We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty towers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bella Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Coast Road, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fawlty towers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile


Every point I will raise here is something which has been raised at the hotel and not dealt with effectively both in person and on their customer complaint form.

Our room a "superior" is far from this!! The fan was hanging from its wires, the balcony steps were eroding and dangerous, the bathroom was mouldy and the toilet seat very stained - not hygienic at all. The celling tiles by the door were falling down. The walls were very stained, appeared that coffee had been spilt and not cleaned. The curtains were hanging from the rail and the fridge was broken and again full if mould.

We reported these issues to reception to which we were met with resistance and told to go back to the room and wait for the head housekeeper. Once she arrived we again pointed out our concerns to which she answered "what is your problem? You get what you pay for" now 1) she doesn't know how much we pay 2) this is so rude! Regardless of the cost we are her customers and are paying for at least a safe room to stay in!

After a long discussion about the room and many sarcastic and insulting remarks she finally showed us an alternative room. Again this room is far from a "superior" room but had less maintenance issues so we moved.

Dinner - well what can I say, it's served from 17.45 until 20.00 however if you arrive any time after 18.30 you will find the staff clearing down to reset for breakfast and only scrapings left. I have allergies so kindly asked if there was an alternative dessert to be informed I could have ice cream but only on three days therefore the rest of the stay there was nothing I could have for dessert. I do not think its unreasonable to offer ice cream!!!!

Over next few days our room was swarmed with ants (not something I expect in a room where no food or beverage is served) so we kindly asked if someone could put down some powder and mop the floor. Two days later this issue is still ongoing and again we are faced with sarcasm and rudeness from the staff. Getting fed up of this we asked to speak to the manager - a lady with her bag and coat clearly on the way home came out and was far from interested in hearing us out and just gave us a key to a new room and told us to move - half way through a holiday the last thing anyone wants to do is move rooms!!! The first room she offered us was even smaller than our room and there was literally two steps for the balcony over looking the boiler. She then offered us another room which was the same as our room so begrudgingly we packed our bags and moved again!!!!! All we wanted was our room to be cleaned and some powder put down.

Other points-
1) no bacon with breakfast - what a joke! You can offer it from snack bar but not at breakfast!
2) there is a ridiculous amount of flies in the restaurant due to there being a bin and a clearing trolley in the restaurant this is unhygienic and not necessary!
3) in our third room the tv didn't work so we waited for ages for someone to come sort it out by replacing the ariel, again he seemed in a hurry and left the old ariel for us to dispose of and we had to tune in our own tv

I would not advise this hotel for anyone looking for a safe and relaxed holiday.

