We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Bella Vista Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Coast Road, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
wales
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

Food My Partner likes to try different types of food and pasta etc. I only eat plain english food. Plenty of HOT FRESH food. Meat Chicken, pork, beef, turkey and ham. Beef and ham available every day. Fish and salads. Veg carrots, cauli, brocolli, peas mash, roast potatoes etc. Pasta and a spicy dish each day. Great british breakfast as well as yogurts and lovely toast and jam. ALL HOT AND FRESH. Lush coffee and Tea. Drinks in glasses not plastic cups. Serice in restaurant excellent and very clean.
Packed lunches fab 2 lots of sarnies FRESH and cooled.Apple pie amazing. To full after eating such excellent food. If anyone wanted anymore, then they must have wanted to eat 24-7 and be clued to the seats in the hotel. We put on weight and eat 3 meals a day and went out day and evening.
Rooms cleaned daily. Towels changed daily. Fantastic hot showers. Hairdryers amazing drys long hair in 5mins! Very kind helful staff.
I got arthritus quite bad and have a lot of back/leg pain I actually slept really well in comfortable clean beds.
Lifts where lovely and smooth. Pool room a bonus downstairs with relaxing area. Pool tidy enough to swim in. Outside pool 2 cold to swim in but cleaned daily still. Hudge screen TV by pool. We asked for the boxing exclusive and pay sports. Reception said they would try and they got it for us. So helpful.
Entertainment we are in our young minded 40s. Good comedy and singing of Mr Davito. Other singers and quizz etc for all ages who want to have a mix with people and fun. Went to a 5 star 1 night repeated enertainment Bella Vista a good variety.
Jaccuzzi on roof looks so relaxing but to cold.in Dec. Jacuzzi inside could be good needs right heat, chemicals and all jets to be working The ONLY petty fault When all else was so good.
Hotel Minibus drivers 2 where so considerate to young and older people dropping on way and picking up ensuring we where safe in the evening again very kind.
Location - 10mins from bus station-minibus on the hour, maybe every 1/2hr be more adequite in summer. Would highly recommend minibustrips from various outlets only £6 and £10 for day to gozo. The guide knows where to go. You pay entrance fees from £3 to £5 but you save time and your legs trying to find places.
2
I am gutted we tipped on trips and a minibus driver, I thought my partner had left tips, He thought I had left tips. Gutted 1st time we had HOT FRESH good quality food and servce in over 18 hotels worldwide.
I would love to go back to this hotel SPOT ON CLEAN.
Malta "a gold mine of history" thats a bit crumble round the edges
i would love to go back to this Hotel Bella Vista
It would have to be for 2 weeks, 1 day exploring 1 day at Hotel lovely in October. Not for larger louts or beach hols.
I feel bad about not leaving anything at the hotel as service was a cut above.........make up if we are lucky to go again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    308
    272
    231
    195
See reviews for
201
625
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

The bella vista is the third hotel i've stayed in in Qawra. The hotel is a little away from the main street but an excellent park with free wifi is across the road from the hotel.
The hotel itself was clean and lively with older residents from Britain which was fine for us, even though we are under 40. The entertainment that was put on at night was dire and although we would have loved to sat in the bar for a drink before going to bed found that the entertainment wasn't to our taste! That said the old dears seemed to love it.
The rooms were kept clean but with twin beds put together didn't make for a comfortable night sleep for a couple.
The shower and bath were fantastic - constant warm water.
The breakfast wasn't great and was fairly disappointed and a little repetative after 7 days being spoiled on my last trip to Malta with the breakfast at the Santana hotel in Qawra.
I went swimming one of the days and the indoor swimming pool area and lower lobby was almost pitch black.
I can't fault the hotel really but there should be more done about the lighting in the corridors towards the rooms (very dark) and in the lower lobby area and the indoor swimming pool.
Malta is beautiful and the people are so friendly.
Tip: Go to the Patizzeria's and get a pea cake! Best pastry ever!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

