We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic rooms, (some) rude staff, no free wifi.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Azzurro to your Saves list
Porto Azzurro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Basic rooms, (some) rude staff, no free wifi.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had read the reviews of this hotel previously, so were aware that rooms were basic - and that's fine, we didn't come to Malta to stay in the hotel! The rooms were clean, and you can borrow a cheapie hairdryer from reception. There is no free wifi, and the wifi tickets are more expensive than roaming from my provider - so they should consider moving into 2015!

What lets this venue down, however, is the staff. I have to be fair, that the man we met at check-in was nice. Unfortunately many of the others were not. Some were fairly clueless (or just not helpful), but the one we truly did not appreciate was the one who gave us multiple phone calls to our room the morning of our check out - well in advance of the 11:00 check out, she continually called us to ensure we remembered that our check out was coming at 11. We felt as if we were being thrown out of the hotel and left our stay on a very sour note (we were out at 10:30, so it seemed highly unnecessary!).

If you stay on this side of the island, the buses are fantastic, but a car offers more freedom.

Room Tip: Ask to not be pool facing - the music is really bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for finding the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the incident that occurred during your stay with us. I can assure you that it is not a norm.

We do hope that you enjoyed our islands and if you wish to come back, please do not hesitate to contact me on charlot@portoazzurro.com.mt

Sincerely,

Charlot Abela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    304
    203
    95
    90
See reviews for
149
416
67
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here in April 2015 for one week with my partner. Half board
got in at 10.30pm filled in form then was told how to get to our room.
was not given clear directions, told to go to one lift then take other lift
which was passed the indoor pool. no meal was offed to us but should have been
room was nice and view of outdoor pool area, wanted to have a coffee
but no coffee / tea only 2 cups and a kettle in room.
we ended up going to get a wee bar/coffee place down the road.
got up first morning found restaurant nothing left to eat only ham
and 3 slices of bread and that was at 8.05am. breakfast started at 7.30 to 10am.
bar sold tins of beer one type of beer music was to loud to have conversation.
bar wasn't well stocked. out of 7 nights half board we only got 3 breakfast and 3 evening
meals{WHICH WERE ALWAYS SERVED COLD} the fourth evening meal was so cold
it was like it was from the fridge we just had enough and walked out in disgust we did complain on a number of occasions but nothing was done about it at all, other people
also complained too, was told on Friday night that there was no tia maria left and it would be monday evening before they would have it. beds were made but that all.
we did speak to a so called manager which was on the day we were going home they knew about the complaints we had from Saturday night, and that was a Tuesday morning
she did not seem that interested at all in what we had to say. I work in a hotel myself and I know how it works when I said that to the so called manager all she wanted to do was get away from us. would never recommend this hotel as b&b or hb bases.

Room Tip: ask for room 224 nice pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for finding the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay.

I was advised regarding of what was happening but unfortunately I was away from the hotel that particular week before we get into the high season.

Kindly note that as from the 1st May, we will not be offering the Half Board and guests can choose from the A' la carte menu for the simple reason that the perspective of the guests are high due to a numerous mark ups that the agents put on the meals. I am not blaming the guests, I am actually understanding the guests. Unfortunately we discovered some charges to guests, by the agents, with a mark up of up to 400% from what we sell to the agents. This does not reflect good on us. It has been a re-occurring issue and therefore we decided to stop the Half Board basis once the current contracts finished.

In case that you wish to clarify something, please do not hesitate to contact me on charlot@portoazzurro.com.mt.