On a plus side Malta is beautiful and I would suggest this country for all types of holiday. There is a lot to see and experience across the country and the islands. And plenty of easy transport including unlimited bus day ticket for 2.60€.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We thank you for your review.We apologise if things were not perfect, I hope that the guests you deal with in the catering establishment you run are not as demanding and nothing is good enough.It is very easy to point fingers and tell half truths , other guests who stayed here during same week gave very different reviews. Glad you liked Malta and I wish you all the best .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    314
    267
    226
    177
See reviews for
184
588
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My first holiday as a family abroad I loved the hotel they are so lovely and helpfully I will be back next year with out a doubt as I didn't wont to leave is was so peace full and so friendly so I don't know why people were complain about carnt fort this hotel at all carnt ware to be back.xxxxxxxx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We thank for your short and sweet review.We are pleased we managed to to help make your first holiday abroad perfect.Some people enjoy complaining sometimes to get a free drink or maybe a bottle of wine , but thankfully these are the exception. Hope to have you back to our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel claims four star status but it does not supply iron, ironing board, tea making facilities, free wifi and other amenities we have come to expect of four star accommodation. All these facilities are available, of course, at an extra charge.
We had booked through Thomas Cook quite some time ago and we learned, infuriatingly, that many other guests had bought the holiday for a much more reasonable price. The room originally alllocated was gloomy and looked out into a closed area with little natural light. We were moved to a larger room with a half balcony and four single beds! Another move and a brighter room. Air con was noisy in all rooms. Rooms were well serviced. Food was basic and not too varied. Staff generally tried to be helpful but seemed consumed by the dreariness of the hotel. Night time entertainment was ok but if you didnt like it there was nowhere to escape to. The hotel is not convenient to any other amenities but there is a complimentary minibus to Bujibba. It was poor value for almost £800 for a couple.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay with us.We have contracts signed with all tour operators, wherein some facilities are shown as at an extra charge.These charges are shown as available at a small extra cost.We cannot comment on the amounts you , or other guests were charged.
One thing I can confirm,is the hotel did not get anything near the GBP 800.00 you have paid.
I can understand why you were furious ,but you cannot blame other guests who managed to get a better deal, or the hotel. We give value for the money we recieve , and we are never aware what the guests are charged.We apologise if things were not perfect, many others who paid a much more reasonable price found the hotel excellent value.Thank you for choosing Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have never ever wrote a review before but we felt we had to let other people know about this atrocious hotel. We have just arrived back on the 5th November and we had originally booked for 10 days but after 5 days of crap, we forked out an additional £500 and stayed at the Maratime in Melihea Bay which was the complete opposite of this hotel.
This hotel is supposed to be all inclusive but they stiff you for EVERYTHING, her is a list of chargeable items with photos to back up;
1. Your colour TV is RC but you have to pay €5 for it.
2. Tea & Coffee is available for a charge of €1.75 per day.
3. You can use their iron for €1.16 per day.
4. One choice of ice cream is available, all others have to be paid for.
5. WiFi is chargeable by the hour/day.
6. The AI drinks are only available until 11.00pm.
7. The snack bar food stops between 12.30 & 1.30pm, forcing you to eat in the restaurant.
8. The cakes in the snack bar are not AI only the home made Maltese cake of which there is one choice. The local drinks selection is extremely poor and of dubious quality. When you first check in they give the customary blue wristband but this serves no purpose whatsoever as they also issue you with a plastic room charge card which everything is charged to. So when you go to the bar and you want to get say a beer and a short each, this is not allowed as the swipe card will show that there are only two people staying in that room and the bar staff will only serve you two drinks, so you have to queue up again, sometimes you will wait up to 20 minutes on busy nights.
The same applies to the snack bar, you will not be able to order 3 snacks if there are two of you in the room. The restaurant is the same, you have to get swiped in and any drinks you order as well. As in the other poor reviews the food is adequate but the same every night, the orange juice, pineapple juice etc is made out of some powdered concoction, the fruit section consists of sliced apples only, nothing else. One day there was no bacon, when I asked why the staff said the manager didnt want to put it on! There where occasions when the Maltese population took over the restaurant for birthdays, weddings etc and we tourists were put in the Royal Room in the basement, if it was that Royal why couldnt the Maltese have it! Talking of the Royal take a look at the photo of a special visitor, lets see what the manager says about that!! The entertainment is great if you are over 70 and in to line dancing. The facilities are awful, nothing for the kids to do. The pool is surrounded on 3 sides by the hotel and a high wall on the 4th side, so no sun gets into the pool area at all, consequently the pool is freezing!! The roof terrace was a joke as well, the spa was broken as was the pool table, the bar was shut, the sunbed mats were ripped and dirty and if you wanted a nice refreshing hotel drink you had to go all the way down to the ground floor, great service!! The rooms are decrepit and dirty and like the other gent I am 6' and my feet hung over the bed, when I said that the bed was too small, the receptionist said that the beds were all the same size! The lifts were constantly breaking down! This hotel is nowhere near 4 star, the hotel manager must be in bed with someone from the Maltese Tourist Board, it is lucky if it gets a 3. One guest described it like a prison and I totally agree. The hotel manager has got absolutley no idea how to look after tourists, all he is interested in is how much he can rip you off and looking after his local Maltese populace. When you complain he just says, well go somewhere else, luckily enough we did. This was our first timeto Malta and if it hadnt of been for the Martim Hotel it would have been the last. Thats it, up to you now, DECISION TIME LOL