This hotel is one of the worst I have ever stayed in. It cannot be marked 4 star - at best it should be 2 star.
It is full of elderly Brits escaping the British winter - some are there for up to 3 months and even arrive at breakfast in their carpet slippers.
The room (426) was an odd trianguar se with tiny balcony squeezed in at the end of the row right next to the lift ( constant noise from people waiting) and it smelled like a hospital ward. The sheets were not changed once during my 3 day stay - the pillows well worn out and had sweat stains, linen was also well worn and towels going grey through over use - the bath mat on day 3 was frayed at the edges too - this is unusual for a hotel that claims 4 star.
No water provided in rooms which is also normal for 4 star. When I arrived the shop was closed so no place to buy either
Only one of the two lifts functioned in the 3 days I was there so you could wait up to 5 mins early in the morning or at dinner time.
The breakfast was unacceptable. Table cloth had stains from previous occupant. I Felt like a battery chicken - No personalised service from the staff at all. They were there only to whip away the plate as quick as they could once you finish to get you out for the next person. Only thin paper napkins , table not set - you grabbed your own cutlery from big tray. Nescafe automatic machine coffee instead of fresh, watery juice also from machines - no fresh available, no fruit on offer , pre-sliced bread in a huge basket had already gone dry on the top layer. No butter , only vegetable based spread. Meat ( of some description - pork based had also been sitting too long
The scrambled egg was in a huge vat - like rubber, and the choice clearly designed to suit the Brits only - eggs sausage and beans - God help the international traveller.

Dinner was no better. The salad offered was repetitive - one choice of lettuce tomato cucumber beetroot and vegetables with mayonnaise , never varied at all.
There were only 2 main courses on offer - usually beef olives, sliced roast meat or pork. Clearly meat and 2 veg to suit the elderly Brits again. Not the variety expected at 4 star level - where was the choice . Also dinner strictly 6 to 8pm so you had to be there fast if you wanted a fresh meal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
I am not sure if this guest intention was to review the hotel or our BRITISH GUESTS.
We have lived all our lives with British nfamilies around us when the forces were stationed in Malta, and it does not bother us having elderly Brits escaping their winter. We prefer having them to other guests who have paid an equivalent of a coffee and sandwich to stay with us and expect the "BURG AL ARAB".
90% of our guests are probably British in the winter months, but we still treat all the other guests with respect , and try our best to please everyone.
Dinner we have 3 choices main course plus pasta & soup.
I suggest next time you travel look for the 7 stars but be prepared to pay EUR 2000.00 per day
not around EUR 30.00 for 3 nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat of Garten, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

This was my sixth holiday in Malta and although I have never been disappointed with any of the hotels I have stayed in this one certainly gave the best value for money with an excellent obliging staff who always proved to be very helpful.
I had paid for an upgraded room which I had not done before and I was very pleasently surprised. Even four star hotels in Malta can fall a bit short when it comes to cleanliness. I had an excellent south facing view over the park towards Mosta.
I spend most of my time walking around Malta so the 10 minute walk to the bus station is no hardship. The hotel is some way away from the nightlife which just suited me fine.
The excellent staff, the good well varied menu, very enjoyable entertainment and the acceptable level of cleanliness made for a very enjoyable holiday. The indoor pool was not very inviting and some upgrading of the basement area is needed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