Sincerely,

Charlot Abela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great ten days on holiday here - the staff (especially Alexis and Simon) were all very helpful, and looked after us! The hotel is in a quiet part of the bay so if you're looking for nightlife (or meals after 11pm) you'll struggle but if you're looking for a comfortable base from which to explore the islands it's a good value choice.
The room was well presented, had a great view, and was cleaned / tidied daily. The indoor swimming pool is only small but, as long as it's warm enough, the much larger outdoor pools more than make up for it. We didn't try the scuba club (onsite) but apparently, other guests did and enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Porto Azzurro offers very reasonably priced rooms, and bearing in mind how little we paid the hotel was surprisingly good and excellent value. Our room was comfortable and clean, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Although Xemxija is a bit off the beaten track, there are excellent beaches within a short bus ride (especially Golden Bay) and there is a delightful country walk just above the hotel, about 100 yards from the hotel entrance in fact. There are also a few restaurants nearby, and the bus stop is only two minutes from the hotel. All things considered, a good hotel for the money.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a long delayed flight and a detour to Sicily we turned up at the Port Azzuuro Hotel a little after midnight. We were tired and hungry and looking forward to booking in and settling down to a good nights sleep, but sadly this was not to be. As we approached the desk the gentleman informed us we had no room and we were to go to another hotel for the night, he had already booked a taxi for us and said the taxi would pick us up in the morning at 11 am to take us back to Porto Azzuro, I couldn't believe what I was hearing . We didn't really get an explanation, just something about the plumbing. I was gutted. We arrived at the other hotel where a room had been booked for us but it was like a prison cell. It was so cold I slept with several layers of clothing on and couldn't bring myself to get under the covers, I was devastated. This was supposed to be a celebration of our pearl wedding anniversary and here we were spending a night in a freezing cold box room and we didn't have a clue where we were. Needless to say we were up at the crack of dawn the next day more tired than we were before we went to bed. To cut a long story short the taxi arrived as promised and took us back to the Porto Azzuro Hotel only to be told our room still wasn't ready so there was another day of our holiday wasted sitting about waiting for something to happen. Eventually after about an hour we were given the keys to our room where we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had been upgraded for our inconvenience and rightly so! Can I also add that this hotel is advertised as being in St Pauls bay and is nowhere near, thank goodness for the bus stop round the corner. On the plus side to a very disappointing start the rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and the beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Was told no rooms had a sea view but from what I can gather the higher up you are the better the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice staff, they make an effort to see how you are and what day you might have had, we were in room 106, not good due to being slightly below ground level, however was good size, bed comfy, bath nice and modern, plenty of cutlery and plates etc, my only gripe was I asked for the flush in the toilet to be repaired twice as it was faulty and it wasn't done and only worked sometimes, watch out if you get this room! There was a good pool outside which we enjoyed with loads of beds, you might need a car to get about as it is isolated, the buses are cheap but crowded even in off peak times! There is not much near as regards eating out, we tried two, A Chinese one up the hill which was very disappointing, and likewise a small tavern just around the corner from the hotel, my tip go elsewhere on the island for food, summing up, a good value hotel but not a lot around.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are a couple and had a one bedroom apartment on the 5th floor. Our room overlooked the bay and we couldn't be happier with it. It is a little older, but it's clean, comfortable and you can tell the rooms get refurbished regularly. The reception staff were all very friendly and helpful. We paid each day for the hotel breakfast because the local cafes weren't open at the time of morning we needed breakfast. The breakfast was good, not great, but you do get a basic buffet for 5 euros, so can't complain too much about that. St Paul's Bay is a good hour by bus to get to Valletta, Paceville or St Juliens and we found that the buses were too infrequent, and as a result, very crowded - and it wasn't even peak season. But they're much cheaper than taxis and very easy to work out which route you need, etc. If you're looking for a more quieter area to stay I would highly recommend this location over the above-mentioned places. There are quite a few dining options within walking distance from the hotel, so you don't need to go to the bigger towns for dinner, etc. There is also a great little gelato/bar/snacks shack across the road from the hotel which overlooks the bay. Any tour you'd want to do picks you up from the hotel and it's really easy access to get to the airport, Gozo and Comino. All-round comfortable stay, great price and great location if you're not concerned about being in the thick of the action all the time.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Azzurro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.