We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santana to your Saves list
Hotel Santana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not 4 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

By no means could this hotel be classed as 4 star, it is more the standard of an average standard 3 star. The accommodation, although clean, is very tired, there was supposed to be tea / coffee making facilities in the room but this had to be asked for, the air conditioning was very noisy and even though this was October it was very hot and was needed. There was a ceiling fan but this was also very noisy. The food was terrible, buffet style, very limited choice, tasteless and on occasions dried up. Luckily the hotel is near to a number of very good bars and restaurants where the food is excellent and reasonably priced. We have stayed in 4 star hotels in Malta on previous occasions and this hotel did not meet their standards. No pool towels, pool bar was closed, main bar limited on choice of drinks, i.e. Only one make of gin, vodka etc. However, the hotel Staff were very friendly and helpful. We chose this hotel because of it's situation but would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Suites are spacious but still in desperate need of upgrading. The kitchen facilities come in handy f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear JHV4654,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I regret to note that in certain areas you experienced disappointment with our hotel. I take this oppotunity to apologize for any inconvenience. In the meantime I assure you that these comments will be shared with the relevant managers in view of improving our product and services.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    289
    225
    87
    59
See reviews for
139
417
57
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed 4 days in September. Having stayed in a standard room a few times before pre 2009, I thought it would be nice to upgrade to a Suite. I felt that this was a waste of money and was disappointing.

On arrival at early hours of the morning - desperately thirsty. Asked reception where I could get water, young man said "No-where really. Our hotel cafe is closed. You could try a bar outside" - this is not good - I was a single traveller and didn't really want to be walking the streets looking for water early hours of the morning. I informed reception on my departure that they should have water in the rooms on arrival, she said she will take this on board.

The room needs updating, a lot of wear and tear (I believe some rooms have already been refurbished). My cleaner cleaned and changed towels everyday, she was very nice. My fridge was full of water on arrival - this was dealt with straight away. The aircon didn't work very well and only slightly cooled a certain part of the room making it uncomfortable at most times. Sometimes there was a sewage smell that only lasted for a few moments. Breakfast was okay, not much fruit (funny tasting melon and oranges). There was an array of breads, cereals, cooked foods. Staff are friendly and nice. The pool area was my favourite part of the hotel - never full and always kept clean. The location of the hotel is geat. You are next door to the bus terminal which takes you all over the island.

I'm not sure if I would stay here again, unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear AngelLondon_UK,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. Your review will be shared with the management team in view of improving our product and services.
In the meantime I apologise for any disappointment you have experienced and sincerly hope that you will return to our hotel in future. In that case do please e-mail me so that I will take personal care of your booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week in September and had a very relaxing time. The breakfast was ok I was glad we hadn't booked half board. There are plenty of places to eat nearby and all at reasonable prices. The bus station is a short distance away from the hotel and this makes exploring the island so easy. Do not buy tickets for the hop on buses it will literally take you all day to get somewhere then you have a short amount of time to enjoy the area and you have to go and wait on the bus to take you back. We found it stressful and annoying so we gave our tour passes away in the end as it was so much easier to use the local buses.
The hotel staff were really nice Jonathan in reception was very approachable. The bar staff were really friendly and the bar food was good value and tasty. There is entertainment some evenings and this was nice.
There is a gym but the facilities are limited and the heat was unbearable so we weren't able to use.
Although the hotel is a little bit tired it is clean the pool areas in particular are well looked after and the views are lovely.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor room floor 3 perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear 40somethingBelfast,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your favourable comments. I do hope that you will soon be able to return to Malta and to our hotel. Do let me know if you need assistance with any future booking.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was our first stay at the Santana, as we normally stay elsewhere. The hotel is close to the bus park and only a short walk to the square, with plenty of bars and restaurants close by. We stayed half board, and the breakfasts were very good with an excellent choice, the evening meal was pretty standard, but the roasts were brilliant, especially the lamb. Our room was clean and tidy and the bathroom shower was quite powerful, which to us is very important. It was at the back of the hotel, with a view over a piece of waste ground and other apartments and with no direct sun on the balcony at all, but on the Friday evening, on the official opening of the aquarium, they had a spectacular firework display, and we had a front seat view from our balcony, which more than made up for it. The staff were friendly and helpful and were quick to sort out any issues. We did want to extend our room as our flight was not until the early hours and our taxi was not picking us up until midnight, but as they were busy, we were unable to. However, they did have a luggage room and showers we could use. As we didn't arrive until the early hours on a Sunday, we were given a free lunch on our last day to make up for missing the evening meal on the Saturday. I have never known any other hotel do that, so well done Santana, it was much appreciated. Our main gripe was that although there were plenty of areas to sunbathe on the 4 roof terraces, as the week progressed, we were having a struggle to find a sunbed that was not broken. All in all, we found that it is nowhere near as bad as some of the reviews, but there is room for some improvement.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front as these get the sun and a better view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Terry M.,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your favourable comments. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your recent visit to Malta and to our hotel and hope that you will son find the time to return. We are always available to assist you with future bookings.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Mond, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Not far from the beach, resturants & the center of st paul only a 5 min walk.
Two swiming pools, one indoor and one on the roof.
Breakfast was great & staff was helpfull
Needs to be a little cleaner, but it was manageble.
Bathroom was new and clean.
All & all nice place

