to go on our holiday so we were able to go back and have two meals there. Great attention to detail in all that the restaurant does great value. If you are in the NW of the island you must go there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“DUO - our new "place to be" when in Malta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Since I discovered "Duo" being on holiday in St. Pauls Bay/Qawra two years ago, I already came back twice - every time when I've been to Malta. The restaurant offers really fresh and "special" food - not the usual "British style" with fish 'n chips... We really enjoyed sitting outside at the small "lounge" with kind of a private atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nijmegen
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“creativity has to be treasured”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have been a frequent visitor at Duo's for years.

The passion and attention for the food is always a joy to experience. Presentationwise the food is creative as well as the choice of ingredients. Refreshing choices on an otherwise so safe island ;)

I applaud the offer of many vegetable dishes. The potatoes are the best in its sort that i have ever eaten.

Sometimes the portions are simply too big as a starter. But if THAT is my only critisism... let's wave that one away.

Service is always very friendly. I will come back on my next visits..... of course.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duo Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to Duo Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duo Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.