We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value For Money!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Bella Vista Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Coast Road, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Value For Money!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

There has been quite a few reviews done on this hotel, swinging from poor to very good.
I was not sure about staying here after reading some of the reviews but my wife & I enjoyed our stay. (20-27 March) Room 321. This hotel can be classified by the title I have used as I paid £22 per night for B & B (For both of us) and how could you beat that...The hotel was clean, the staff I had no problem with and the breakfast fare was fine to start your day and also the charges in their shop and bar were very well priced..
Some of the complaints on this hotel about its star status are frankly unfair as the price is amazing value. If you decide to stay Full board or Inclusive, well in my experience most places will become repetitive.
Some complaints are valid, Noise from cockerels or dogs are annoying if you stay in the hotel with a pool facing room (I Spoke to other guests). We had a country facing room and slept really well on comfortable beds. This was our 4th visit to Malta and to me This hotel/area is not very good for first time visitors unless you are happy to bus everywhere. Buses on Malta are first class and at 12 Euro for a weekly ticket, inexpensive. I too could have a couple of minor complaints about the Bella Vista, but I look at what I paid and it would be petty to list them.
Facilities at the hotel are average, very small indoor & outdoor pools, but a big roof sun terrace with beautiful views. Entertainment what you would expect for this price.. We did not bother with it..
Would I stay at this hotel again.. No, but that is to do about the area of Buggiba, it has very little going for it and would not be my choice.
Final points, the park facing the hotel is wonderful and has a cafe/pizza restaurant which is inexpensive and very nice food.

Room Tip: Try to get a country facing room, it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    308
    272
    231
    195
See reviews for
201
625
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

meals were very poor, choice of food very poor, accomodation can only be described as looking over "a lift shaft" with no natural lighting and no views of anything but other rooms 12 feet away. Staff were abrupt, badly trained With "we have only just started" being their main excuse. My wife developed severe gastro enteritis and to help contain the infection we wanted disinfectant and or bleach for the bathroom. They refused but promised to send someone to clean the room but no-one came

Room Tip: Ask for a room that are not over the "lift shaft" I am not sure what they would call it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.We have no record of you asking for a room change, as normally
guests who are not happy in a room ask for a change.We apologise if you think one of our staff was abrupt .Both our front office staff have been with us a few weeks and it is not always possible for them to answer all the questions, but they always refer to the managers on duty.
You asked for bleach , I do not think it is safe to give guests bleach in the room. Your room was treated with disinfectant by our housekeeping department after you reported your problem.
Thank you for choosing Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We recently stayed in Bella Vistas' suites.We were very pleased with our accomodation.The hotel was very nice,clean,and the staff were very polite.The food was very good (we stayed half board),so we cannot comment on lunch.
There were shuttle buses to Qawra and Buggiba which were very usefull.
We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
We thank you for your feedback.Your remarks about our hotel and the staff are appreciated.
We are glad you liked the food, we do our best to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and we appreciate when guests tell us and other future customers about their stay with us.
Thank you for choosing Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnlough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We almost never go all inclusive on the basis that they are almost always disappointing, but in this instance we were so very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was wonderfully clean and the staff did everything that could reasonably be expected to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I am convalescing after a long illness and the quiet and relaxed atmosphere of hotel was exactly what the doctor ordered. The food and drinks were above standard in comparison to other such places and we were always impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and the hard work of the staff.

Thank you very much for a wonderful holiday. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for a lovely review. Guests on allinclusive are allowed breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks from 10.00 to 15.00 hours, and unlimited drinks between 09.00 to 23.00 hours.We are pleased you taught our food and drink were above standard.All our staff are hard workers
and it is normal that they go all the way to make sure our guests are happy.Our housekeeper and her staff will be pleased with your remarks about the cleanliness of the hotel.We thank you for choosing Malta and hope your health will improve every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and have to say we were pleasantly surprised. The reviews we had read before we left had left us feeling very apprehensive. However having stayed for a week we feel the critisisms have been unfairly harsh. No it is not equivalent to a british 4* more a 3* but neither does it charge 4*prices. we found the staff friendly and helpful.choice of breakfast was bread toast, cereal ,hams.cheese and full english.Good value 3 course evening meals. The rooms were basic but clean and towels changed daily if required.We enjoyed pleasant walks in small park opposite and only 10 mins walk to Bugibba if the short cut is used.All in all had a pleasant week. CM