we stayed at the bella vista, from the 18th to the 28, november, arrived at 1.30 am, desperate for a cup of coffe after the long journey, looking forward to the kettle in the room, as in the brochure, but none in the room. rang the night clerk, only to be told to ask the manager in the morning, then the bathroom door was locked, phoned the night clerk again, someone arrived in 2 minutes and opened the door with a special key, we found out the day after, kettles are available to rent, on signing in the first thing they ask you for is a 50 euro returnable deposit, in case you do any damage, if you want to use the tv in the room, there is a 5 euro returnable deposit for the remote, if you want to use the room safe, it costs 22 euros, with 12 euros returnable, so our first impression was not sparkling, and i have only mentioned these things, to give a fair and balanced review, and apart from these, our time was very satisfactory, the breakfasts are the best you will find anywhere, with a good revolving toaster going all the time, plenty of good coffe, juices, various cerials,and jugs of milk, english style sausages, fryed eggs, boiled eggs, fryed bacon, good quality beans, i,m sure they were heinz, +scrambled eggs, all the plates are kept in a heater, so piping hot, with serviettes nearby, to hold the hot plate, on another table are cold meats, and cheese, lots of fresh bread, their bread is as good as french bread, the whole place is very clean, and pates etc are removed as soon as finished with, you will be escorted to your table by the head waiter, reasonable dresscode is expected, ie no steeveless tee shirts and shorts, we went all inclusive, the lunches were good, wih lots of variety, all well cooked, the dinners were also very good with twice as much choice than the lunches, remember you are in malta, and they cook mostly maltese food, some of it, we had never seen before, but it was all delicious, there are also plenty of pasta dishes on, and these were some of the most delicious foods we had ever eaten, they also do a thin braised steak in gravy, i tryed it twice , each time it was tough, tasty but like trying to chew an old boot, but with the large quantity and vartiety of good food, no one can really grumble, all the staff, as all the maltese people i met are very helpfull and friendly, there is entertainment on every night, singers and quizzes etc, the room was well looked after and clean, we a little balcony with table and chairs, the beds are comfortable, our shower was fantastic, there is a free hotel bus about every hour the the town and bus station,and back, about 10 minues if you walk, the hotel has two lifts, that are clean and well cared for, and fast, we left at 4.30 am, and ordered an alarm call at 3.30,which was on time, when we came down with our bags, the night reception clerk, brought out a trolley with hot coffee and tea, and cake and cerials for a quick breakfast, we received our deposits back instantly with no problens, our stay was an all round very pleasant experience, in the towns, and shops you will not be badgered by sellers, its just the same as shopping in england, prices are very fair, the matese people we met, are some of the nicest, most genuine people you will ever meet. the tempertures were about 70 degrees farenheight, it was sunny 99% of the time, if it rains it rains and stops, then you are back to lovely sunshine.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
thank you for giving such a detailed picture of our hotel.We take great care in keeping the hotel clean and give our guests some Maltese food.Pasta dishes and pork and fish are favourites with most of our guests.As you said breakfast is what guests expect.Maltese people are very friendly and you will find all the help you need whether in the hotel or white sight seeing.
Malta has a lot to offer and it is very easy to go around by car or public transport.
Thank you for choosing Malta and the Bella Vista.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Have just got back after a wonderful week in Malta and as usual the Bella Vista proved its worth, the Staff are friendly and very helpful. I have no hesitation in recommending the Bella Vista to anyone good value for money.
However, I have one real concern and that is that our room stunk of Smoke from the previous occupant, if it hadn't been the early hours I would have complained, the maid did her very best to get rid of it bless her and made it habital by the middle of our holiday. This will not detract my wife and me and our friends returning next year. Thankyou Bella vista.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

very good value for money: Good food, good variety, drinks (we were on half board) reasonably priced. Wifi free and over all good standing and conditions.Not very central but not far from public transport: ideal if you (like we did) rent a car: in Malta they are very cheap.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments about our food and our drinks prices.
guests can rent a car from the hotel at discounted prices . Buses to Valletta & Sliema one minute from the hotel , and guests can use free shuttle to the centre every 30 minutes in the mornings ( busy hours) and another five trips in the afternoon.
thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Address: Qawra Coast Road, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern newly built four star hotel with 157 rooms. All rooms are well appointed with balcony, bathroom en-suite and most rooms have picturesque country views and pool views. Room facilities include Air Conditioning, Central heating, Satellite TV, Radio, Ceiling Fan, Hair Drier, Direct Dialing Telephone,(the following at a charge) Safe, Frigo Bar and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Highlands Restaurant serves an exciting choice of Mediterranean cuisine. Our Outdoor Swimming pool is serviced from the Pool Bar while the Roof Top Terrace having a swim spa with bar facilities during the summer period. The Mondrian café serves snacks throughout the day. Live music, 6 times weekly, is held at D` Tate Lounge Bar. The Hotel is also equipped with 3 conference rooms, Indoor Pool, Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Massage Service, Internet Café, free business Internet access (Wi-Fi) and Games Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Malta
Bella Vista Qawra
Hotel Bella Vista Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.