We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Azzurro

Save Saved
You added Porto Azzurro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Azzurro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just got back from a weeks stay at the Porto Azzurro, we traveled with our daughter who is almost 8 months old. We were upgraded from a hotel room to an apartment so we could prepare our daughters bottles etc.... The room with very spacious and cleaned everyday if we wanted it.. The only downside about our room was outside looked on to a brick wall, not a nice view at all.... Maybe a mural painted on it would be more appealing. There is building work going on, but it does interfere with your holiday... Although there is quite a bit of dust about. Maria in the restaurant is very friendly and helpful... But a big thank you to the manager Charlot who was very helpful and sorted a problem out for us straight away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    251
    166
    78
    77
See reviews for
118
330
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The rooms were large and confortable, with big bathroom. Everyday nicely cleaned. The view was nice on the outside swimming pool. The weather (march) was not warm anough to go in the water but enjoiing the sun around the pool was nice. There was a small inside pool and fitness centre. Breakfast was good, everyday the same but different joises. Maria was a good guide. She gave the weather tips, going places, what to do or were to go.
So we had a nice stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Porto Azzurro, befor we had just used it as somewhere to sleep, but this time we did B&B the breakfasts were excellent all you could eat and vast choice, fresh fruit, cereals,yogarts, rolls, toast as well as the full english. We also opted for a few evening meals in the resturant, the choice was not vast but good food. Maria was on had in the resturant and was really friendly and helpfull, she was a pleasure to get to know. we had our rooms serviced everyday. Alexis on the desk was very charming and very helpfull and was always on hand in the office if you had any problems, i will be emailing her soon to book another return trip.

Room Tip: It is situated on a steep hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I come here in January and February to the quieter and greener part of the island. On the Bay here you get 'big sky' and a glorious bay to walk around. There are a good selection of local restaurants within a short walking distance. Expect hilly terrain and a sloping walk to the hotel. Expect noisy traffic on the only main road through the town. Good bus links to the rest of the island at reasonable daily rates.
The hotel provides excellent 3 star quality food, accommodation and facilities, 5 star friendly staff at reception and maintenance, and Alexis at Guest Relations is always available each morning if you need information or guest help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Don't stay at Porto Azzuro expecting excellence. What you'll get is a large, clean, well maintained room, great breakfast & friendly staff.
What you won't get is a good evening meal- fill up on the anti pasti, as the dinner itself was actually inedible several nights.
BUT!!!!!- we were paying approx £35 per night, 1/2 board (for both of us), so despite the poor evening meals, it was OUTSTANDING VALUE FOR MONEY.
You pay your money, you take your choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

As a solo traveller I tend to keep myself to myself , however I didn't count on the Maltese warmth and charm of it's natives to enter into conversation and even a little improptu guided tour. In a word Maria , the wonderful lady who seamlessly offered company and travel advise whilst running the hotel restaurant. I must say she made the trip for me and from what I could tell she smoothed out the rough edges for alot of the other occupants as well. All making a great effort to say goodbye to her in partiular on departure.

The hotel its self was basic, clean but with a strange "aroma" coming from my bathroom periodically. The staff were very helful, and all with a great knowledge of various languages. The location is not quite St.Pauls Bay but a cove around from it. Well serviced nby numerous bus routes at a cheaper that chap daily cost of €2.60.

I did have the builders in during my stay but why would I want to stay in bed all day when I have the whole of the island at my disposal.

Go if to want a quiet area, and real Maltese warmth from the lovely Maria.

Room Tip: Had a 6th floor room 622 with a lovely cove view , hill view and a crane. Daily service was complete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My cousin and I (both female) booked a very last minute bargain fortnight to, for us, an unknown Malta. I hired a car from the airport and then took 3 hours to find the hotel - signs are not great to say the least! However, for what we had paid, we were pleasantly surprised. The 'apartment' was really only a room with a sink, microwave, kettle and 2 hot-plates, but it was adequate for us. It was only cleaned every 4 days, so the rubbish in the bin stank a bit. The TV was tiny, VERY high up, and too far away to be seen from the beds. Clean towels could be had more often at reception if required. There was always plenty of very hot water. The once I went for a meal in the restaurant at night, I was extremely pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food - not a lot of choice, but FAB. An excellent chef. The pool area was a bit run down with a filthy jacuzzi, but it was winter. The pool bar and restaurant never opened and the pool toilets were not for the faint-hearted, or anyone requiring toilet paper or soap. The bar was extremely well stocked and reasonably priced, with an extensive list of delicious cocktails. Not a lot of entertainment though. We met an interesting chap who was a mine of useful information - a former runner called Colin, who was living in the hotel - get in touch if you read this!. All in all we really enjoyed our holiday, got a lovely tan, and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Apparently some rooms have better TVs, but don't know which.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Azzurro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.