We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Mavina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mavina Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mavina Aparthotel to your Saves list
Mavina Aparthotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Triq il-Fliegu, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love the Mavina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Have been staying for 2 or 3 times a year on and off for about 17 years. Love it! Yes rooms are quite simple but very spacious, great balcony space, sufficient kitchen, maybe bathrooms need a little work but so what? We only shower & etc .Pool area is magic _ walled garden - have sunbathed for hours in February & November ( & been in the pool) Owners & staff in restaurant/bar are all great & all the receptionists especially Clare are brilliant _ so friendly & helpful - all more like friends . Location is superb - so close to loads of friendly bars & restaurants and the bus station. They are so helpful for those of a more elderly age too. We were there 3 times in 2013 & already booked for 2014. Hope they all have a great 2014. See you soonish. Colin & Fiona _ Belfast

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

hi i did not think about making a review may be to late now but seems to me the mavina has not changed.We had a bad holiday to there i understand basic but not dirty we had rusty cooking tools and they said to me they put them there has english take them lol .we had mould dirty smell bath damp celling with mould to and we open this window to find its not a window and there was dead birds there .And i seed to not had a rep what could help never around .we found beds hard to sleep on when we looked it was a bit of wood.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This review is more about Huli apartman hotel which belongs to Mavina though in a separate building. The hotel is very poor and the room we got first was really depressive: the balcony of the room was just above the restaurant kitchen which means we had to smell and hear everything coming out from the kitchen. In a room where there is no air condition it is a minimum requirement to be able to open the door...
We told them about our problems (in the meantime the toilet flush went wrong, as well), and finally we managed to change room, but only in 3 days (we spent 6 days all in all..).
I do not recommend this hotel, I am sorry.

Room Tip: Do not choose room nr. 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were very dissapointed with the very basic and shoddy appartment. No air conditioning made being in the appartment at any time almost unbearable. The temperatures were still in the 30's and it was humid. The ceiling fan and one extra fan did little to gain any comfort. We also found the beds very hard to sleep on confortably. The hotel was friendly and central for the bus station and all other ameneties. Breakfast was cerial, hard boiled egg and a selction of processed meat and cheese. A cooked breakfast had to be paid for as an extra. The evening meal was generally tastless but again for the unadventurous adequate. The pool was fine. We opted to eat out after the first few days so wasted our money paying for half board. Would return to the area and Malta as there is plenty to see and do but would make sure the hotel was a higher grade. Malta is safe and friendly. Next time we would avoid organised tours as getting around on the local busses is very cheap and easy. The organised tours were safe and interesting but we would have liked longer at historic sites and less time being taken to craft villages and boat trips.
Did get conned into wasting a morning which we were told was to look around another more modern hotel only to find ourselves trying to be sold a holiday club scheme. Our experience has not put us off wanting to return to Malta and this area.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel if your budget allows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Was expecting basic and clean accomodation per reviews hence my expectations were set accordingly.

Early on my son noticed what appeared to be small droppings on his bed. Assumed it to be a lizard. Standard fair for the med.Wishful thinking on my part.

Two nights or so into our holiday we heard a noise behind the units. Put it down to the plumbing even though my son was adamant it was a mouse or rat. Turned out to be wishful thinking on my part again. Naive or what!.

Next night in, when I was in bed I thought I felt something run over me, but put it down to a dream and a few beers.

Following night, put the light on after an evening out and a rat ran across my foot and under the cooker. Excrement and urine all over my sons bed. Pictures taken accordingly.

Fair play we were transferred to another room and were given one nights refund {only when requested from an apologetic manager] but soured our holiday no end.

We knew there was no air con but would recommend thinking carefully before staying in very hot climate with just a celing fan.

Regardless of our experience here, would love to go to malta again. But would be prepared to pay more for the accomodation. 'You get what you pay for'

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

4 of us have just spent 3 weeks at the Mavina and came home yesterday 14.7.12. We had 2 studio apartments next door to each other, and although the rooms and furniture were dated, they were plenty big enough for 2 people. We had our bins emptied every other day, clean towels twice a week, and bedding changed once a week. All the staff were very pleasant, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The only draw back was no air conditioning, and during June & July the weather was very hot like it is in August, so you really needed the AC, but we hired a stand up fan which helped a bit but a cold shower each night before bed helped as well. We met some lovely people there, and they had all stopped at the Mavina more than once.

Room Tip: I only saw the studio apartments, so I cannot comment on the other rooms they had. It is good to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed at Mavina Aparthotel for 2 weeks with a couple of friends. We had a great time. Rooms are basic but very clean.The locality is great, 2 minutes away from the bus station and the supermarket. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel's restaurant is very good too, delicious food and reasonably priced. The pool is gorgeous! Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I'd request a pool view for a quieter room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mavina Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavina Aparthotel

Address: Triq il-Fliegu, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mavina Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Mavina Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavina Aparthotel Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Mavina Aparthotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mavina Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.