We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean no frills self catering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Azzurro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Azzurro to your Saves list
Porto Azzurro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean no frills self catering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

9th to 16th October 2012.Me and wife.This was our 5th holiday at Porto Azzurro.We always book through 'Malta Direct .com.We requested a studio self catering with pool view which we new was at the back but were given a sea view studio at the front which was next to a new extension which was under construction.
In the morning we asked Rachel on reception if we could be moved.This was arranged for the next day,and although still at the front was away from the building work and had a nice sea/country view..The room was a complimentary upgrade from studio to a one bedroom SC apartment Which was clean but was in need of some minor maintenance.
The only concern we had was although the pillow slips were clean and fresh, the pillows inside were old and stained. A good tip is to always take your own Pillows.
Overall Porto Azzurro has friendly staff ,a lovely pool, a shop for provisions, small beach across the road.frequent buses and local eating places.
We will be going back next year.

Room Tip: Pool view quieter.Sea view some traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    276
    181
    88
    84
See reviews for
141
367
57
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent 5 days on a B&B basis.
In general the staff where excellent and pleasent apart from the young resturant mangeress (I don't think she was Maltese) who behind the (very) thin facade of being pleasent was a crafty and nasty piece of work, treating us and others with disdane (another English couple had a go at her), as well as shouting and belittling other members of staff - whom we found to be much more friendly. As a result, we bothered with one evening meal there as she didn't tend to show up for the early breakfast period and the atmosphere was much more relaxedas a result.
The pools were a little on the cool side (the outdoor one clearly visable from the aircraft as we flew in to Malta) - but given the heat that wasn't a problem (once you were in), the gym was well equiped though showing signs of plenty of use. The Jacuzzi could do with an overhaul
Our room (a base budget one) was equiped with Aircon (switched off centrally at certain times of the day) and celing fan, twin hotplate (with extractor hood), toaster and microwave, washing up sink and a decent size kettle for self catering if the mood took you
The bed was huge, ensuite (toilet, wash basin and bath with a powerful shower) was more than adequate
- It wasn't 5 star but we weren't paying anything near 3 star (let alone 5 star) prices either

The minimart was well stocked, resonably priced (even by Maltese standards) and a very friendly chap running it.
The desk staff very extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the local situation for tourists - organising the trips and pickups we wanted quickly and effeciently (though at E2.60 for 1 day's unlimited bus travel we used the buses a lot as plenty from the nearby bus stop going all over Malta including the Gozo ferry) -that the staff were extremly knowledgeable about what buses to catch and the stop information that made our holiday excellent
If you carry on walking up the hill to the top, you get an impressive view of St Pawls Bay, and pass several places of historical interest -a Roman Honey hive courtyard and an early burial cave

All in all, we will be going back to this hotel, bring our 3 boys with us next time and staying for a longer period than the 5 days me and my wife spent there this week. Yes this hotel is expanding with building work going on during the day, but the evenings and nights were quiet, and the expansion must be a sign that Porta Azzuro is doing something right, at least we feel so.