Room Tip: Take some cleaning materials with you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I have never experienced such negative attitude in all my life. Now for your points.
1. You do not pay for the TV but there is a refundable deposit on the remote
2. and 23.Tea and coffee / iron chargeable as per agreements with all operators and our website.
4. we serve different flavours of ice cream in the restaurant on MONDAYS, WEDNESDAYS & FRIDAYS.
5.wifi is at a small charge to cover costs.
.6. AI drinks 09.00 to 23.00 as per contracts with all tour operators.
7.WE serve a hot lunch from 12.30 to 13.30 what is wrong with that.
8. cakes prepared by our own staff are served to AI GUESTS.We sell other pastries to HB, BB guests and outsiders who come in for coffee.
We had to introduce the wrist band and control of drinks because a lot of guests abused the system and were giving drinks to other non AI guests.The hotel needs to control what is consumed by AI and what is sold .Bacon is served on certain days and it is a lie to say that the manager didn't want it on.The Maltese are welcome customers like all the rest and they help to keep the hotel going in the winteer months when guests pay less than EUR 10.00 per day HB. this not even cover FOOD & wages The roof terrace bar and ameneties are seasonal till end of summer and they are put down because of wind and bad weather.We are pleased you enjoyed the rest of your holiday, but please it is not nice when you insult the Maltese or any of our staff like you have with your sick remarks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A man asks an attractive woman, "Will you spend the night with me for 1000 Bucks?" She answers, "Maybe". So the man encouraged by her response asks again, "Then will you spend the night with me for 10 Bucks?" She says, "Exactly what kind of women do you take me for?" He answers, "We've already established that fact, now we're just haggling over price."

So after reading mixed but mostly positive reviews, we went ahead and booked a 7 Night All Inclusive stay, (22nd - 29th October) here at the Bella Vista Hotel and for the price paid we were happy enough. However there was a wide variation between the costs of the same deal dependent on through and where the Hotel was booked. We'd definitely paid a lower price compared to the amount some others had paid. It cost us £160 per person in a superior room, (3rd floor facing the pool area) and we had pre-requested a double bed. The relative small increase in room price over a standard room was well worth it for us in terms of extra room size, balcony view and the bed was arranged as a double. Towels were changed daily with the room cleaned spotlessly every time. Extra pillows and blankets were in the wardrobe in case it ever got cold, (but it never did get cold enough to use them) and during most nights we slept with the ceiling fan set on medium. Everything worked perfectly both in the room and in the en-suite bathroom.

During our stay, guests who we heard complaining about rooms didn't have superior rooms and hadn't requested beds suitably arranged for their needs, but for every guest who complained about their room, the Hotel Staff gave them an alternative room which suited their requirements. However if you don't want to pay extra for a superior room and then are unhappy with what you get, your best bet is to tell the Hotel Staff and request another room.

How guests can really feel hard done by in the Bella Vista Hotel is beyond our comprehension for the price.

The quality and standard of the meals provided is excellent and always well presented, but there are some factors regarding food that must be noted. Breakfast is always the same including the standard continental variety of bread, jam, sliced cheese, ham, yoghurt, tea, coffee, fruit juice, in addition to cereals plus full cooked option of boiled egg, fried egg, sausage, bacon, fried bread and baked beans. It would have been nice if some fruit such as fig, prune, melon and other savouries such as tomato, mushroom, potato etc, were occasionally added for variety. When it comes to lunch and dinner times, provided you’re an ardent carnivore then you can fill your boots with the variety of different cooked meat, fish and other meaty savouries on offer. Most pasta dishes have tuna or other seafood added, and roast potato are cooked Maltese style with bacon. Any vegetarians on the other hand will be seriously lacking sources of protein, and although a vegetarian option is always available at every meal time it normally contains milk, butter, eggs or cheese. This basically means no pulse or nut based vegan alternative. The only suitable alternative for a vegan diet is salad or pasta minus the non-vegetarian content and the only beans we ever saw available were butter beans. However if you do have a specific dietary requirement the restaurant staff will try their uttermost to ensure you at least get something to eat.

