We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People should remember our 4 star is not the same as abroad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Bella Vista Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Coast Road, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“People should remember our 4 star is not the same as abroad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Food fab, huge room cleaned every day, staff friendly all that spoilt it was people moaning not 4 star, what do they expect for what they paid? Those ones that moaned about the walk to town should have done their research we did and expected it and did they know about the back way, probably not because too busy moaning rather than asking for help, as for the notices there are two notice boards, one by reception and one by dining room, one has general hotel info and other is daily menu and entertainment, we are planning to return and only thing would change was room location as ours was right above the outdoor tv screen so no chance of an early night, not that we wanted one but you never know, thank you to all the staff who work all the hours god sends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for a very nice review.Iagree with you that some guests expect too much for what they pay and spend their holiday moaning about one thing or other.Your remarks about the friendliness of our staff is appreciated . Guests need not walk to town as we have a free shuttle bus that goes to the centre of Qawra / Bugibba at least 8 times a day.We thank you
for choosing Malta .note : you can request a particular room by emailing to reservations@bellavista.com.mt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    308
    272
    231
    195
See reviews for
201
625
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had read the mixed reviews but went with an open mind. I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised. Although our room was very small, it was clean and perfectly adequate. It was cleaned and the towels changer every day. Although we did try to get a larger room, the hotel was full so a move was not possible. We were staying on a bed and breakfast basis as we intended to eat at different places every night. However the hotel's restaurant was so good and very reasonably priced indeed, we ended up eating there for the 14 days of our stay. The staff were friendly, especially Michelle who made sure our bedroom was cleaned to a high standard. We would definitely stay here again, although would try to book a larger room well in advance.
If you are looking for a decent Maltese holiday on a budget, you can not do much better than Bella Vista.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for a nice review. We appreciate your remarks about the cleanliness of our hotel and the food.Michelle will be pleased with your review.Feel free to send an email to our reservations department if you prefer pool or front rooms next time you are coming.Thank you for choosing Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a great stay there. The manager was very nice and was very hard working. We work in the trade and don't understand why people have to be nasty in some of there comments. The hotel all inclusive staff very friendly and helpful. The manager works over 70 hours a week. To try and satisfy all people all of the time is impossible. I must admit it is the same standard as a three star hotel in Britain. I don't know any 3 star hotel that can produce food & drink for the price we paid and the outstanding service so please think out the box.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for sharing your experience at the BellaVista with Tripadvisor guests.
Wer appreciate your remarks about our friendliness .You come from the hospitality ndustry and probably know that it is not possible to please all guests all the time.Unfortunately some guests enjoy being very difficult to ask for compensation.Only yesterday I had a couple who complained their AC had not worked all week and asked to be compensated ( cash money).We went to their room and found the AC working perfectly.Probably they taught we will not check as they were departing within the next 12 hours.Guests should keep in mind what they paid, relax and enjoy their holiday.Thank you for choosing Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My advice, choose another hotel.I've worked in hotels for more than 25 years & have never encountered a general manager that was so disinterested in the quality of his Hotel.He had to be pointed out to me as he wore only a name badge with his first name & no title.He never returned my greetings or made any attempt to speak to me dispite my best efforts.The reception staff were extremely unhelpful & unfriendly to the point of rudeness.Every request had to be made 3/4 times to get a response.Waiting staff in bar were unsmiling & slow, 2 people waiting 2 be served is considered busy in this Hotel.Breakfast was unimagintive & very limited.If you don't eat dairy or pork , don't bother getting up.Entertainment at night is boring & loud.Alternative is to sit by a busy noisy road or by pool with constant sport on big screen, so much for allinclusive.I could go on & on but it was a very exspensive mistake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Ms. Becker, we thank you for your review.All guests are entitled to their opinion.Unfortunately sometimes we forget we are on holiday and pretend we are still the housekeeper were we work. It is not fair to compare our hotel to your place of work as the rates you charged are 5 times what you paid.The hotel had around 400 guests when you were here and the restaurant staff are many times accused of rushing off with the empty plates, now you say they are slow.All our staff wear a first name badgeI . i do not know who pointed the General Manager to you, but badges are worn by staff up to managers level.I am sure the managing director would have found the time to see you if you asked to see him.Our managers are here all day, you could have spoken to any of them.We apologise if nothing was up to your expectations.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After reading previous reviews on the hotel we really didnt know what to expect. I booked all inclusive in a superior room and got what we paid for. This room had two balconies and a good view. Food was good and snacks excellent as you just ordered off the menu. Entertainment every night and staff friendly. Only complaint was the air con wasnt working the first two nights of our stay but ok for the rest of the week.

