We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Primera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Primera Hotel to your Saves list
Primera Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pioneer Rd, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just stayed at the Primera for a week. Got a really cheap deal so was not expecting 5* luxury. I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel.Room had what I wanted. Shower was good and always hot water. Bed was made for me every day. Sheets changed and room cleaned. Location was excellent. Breakfast was good. Enough selection. Staff friendly and helpful. On the whole I enjoyed my stay at the Primera.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    49
    47
    45
    62
See reviews for
32
94
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having travelled far and wide this has to be on of the worst hotels I have stayed in. Staff were friendly but hotel smelt awful as if there was an open sewer. Decoration was dull and shabby. Should be either knocked down or totally refurbished. We checked in....and checked out 60 minutes later. Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My partner and i stayed at the primera for four nights in december '12 and we found it clean,if basic and well located. Breakfast was basic but adequate as were the local restaurants that we used in the evening.The rooftop pool was filthy and obviously not in use. We didn't have any problems with lifts or staff. Our room was on the 4th floor above the kebab shop,yet we had no bother from there. Nightlife was limited but just enough to keep us entertained. We booked a day trip to Gozo,at the travel shop just down from the hotel,and had a fabulous day. Gozo is highly recommended,dont miss a day trip at least to this lovely island. Finally i'd like to say what a pleasure it was to use malta airport,one of the cleanest,most efficient,friendly airports i have ever used.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Mount Kennedy, Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went in the summer of 2012 and stayed for 10 day... very long days... we got there at 10 pm and the first room they gave us was unreal!!! first we booked for a double bed as we are a couple and we got 2 single beds, one of the beds was broken so i had to sleep side ways :)) we had mould in the room and bathroom, hair in the bathtub, dirty wc, blood on the sheets and pillows dont want to know why.. no lights, no tv no phone no window obviously we went downstairs and asked another room as we couldnt even see what we are doing as we had no lights :)) and he sad its not possible today as the manager isnt here...anyway next day came we changed the room out of 5 we picked a decent one...remember DECENT!!! bathroom was ok and everything else the only dawnside was that the mould was still there and it rained one night and we discovered the next day that there was water all over in the room as the balcony door wasnt closing properly :))))))))) Because of this we would not go back to malta... and the famous dominic was helpfull but when i asked what is with the mould his reply was : This is all over the hotel . and i was shocked... We never used the pools as the roof one the water was green thats how dirty it was and you didnt even had where to sit and the pool inside the hotel was better but the room where the pool was had mould all over the walls and was very smelly from the take away next to it... I would not defo 100% not recomend this hotel. We are not fussy people but even if its cheap its still not worth it... and to be hones bugibba area isnt very great the nicer areas are mellieha( or something like that) .Also very thin walls if u know what i mean :) So hope this helps and i warned you... dont book it!!!!

Room Tip: our second room was no 515 it was better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If one is looking for a room to simply sleep during the night and have a shower then Primera is a good option. The location is excellent and the rooms are comfortable. Good value for money and the staff are helpful too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We've just back from Malta Primera hotel. To make it simple, it's rather typical 3-star hotel. If you expect more that that, you'd better look for something else.
Here're some pros & cons:
+++
1. Very friendly staff. Especially the guy on the reception - Dominic. Highly recommended!
2. Rather clean. No major drawbacks
3. Well-located on the seafront
4. The room is big & sunny.
5. No issues with hot water nor with communications
6. Restaurant prices are very democratic

---
1. Both the bed and linen are of a cheapest quality. The pillow is bad.
2. Breakfast is so-so. But eatable if you OK with sandwiches & coffee.
3. Dinner is worse. You won't die of hunger, but expect very basic food in huge quantities.
4. The environment is noisy, especially on evening. If you open a window you probably won't sleep well
5. Elevator gets stuck. Not a big deal of course if you can climb stairs.

Bottom line, it's OK for short stay if you're spartan about bed & food.
If you don't sleep well or have stomach issues, don't go there.
I saw much better 3-star hotels.
But I saw also much worse 4-star ones

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel is awful, don't go there.
This is a 3* hotel, but shouldn't even be rated. If this was my first trip to Malta, I wouldn't go back. There are plenty of other 3* hotels that are a hundred times better.
The restaurant staff were not friendly and only spoke if they had to. The food was disgusting and tasted as if it had been left out in the open for hours as it was stale and hard. There was little choice and as a meat free alternative, the only option was an omelette.
The bar was tiny and part of the reception desk with little choice and no draught beer.
The only friendly member of staff was the lady that was cleaning the room, she was lovely,, friendly and very chatty. The rooms were average but clean, the bathrooms were not good and needed refurbishing.The lift kept getting stuck. The location was good and luckily there were plenty of good restaurants and bars very close to the hotel.
Even with the refurbishment planned for early next year, I wont be going back.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors if you don't mind walking the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Primera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primera Hotel

Address: Pioneer Rd, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Primera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Primera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primera Hotel St Pauls Bay
Primera Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.