We found all the Hotel Staff to be friendly and helpful but although the Bella Vista Hotel attracts plenty of international visitors, the bar and evening night life is very British oriented. Most Europeans avoid the hotel evening entertainment like the plague and with very good reason too, unless they enjoy what basically amounts to a Northern English Workman’s club, not that there’s anything wrong with this behaviour of course, just that it’s a monoculture which involves much drinking and very loud singing of old songs. However it’s possible to avoid the bar areas completely and still enjoy conversation over a drink.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a superior room unless your content with just somewhere to sleep and idolise Scroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for a lovely review.It gives us great pleasure when guests appreciate our efforts.
We cannot control what the agents charge the guests, altough some agents might have better deals because of the number of bookings they produce.You paid only GBP 160.00 EACH in a superiour roomon Allinclusive basis, a lot cheaper than what the guest in the previous review paid.This confirms our AI is cheaper than most hotels in our area.We always offer an alternative room to guests requesting a room change.We thank you for your remarks about our food and our staff. Thanks again for showing our good points and also for telling us were we can improve,
Thank you for choosing Malta, hope to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

For the price this is a very good hotel, all services were great, helpful staff, breakfasts very good, not as far from Bugibba square as most people think, the swimming pool area is not so good however, as it is very small and the sun is only in a small part of it in the afternoons

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for sharing with Tripadvisor guests your nice experience with usGlad you liked our services and the friendliness of our staff. see you again.Thank you for choosing Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is very nice and pleasant, but is built on a main road. The traffic never stops from morning till night, even carrying on until the early hours. The windows at the front of the hotel don't stop the noise, and ear plugs don't help.
There is a fifteen minute walk to the nearest bars on Tourist Street, and a twenty minute walk to Buggibba square......if you know the shortcut. The staff are very helpful and polite.
The pool is tiny, and resembles a toddlers pool, plus it only gets the sun for a few hours.
The food is well cooked, but is of limited choice. The bacon at breakfast was on every other day. The sweet consisted of cake and jelly, and icecream was available on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, although they don't tell you unless you ask for it.

Room Tip: You must get a room at the back of the hotel, or you won't sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
thank you for your feedback.Nearly all hotels in Qawra & Bugibba area are built on busy roads,
and so are at least 70% of all hotels in Malta. We appreciate your remarks about our friendly staff
and the food. We have a dinner menu in reception area and by the restaurant door weere guest can check what is available even when ice cream is served.Thank you for choosing Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Address: Qawra Coast Road, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern newly built four star hotel with 157 rooms. All rooms are well appointed with balcony, bathroom en-suite and most rooms have picturesque country views and pool views. Room facilities include Air Conditioning, Central heating, Satellite TV, Radio, Ceiling Fan, Hair Drier, Direct Dialing Telephone,(the following at a charge) Safe, Frigo Bar and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Highlands Restaurant serves an exciting choice of Mediterranean cuisine. Our Outdoor Swimming pool is serviced from the Pool Bar while the Roof Top Terrace having a swim spa with bar facilities during the summer period. The Mondrian café serves snacks throughout the day. Live music, 6 times weekly, is held at D` Tate Lounge Bar. The Hotel is also equipped with 3 conference rooms, Indoor Pool, Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Massage Service, Internet Café, free business Internet access (Wi-Fi) and Games Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Malta
Bella Vista Qawra
Hotel Bella Vista Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.