Room Tip: ask if you need double bed. Front of hotel have views over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
We thank you for finding time to tell us about your stay with us.We are glad you think some of the reviews have been unfairly harsh.It is nice when guests keep in mind what they are paying to stay in hotels in Malta before compairing to British standards.We all try to give value for the money our guests pay altough it is sometimes very difficult to please everyone.The public park
opposite the hotel is a beautiful place to relax and read a book.We thank you for sharing with us
the good time you spent in Malta and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

March 2012
Checked in and were told we were in the Bella Vista Suites. These were in a block along the road. I had to ask for someone to show us where to go.
A receptionist took us, never offered to carry a bag, he just unlocked the first door and left us to find the lift and room.
The room ( sorry suite) consisted of a bathroom, dining room and bedroom. Four single beds, one table and four plastic canteen chairs. A fridge, microwave and sink…but no kettle, cups, plates or cutlery. I asked for a kettle and was told it would be 1euro 50cents per day to hire.

The sheets were of a pale grey colour due to the fact that they were so old, looked as if they hadn’t been ironed let alone washed.

Breakfast was to be taken in the hotel. Juice that watered down all flavours were the same and cereals of a quality that bore no resemblance to any make that I have ever eaten. Bacon that had that much fat and bone it could not be eaten. Sausages the size of a little finger and solid fried eggs. Lumps of fried bread more like dog biscuits Breakfast was the same each day but minus the bacon on four days out of seven and grey scrambled eggs that bounced one day.
It was very cold and the room had no heating. I rang reception and told them we were cold. We were told to use the air con and switch it to heat. This we did but still no heat. Rang reception again and they said they would look into it. No change by evening.
My husband was so cold he had three T shirts, a fleece and jacket on and got into bed to keep warm.
The cleaner wore a fleece when cleaning the rooms.
Still cold and told it was our fault for not using the air con correctly. Turned air con to heat but again nothing improved.
I complained again and told the receptionist that if they didn’t do something I was going to sit in reception with blankets wrapped round and complain to every one who came through the doors. A man arrived with a heater.
Next day no electric in the room. Neither did next door. Was told it was our heater that had caused it and so they took the heater away. The man next door had been to bed in his coat. The electricity went off again in our two rooms
The man who came told us that the block was new and so the bricks hadn’t had time to warm up…all lies…. judging by the state of the bathroom tiles the building had been up for some time.
Not once did the manager come to the block or ask if we were alright.
Rang reception again to say we had no heat. She said she would tell the manager…no one came no one rang back.

Escaped on Sat 10th.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

In short, the hotel made a mistake on our time of arrival and date and so a room was not available for us when we arrived (departure date and time was also wrong) and the result was that they charged us for an extra night, even though we had written proof of our booking, times of arrival etc. When we asked to speak to the manager , he said in perfect English, "they have to pay extra" and walked off, leaving us with the receptionist to sort it out. The holiday rep was useless, no help at all, and the travel company just the same. a year from when we first booked it we are still waiting for some money back. They have only just offered us £69, the price of a ruined holiday.

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
we thank you for your review.I suggest you email our reservations dept. on
reservations@bellavista.com.mt , and they can check and give you details of the booking recieved on your behalf.The receptionist probably explained to the manager about your problem
and because we only get paid according to the booking by the tour operator you needed to pay for the extra night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Address: Qawra Coast Road, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 1908, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern newly built four star hotel with 157 rooms. All rooms are well appointed with balcony, bathroom en-suite and most rooms have picturesque country views and pool views. Room facilities include Air Conditioning, Central heating, Satellite TV, Radio, Ceiling Fan, Hair Drier, Direct Dialing Telephone,(the following at a charge) Safe, Frigo Bar and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Highlands Restaurant serves an exciting choice of Mediterranean cuisine. Our Outdoor Swimming pool is serviced from the Pool Bar while the Roof Top Terrace having a swim spa with bar facilities during the summer period. The Mondrian café serves snacks throughout the day. Live music, 6 times weekly, is held at D` Tate Lounge Bar. The Hotel is also equipped with 3 conference rooms, Indoor Pool, Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Massage Service, Internet Café, free business Internet access (Wi-Fi) and Games Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Malta
Bella Vista Qawra
Hotel Bella Vista Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.