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Doron 71,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor and for your comments.

We do hope that you will soon be able to return to Malta and to our hotel and promise you our availability to assist you with any future booking you may have for our hotel.

Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

just got back from the hotel santana and cannot understand some of these complaints this was our 4th year staying there (was i in a different hotel) we were on the fifth floor at the back of the hotel our view was of st pauls island commino and gozo air condition brill you can set it to what you need for comfort ours was on most the night ,we had a problem with our balcony door and with in 20mins of reporting it a man came up and repaired it ,breakfast was a good choice and always hot evening meals was a good variety catering for everyones needs and again always hot my husband walks with a stick and the staff could not of been more helpful ,pool bar service was good the only time you really had to wait was while the bar person was making snacks and that was not long ,snacks are excellent value in the pool bar and was always open all in all our stay at the santana was very good thats why we plan on returning. Sight seeing in malta get the local bus its only 2.60 euros per person for a day saver and the bus station is less than 5 mins from the hotel lots of shops to buy your shower gels and soaps from as the ones left in your room are only complimentary .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Winter 594,

I was so pleased to read your recent review of our hotel and note that youreally enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience, for your most favourable comments and for your recommendation.
I also note that you have been returning to Malta over the last few years and that this was your first visit to our hotel. I do hope you will soon return to Malta and that this time you will again choose to stay with us. Do let us know if we can assist you with your booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Having returned from 11 nights at this hotel on the 28th September I wonder if we have stayed in the same hotel as some of the moaning reviewers on this site. Please remember Malta is not the UK and their hotel grading system differs to ours.
This was our fifth visit to this part of Malta but the first time we have used this hotel which was verbally recommended to us by two different people from two different parts of the UK. Arriving in late at night we were informed by a member of the great reception team that because we were booked half board and had missed the evening meal we would be getting a complimentary lunch on our last day, which was great as our return flight was at 17.00 hours. Having half board holidays for nearly 20 years I have never encounter this before.
We had a standard room on the third floor facing the front, pleased with safe, fridge and tv. - no complaints. I had read on this site about lack of electrical sockets for chargers etc so we went prepared with our own multi socket. We had no problems sleeping even in our two single beds close together. Yes it was hot but we kept the ceiling fan on (we didn't go to Malta because it would be cold). Bathroom one word EXCELLENT best shower ever – clean towels everyday.
We made full use of the facilities roof top swimming pool was cold until you got use to it but what views whilst swimming. Plenty of sunbeds. Indoor swimming pool was warm and relaxing. Husband who is non swimmer enjoyed this.
We both had massage treatments with Esther which were well worth the money - a great deal cheaper than what you would pay in the UK.
Evening entertainment was on four nights of the week - different singers. No bingo - GREAT.
The food was good plenty of choice each evening and also good choice of continental or cooked breakfast even porridge, yes the orange juice was a cordial but it always is in the most hotel machines. The coffee was strong - but there again I only drink strong black coffee.
The hotel staff were wonderful.
Hotel Santana is conveniently placed for anyone who wants to use the local transport, hop on buses stop outside, local bus station less than five minutes walk.
We hired a car from Tony at Mirage Car Rentals - highly recommend them.
If you don't want to travel far the area of St Pauls, Buggbia and Qawra offer plenty to do and see. We visited the brand new Malta National Aquarium and the Classic Car Museum both five minutes walk from the hotel and enjoyed both.
Sometimes I think its only people who like to grumble write reviews the only grumble we have is our holiday was too short so next time we will be booking 14 nights at the Hotel Santana.

Room Tip: Take a multi socket with you if you have lots of chargers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Hotel Santana, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear ERF Hilditch,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Santana on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return to Malta and our hotel. Do let us know if we can be of assistance with your future booking.
In the meantime thanks again for your most favourable comments and your recommendation.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.