Room Tip: Corner room had two balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for a nice review.Guests have different expectations , and it is not easy to please all guests all the time.We do our best to offer our guests value for the money paid.You had a room on the front , opposite the Salina Park. A really nice country view.Sorry about the AC.
We had a burst pipe in one of the shafts and it took our staff about 48 hours to get the equipment working again. Thank you for choosing Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have just come back from our all inclusive holiday in Malta.. This hotel is lovely. The food was of good quality, the rooms were cleaned daily and the staff were always willing to help. we had a problem with a broken light switch and it was fixed within an hour of reporting. The pool is small but there is a 2nd indoor pool, as well as a jacuzzi and plenty of room for sunbathing on the roof..

Room Tip: worth going for the superior room. Ours wasn't and our balcony was in the corner of the hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your feedback.It is nice when guests appreciate our efforts.We get very good feedback about our room cleaning and the friendliness of our staff.In summer guests prefer to spend time on the beach , altough you get quite a few who sit omn the roof sunbathing for hours.The weather has been beautiful, not too hot around 32 degrees .Thank you for choosing Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed first week July 2013, booked in by Chevron. Having read the reviews on here and with the very low price that I paid, I admit that I wasn't expecting much. On check in, did the usual form filling and was then told that we were in the suites up the road. Was then pleasently suprised to have been given a whole corner apartment meant for 4 but with only two of us staying. Great view over the valley from the balcony. Tea and coffee facilities were the usual, fridge freezer provided, microwave, however no crockery or cooking utensils, but didn't need them as we ate out lunchtimes. Aircon worked fine, remember to keep the balcony door closed. Had aproblem with this once, but was fixed within an hour of informing reception. Never tried the TV. Housekeeping was good, cleaned and towels replaced when required. Shower over the bath was a bit of a dribble but usable. Full size bath, took a while to fill, but OK. Public areas fine, small pool, which I never use was availiable. Half board food so breakfast and evening meals were fine, daily vegetarian option was fine. In the evenings a bottle of local wine was from 7.50 to 20 euros, the 7.50 perfectly drinkable, very reasonable. There were a lot of young language students in the hotel, but we only saw them at mealtimes and they were well behaved, no problems there. WiFi availiable at 75 cents for 4 hours, again not bad when some hotels charge £10 per day. Handy shop inside the hotel to buy soft drinks beer, toiletries etc. again, reasonably priced. Bus top outside, bus every 12 minutes to Valletta via Sliema.

Buggiba sqare with its bars and nightclubs about 15 minute walk.

Those reviewers who say this is not a four star hotel need to remember what they paid for it and how the star system works. the stars reflect what the facilities the hotel has, not the standard of those facilities, so a four star hotel must have a swimming pool, not how big the pool is. If you want those features, research first, and expect to pay more!

A couple of negatives: No mattress protectors and the quilt covers had seen better days, although they were freshly laundered. The entertainment in the bar was too loud, so those who wanted to watch the sport on TV in the same area couldn't hear. The payment card system used to buy drinks at mealtimes instead of charging to the room was a bit of a pain. Also it seemed that what ever wine we ordered from the list wasn't in stock although an alternative was offered. I don't know why but no tea or coffee was served in the restaurant after the evening meal, which I thought was penny pinching.

In all, we got what we paid for, and you can't complain about that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
dear guest, we thank you for your review.The suites are right opposite the park, with a country view. The rooms are quite big with an adjoining room with a fridge, microwave and a siiting area.
Wines are not expensive in the restaurant, you can get a Merlot or Chardonnay for € 11.00.The shop in the hotel sells a lot of essential things guests use everyday,like toothpaste, sun lotions, shampoos drinks newspapers and a hundred other things at normal shop prices and sometimes cheaper.The bus stop is right outside the hotel, and you can buy your ticket on the bus.We are pleased you had a good holiday and hope we can welcome you again to our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Address: Qawra Coast Road, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern newly built four star hotel with 157 rooms. All rooms are well appointed with balcony, bathroom en-suite and most rooms have picturesque country views and pool views. Room facilities include Air Conditioning, Central heating, Satellite TV, Radio, Ceiling Fan, Hair Drier, Direct Dialing Telephone,(the following at a charge) Safe, Frigo Bar and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Highlands Restaurant serves an exciting choice of Mediterranean cuisine. Our Outdoor Swimming pool is serviced from the Pool Bar while the Roof Top Terrace having a swim spa with bar facilities during the summer period. The Mondrian café serves snacks throughout the day. Live music, 6 times weekly, is held at D` Tate Lounge Bar. The Hotel is also equipped with 3 conference rooms, Indoor Pool, Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Massage Service, Internet Café, free business Internet access (Wi-Fi) and Games Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Malta
Bella Vista Qawra
Hotel Bella Vista Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.