We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Overflow - CLOSED

The Overflow
Triq il-Maskli, Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 21582519
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: This Restaurant is located just down the road from the Santana Hotel.The Restaurant is fully Air conditioned with an elevated private outdoor terrace .There is a ramp to enable Wheelchairs/push chairs access.The staff are professionally trained and speak French,Belgian,Russian,Ukraine as well as English Language to aid tourists if necessary to translate menus.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cant wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

spent our last night in Bugibba having a meal and a damn fine time at this restaurant and would 100% recommend to anyone. The location is ideal - just down from Tourist Street away from all of the noise. 4 of us turned up without booking, a table was sorted within 3 minutes despite it being busy. The "Geordie Lass" that served us was polite, funny and really seemed to care about the job she was doing as were all of the staff. I got my first decent pint of Ice cold draught Cisk here, PERFECT, ex-services Scottish chap who again took great pride in his job and serving a decent pint.
I am a fussy eater but each page of the menu had something that i wanted, a first for Malta, and it took me a while to decide........................but i had the ribs.................you gotta try the ribs, did i mention the homemade Pate starter and the different types of home made butter that get served with the bread, my girlfriend had the fillet steak with pepper sauce.......perfect perfect perfect steak and the pepper sauce was just superb...............did i mention the ribs. Probably the best i have had in a restaurant ANYWHERE in the world (Europe, Amercia and Canada included). Entusiastic genuine nice people who care about what they are doing. Even after service had stopped and we were finishing our drinks, people were still turning up wanting to eat...............................and i noticed that they do a 3 course set menu for 13 euros......why didnt we eat in this restaurant earlier in the week. We will be returning to Malta and this will be where we eat on the first night................and probably the second, third and forth.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our restaurant.We are delighted to read you had a wonderful experience dining with us! We strive to provide good service ( down to the care of our draught beer as you noted) and give that extra care and touches such as the Flavoured butters,to ensure diners enjoy their time spent with us!We have many compliments on our steaks and ribs.As you are a well seasoned traveller,it's good to see we compare highly to your other experiences of eating out! We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    65
    16
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Had a brilliant experience dining at the overflow. The dishes were well made, and obviously were delishous. The food is second to none and the service was also exceptional. I'm coming back in a few weeks with friends and will be coming back to eat here. Thank u all so much for a lovely evening. Definitely recommending this restaurant to friends and family.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our restaurant.We are pleased you had a brilliant experience dining with us after hearing of other places you dined at and were disappointed.We try very hard to provide a good service,friendly yet professional.You told us you will be returning soon with friends so we look forward to welcoming you back again.Thank you for recommending us to friends and family,and for choosing to dine with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgarr, Malta
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We took some visiting friends to the Restaurant last night for there final night in Malta. We hadn't booked but the friendly staff managed to find us a table. The guys ordered the ribs & the Lady's both had the steak. Both our friends commented that the ribs & steak were the best they have ever had, cooked & served to perfection, the salad is so fresh you think it has just been picked. The service is 1st class. My wife has a degree in wine ( i know nothing about wine myself) & commented how good the wine tasted. We have visited the restaurant before & always enjoy ourselves. Without a doubt this is the BEST place to eat in Malta.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our restaurant.We are delighted you found it to be Fantastic! We try our best to accommodate everyone but would always recommend reserving a table to avoid disappointment.We are also pleased to read that you brought some friends to dine with you and you all enjoyed your meals.We take pride in the quality and freshness of our food we provide and use local produce when ever we can.We look forward to seeing you again soon and looking after you again.Thank you for choosing to dine with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not up to the good reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Read the reviews and saw that The Overflow had changed hands. It was always good but now a little different and being run by a couple who had run a 5 star B&B, how disappointed were we!!
There would be no 5 stars in the UK for what's on offer here now:
Average food - absolutely nothing special
Service started well - forgotten immediately after food served
Price - over the top when compared to other restaurants in the area
Toilet ( always a good guide )- should have visited first - would not give one star
Staff - Very friendly & like to big themselves up, wasn't impressed by one of the off duty staff sitting at an outside table getting plastered and spilling beer all over said table. After that, why turn away some paying customers rather than remove him from the table.
Overall not all that it's hyped up to be .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are sorry you found us to be just average.It is the diners who write reviews and mostly leave very contented.We have been training new staff but customers are never forgotten and checked upon several times.Our team are friendly and work hard for the customers benefit.We receive many comments about our prices being reasonable not over the top.Their are many restaurants nearby more expensive than us,but I suppose everyone's budget is obviously different? A three course meal for 13€ To us is not expensive!We will never please everyone and are sorry we did not meet your standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Gorgeous food! We had salmon, mussels, pâté & white bait to start, lovely food but most memorable was the service! Young Geordie girl with curly hair who knew exactly what service was about, went the extra mile and if anything deserves a promotion or a pay rise! Really lifted the meal for us! 5 stars!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our restaurant.We are delighted to read you found the food to be gorgeous and service memorable!Our team will go the extra mile to ensure you enjoy your experience of dining with us.The dishes you chose are all very popular.Your starters are made in house ( even down to the tartare sauce to accompany the Whitebait) The sauces to accompany the Mussels and Salmon are a favorite of many and are created by our talented Kitchen Brigade.Thank you for choosing to dine with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overflow also viewed

 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Overflow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.