We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Overflow - CLOSED

The Overflow
Triq il-Maskli, Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 21582519
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: This Restaurant is located just down the road from the Santana Hotel.The Restaurant is fully Air conditioned with an elevated private outdoor terrace .There is a ramp to enable Wheelchairs/push chairs access.The staff are professionally trained and speak French,Belgian,Russian,Ukraine as well as English Language to aid tourists if necessary to translate menus.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited twice and both times had a lovely meal. Local wines were cheap and tasty. They brought some tasters while we chose our food, everything was well cooked and presented. I had freshly caught sea bass which was delicious.

The staff were friendly and attentive, bringing a free drink to finish with - actually I left it but a nice touch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us.We are pleased you enjoyed both evenings dining with us.We try to price both the food and wines at a competitive price ,not too expensive for diners.Local wines are very popular and of good quality.Freshly caught fish is very popular and tasty! We try to provide a good service to accompany the good food so you can relax and enjoy your night with us.The drink we offer at the end of the meal free of charge ,is typical of the Maltese Islands and a good digestif! Thank you for dining with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    65
    16
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Rustic chilled out place gorgeous food great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Meant to write this ages ago The Overflow is a lovely place the food was of excellent quality the staff lovely and friendly and I found it nice that the staff could have a little chat rather than just put the plates of food on the table and dissappear. Myself and my girlfriend ate hear 5 times out of our 12 day holiday in Malta so impressed were we after our first meal.Sure we had meals at other places around the resort but found nothing as good as the Overflow dont get me wrong we had nice food elsewhere and some good nights but overall this place was our favourite the food the staff the restaurant was just brilliant George the Scottish waiter was knowledgeable about the local area and very helpful and told us places to visit.Every meal we had was a painting on a plate and tasted exceptional we were never dissapointed with anything we had. We will definitely eat here again.Thanks Overflow you were all lovely see you all again soon:-) Dean and Yvonne Doncaster/Yorkshire x

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us.We are delighted you found the food to be of excellent quality.We are proud of our front of house staff.We make sure we talk to all tables even when busy.You have chosen to eat with us and we genuinely want you to enjoy your meal.We are pleased you ate with us 5nights out of 12 and found each time the standard to be the same.The food is cooked with a passion and we try to do our best regarding presentation.Thank you Dean and Yvonne for your kind comments and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Food, Stacey B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We found the restaurant on our last night, and what a last night it was the food was amazing, its safe to say 1 of the best meals i have ever had and that goes for all our party, there were 4 of us and we all tried something diffrent off the menu and all 4 meals were absolutly outstanding, hot, well presented, very genrouse portions and tasted deliciouse. to top of the great food the staff and owners were fantastic from walking in there to leaving the restaurant we were truely looked after, this place really does know the meaning of the word bing wined and dined, if you want a night to remember and enjoy outstanding food and service this is the place to be, spectacular.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review us.We genuinely enjoy looking after customers and making sure the food and service are of a high standard.We take pride in what we serve and know the dishes well.It is a shame you only found us on your last night or we might have have seen you more times.Should you return to Malta we hope you dine with us again.Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favourite place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Absolutely outstanding, we visited this resteraunt numerous of times during our stay, and every time I thoroughly enjoyed my meal! Staff are very friendly and caring, 100% the best service I've ever received. All fresh, homemade food of excellent quality, never had a better meal in another country before! Would definitely recommend this resteraunt!! Amazing quality and care for such a little price! €13 for a 3 course meal, compliments of appetisers and then as much bread as you wanted! Free drinks were given at the end of the meal, and no rush to leave. No words can actually describe how good this resteraunt is, definitely go in, it will be the best decision of your holiday. Would like to say Thank you to the manager of this resteraunt as you were absolutely fantastic, and all of the staff! Would definitely visit your resteraunt again if I get the chance! Thank you for the lovely experience I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your establishment!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review us.We are pleased to see you ate with us on numerous occasions.Both my husband and I are proud of all our team ,front of house and the kitchen,who all give their best for the diners.We do want everyone to relax and we never rush diners to leave or rebook tables.We feel if you have been kind enough to choose our restaurant then the least we can do is to serve you well and provide you with good quality food.Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Simply the best restaurant in Qawra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Spent a week in Qawra and this restaurant was booked on our last night, the Friday night BBQ special. We were a group of 9 people and had to change our booking at short notice which was absloutely no problem. The service was oustanding with the owners making sure we were alright every step of the way. We all ordered the BBQ special for 13 euros which was promptly prepared to order and cooked to perfection. The range of wines was excellent as well as the selection of drinks particularly hot drinks after the meal. Irish coffee is highly recommended. Definitely the best meal we had in Qawra, would definitely go back there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us.We as owners are very much hands on and work with the team to ensure diners enjoy their experience here.We try our best to be helpful and accommodate people's dining needs even when they change.We do have a large selection of wines(60 to be precise) as we feel it is good to have both local and foreign wines available.There is also a good choice of teas including herbal ones,coffees and liqueur ones for anyone who so desires them.We do remember your table and should you return to Malta would look forward to seeing you again.Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overflow also viewed

 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Overflow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.