We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the heart of Qawra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Overflow - CLOSED

The Overflow
Triq il-Maskli, Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 21582519
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: This Restaurant is located just down the road from the Santana Hotel.The Restaurant is fully Air conditioned with an elevated private outdoor terrace .There is a ramp to enable Wheelchairs/push chairs access.The staff are professionally trained and speak French,Belgian,Russian,Ukraine as well as English Language to aid tourists if necessary to translate menus.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A gem in the heart of Qawra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family and I found this place after hearing great reviews about it on Gusto and on Trip Advisor and so decided to check it out.

As someone else here said when a place has so many good reviews you have very high expectations of the place, but I have to say we were very pleasantly surprised!

The restaurant has recently been taken over by an English couple and from the minute you walk in they do their best to make you feel at home.

We booked on Sunday so it was very busy when we arrived but we were asked straight away if we would like drinks in the seating area whilst our table was prepared. This is a nice touch.

Similarly once we moved to the table we were offered an amuse buche and a basket of warm bread whilst we mulled over the many dishes available on the menu. Being a Sunday, I decided to have the roast and my husband went for the fish. Both were beautifully cooked and generously portioned.

We both had deserts and the staff took great pride in the fact all deserts are made fresh which again is something you don't see that often.

If I had to find one negative about the place it would be that we didn't find it sooner!! This really is as i wrote in the title a true gem in an otherwise over populated jungle of mediocre restaurants.

Thank you for a lovely meal, we look forward to returning very soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your very detailed review of The overflow.We are pleased you enjoyed the experience of dining with us! We try our best to provide a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere,good food and service! We all work hard as a team and do appreciate your comments.To us eating out should be a pleasurable experience.You have chosen to dine with us and deserve to be treated well.(a fact some restaurants do ,in our opinion,forget!)We hope to see you again soon.Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    65
    16
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had lunch here, it was the worst meal we had in Malta. My son had Croquet Monsieur , the ham was cold from the fridge the cheese not melted, the bread was at least toasted, but we waited 40 minutes for this and it was not that the place was busy we were the only people there!! had a club sandwich which was just as bad. We didn't bother with a desert seeing the slices of cake on the side wrapped up in cling film was enough to put us off.

I can't understand why the reviews for this restaurant were so good !!! In our experience it was terrible, we should have listened to the hotel receptionist rather than the tripadviser on this occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our Restaurant! We are sorry you had a bad experience.You will find most of the reviews on Trip Advisor refer to our evening service.My husband and I,with our team,work very hard and are dedicated to customer service and making sure the Quality of food is good.We work 7 nights a week and are not there during the lunch service for the Lite bite menu.Had we been there we could have looked after you well! The lunch time opening was just a trial to see if it was worth opening but with staff available for this service it is proving not up to our standards!If you are still in Malta please return to the restaurant,we would like to talk to you in person! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Homely atmosphere and lovely interior design”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This cafe is run by a dedicated and friendly British couple with the help of an exuberant and charming Ukrainian waitress. On entering the cafe we were struck by the clever design touches that turned it into a welcoming and cosy place to chill and eat - especially the three piece suite where some guests wait with a glass of wine for their food to be cooked before moving to their table. Food arrived quickly and staff were quite attentive. The menu had fresh items and the roast dinner was very nice. At the end we were given a couple of shots of home made anisetta and overall I would rate it as a very pleasant experience. In fact it was one of the few restaurants in that Bugibba area to which we would return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our Restaurant! We are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us.We are lucky to have such a hard working and dedicated team behind us.Nothing is too much trouble to ensure your time spent with us is relaxing and you are well looked after.We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Visited this restaurant after great reviews on here; my husband and I were not disappointed. He ordered fresh sea bass and I has a fab roast courgette salad. The food was fab, service was good, reasonably priced and the ambiance was great.
The restaurant is owned by a British couple and has been opened since Jan 2013; it is a stone throw away from Club Riza in Qwara.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review us.We do appreciate customer feedback.The fresh fish is very popular.We have several deliveries per week.At the moment we currently have approximately one dozen different types to choose from.We are glad your husband enjoyed the Seabass and you enjoyed your Shepherds Salad.The salad was created to enable people to taste the local cheeselets and is suitable for vegetarians too! We hope to see you again and we continue to strive to maintain our standards.Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“shame we never went back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

we visited this after strolling around and saw this place so sat outside in the sunshine and enjoyed the look of the place inside and outside and was in quite quiet location
we visited lunchtime and had a snack lunch which was most enjoyable as the food arrived quick , looked tasty and was , the staff very friendly and welcoming , dont worry we are coming back and we visit you in the evening :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us,The lunch menu is a light lunch menu as when the summer heat arrives and humidity you find diets change and a lighter lunch is required.The full a la carte menu is in service in the evenings though.The terrace is a lovely area to sit out in the sun or shade depending on your preference.We hope to see you again and you experience the Restaurant at night! thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overflow also viewed

 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Overflow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.