Room Tip: either overlooking the outside pool or overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for a week in apartment 507 on the 5th floor, overlooking the bay which was a very nice view.
Apartment was functional and had all that was required but was just a bit tired and could do with a freshen up. On the plus side there was galleons of hot water. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. I didn't know until the 5th day that the hotel had more that the one lift (which only takes 3 people)
The downstairs bar had lots of character and was very nice. Attached to the bar is a resturant that looks extremley clean and well thought out. However I found the menu uninspiring so didn't eat there, but other guest seemd to enjoy the meals. For my money the best place to eat in the area was a Chinese resturant located at the top of the hill called Skaukiwan. Please try it you won't be disapointed.
The hotel has 2 computers that are easy to use and it only cost 3 euros for 75mins.
Nightlife was really non-existant as there wasn't a lot going on in the area so having a car would be favourable or take the very cheap buses that run all night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Throughly enjoyed our stay here...the staff were lovely and rectified any problems really efficiently..the pools both inside and out were clean and refreshing.. the pool bar and surrounding area was so pleasant nicely landscaped giving a relaxing atmosphere...the shop was excellent with delicious Maltese wine at excellent prices..I really can't fault the place..if I had to make any negative report it would relate to the aircon that didn't work ...but we moved to another room so the problem was solved...would highly recommend a stay here its fabulous value for money...thanks to all the staff who made our holiday a great one..well done Porto azzurro..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent 9 nights in a hotel room in the Porto Azzurro. The room was large, it was tired it needed new bed spreads and generally modernizing. We had no view from the balcony just the flats behind and were next door to the unfinished apartments.
Staff were very accommodating and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had clean towels daily.
The food we found to be good the breakfast offered a large choice and my partner enjoyed a cooked breakfast every day. We were on half board and the evening meals were good. The choice of three main courses is limited, though we found something we liked every night. We never left feeling hungry. My only gripe would be about the desserts which were basically the same every night, cake and banoffee pie.
The indoor pool was cold and the jacuzzi was also cold, though not as cold as the outdoor pool. The pool area was nice, they could do with updating the sun beds, never used the pool bar.
The hotel is ideally placed for the buses and 12 euros buys a pass for a week. This is a great cheap way to see the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked a one bed apartment which was quite spacious with a very small balcony overlooking St Paul's Bay and a building site. It was South facing and got the sun for most of the day. There was no natural light in the bathroom or the bedroom only windows opening into a utility shaft, into which all the air conditioning and bathroom fans are vented. The air conditioning was very effective and centrally timer controlled (comes on and goes off at pre-set times governed by the management). When on, the only control you have, is to turn it off by opening the door or window. There is no other control of the temperature except by using the ceiling fans, though, in the lounge, this proved quite effective with the balcony doors open.
The condition of the rooms however was not to the standard we were led to expect by from the holiday brochure or the apartment’s web-site. There were a number of faults, cracked glass in the balcony doors, cracked tile in the lounge, rusty door on the fridge, no valance on the bottom of the kitchen units which meant that the feet of the units had collected dirt, veneer peeling from the units around the micro wave, mould around the bath, paint peeling from the ceiling in the bathroom, water dripping from the air conditioning onto the balcony, making it slippery and continuous noise from the building site next to the apartments. Whilst the building work it’s not under the control of the management it would have prevented us booking these apartments had we been made aware before booking as there is no mention either in the brochure or on the apartment’s web-site. The owners of the apartments are in dispute with the developers but it is likely that the work will continue for a while one way or the other.
We complained to the hotel and they quickly and courteously responded with the offer of another room and whilst we were waiting to move the maintenance men were measuring up for the glass and tiles.
A day later we moved to the other side of the building into a room overlooking the pool. It was a much nicer room with a large terrace on the sixth floor. It was much more pleasant to sit outside, with a table and chairs and two sunbeds. The only downside was that it was a studio rather than a one bedroomed apartment for which we had paid. Still, as we had already wasted a day we decided to stay and the management said they had only this one available anyway. The air conditioning was completely controllable via a wall mounted thermostat; it had been redecorated and was without any major defects. It is a shame that the first one was not to the same standard. Whilst this apartment was nearly north facing its balcony caught the sun from about 1300 onwards as it was nearly at roof level, however the apartments below it, would probably not had any direct sunlight until early evening, if at all.
Whilst our complaint was dealt with efficiently, apart from one receptionist who was very pleasant, the others seemed to be graduates from the Basil Fawlty charm school. It seemed to be an effort for them to give you your key. For example the smoke alarm battery started to fail and so it produced an annoying bleep and we asked if the battery could be changed the response was, “Why didn’t you tell us this morning because the maintenance men have gone home”. How we were we supposed to know their working hours I don’t know. We had to put up with the intermittent bleep until the following morning.
We ate out most evenings and there are a number of good restaurants nearby. Sammy's Bar and the Porto del Sol are only about 50 metres from the apartments and both are worth a visit and in contrast to the apartments the staff were polite and friendly. We didn’t use the restaurant in the apartments but the pool bar was fine for a snack and a beer, though, and it was common in several bars, the beer was served from cans. The lady that served us there was pleasant and helpful too. Indeed, the whole of the pool area was kept clean and tidy, with plenty of sunbeds.
Xemixja is at the end of St. Paul’s bay and so the sea is covered with pleasure craft. There are a few designated swimming areas though, as there is only a small tidal range, I wondered just how clean the water was with so many boats in the harbour. The rocky / concreted areas around the swimming spots weren’t very clean either with lots of cigarette ends and litter. It was better to catch the bus to Golden Bay where the beach was sandy and much more pleasant. The bus only took about 15 minutes and a day ticket cost 2.60 euros. We used the busses a lot and they are quite efficient though often very full. The road through Xemixja is very busy all day and quite late into the evening as it is the main road to the ferry to Gozo and so makes eating outside in most of the restaurants a noisy experience.
To sum up I wouldn’t stay in the Porto Azzurro Apartments or in Xemixja again and if you are thinking of staying then try and avoid the building site side unless you enjoy the sound of hammers and power tools. I would also try to stay nearer to one of the beaches.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South overlook St Paul's bay and a building site but have the sun all day. Romms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

we would like to thank all the staff at Porto for making our stay a wonderful experience, when we
arrived we did have a problem but this was dealt with in a swift and prompt action and resolved.
all the staff helped and a big thankyou to the housekeeping staff for there efforts to refresh our room daily. i can and will promote the Porto Azzurro Hotel to all who are interested to Visit Malta.
p.s thanks to Mario, the Rabbit was fantastic and thanks to Charlot for taking the time to talk and help us, we will see you soon next year,
Best Wishes Tony & Bernadett, 614

Room Tip: please speak and ask, they will help you as much as they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Azzurro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.