We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Pawl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent a week here from the 17th to the 24th September 2013. The Reception Area is very clean and bright and the Staff very welcoming. Our Room overlooked the Pool and entertainment area and in a sunny position on the Second Floor. The Rooms are cleaned daily with a fresh supply of Towels. We had a technical problem with the Fridge in the room, but this was dealt with promptly and it was good to be able to keep bottles of drink cool. The food was cooked to a very high standard with many choices to choose from to cater for all Nationalities. Meals are on a Half Board Basis, no Self Catering which some families may prefer if they have young children. It is only a short walk into Bugibba where there are many shops, Restaurants, Cafe's even a McDonalds!

We took advantage of the excursions by the Tour Operator and one of the Highlights for us was 'Malta by Night'. This is taken on an open top bus, and a Commentary of the Architecture and History of Malta is given by a Guide on the bus. We stopped off at Mdina and Valletta. In Valletta you also visit Malta5D an experience not to be missed!!!

A visit to the Mediterraneo Marine Park is a lovely day out and you can have the opportunity to swim with the Dolphins but book before you go. Just one more thing the Entertainment goes on till 11.30-12midnight so if you have young children this could be a problem.

Room Tip: Try and secure a Room above the Dining Area if the noise from the Entertainment Area may cause you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Margaret,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the San Pawl Hotel during your visit to Malta.

We are pleased to note that from your review you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and you were satisfied with the service, cleanliness and food.

We will certainly pass on your nice comments to our staff.

We do hope to see you again at the San Pawl Hotel should you re-visit Malta.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    206
    179
    104
    116
See reviews for
141
308
61
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Malta is a really nice place to visit loads to do and see,The hotel looks quite impressive on first sight esp when entering ,The rooms could do with updating but generally clean and we didn't spend much time in the room as so much to do. a nice pool overlooked by hotel rooms but entertainment every night till about 11-30 so if that's not your cup of tea you may want to see if you can move to the front overlooking the road. Food is a self service with plenty of choice no complaints on this at all. We can recommend the Hornblower cruise to the blue lagoon, really excellent staff on board very welcoming , we paid extra to go on the oki-ko-ki speed boat , well worth it was brilliant, The buses good value to can go everywhere on them , just be prepared as lots of people use the bus service and they do tend to squash people on but good value and you can add it to your experience of malta, overall good value and a thoroughly enjoyable holiday , we would certainly go again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the San Pawl Hotel on your recent visit to Malta.

It gives us great pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that the cleanliness and the food were both good.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again at the San Pawl Hotel.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I thought the hotel was very good, The staff were very helpful, the room were cleaned every day, The food was very good The hotel is walking distance to Bugibba. We had a great holiday, The only downfall was the lifts broke down a few times, and when your on the 5th floor its a long way up.

Room Tip: The 5th floor is quite, if the lifts are working
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the San Pawl Hotel during your stay in Malta.

We are very pleased that you found the hotel clean and the food very nice and more importantly that you had a wonderful holiday in Malta.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the San Pawl Hotel.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

gaynor holloway. people said do not go to malta glad we did not take their advice. we stayed from sept 6th to sept 20 half board. our room was on the first floor street view large balcony.aircon.ceiling fan,nice clean bathroom.comfy bed.room cleaned daily clean towels .maid was nice told us good bus routes .the breakfast was good plenty of choice.the evening meal was very good three main choices every night.always hot and tasty.the friday bbq is excellent three courses cooked good as much as you can eat,not to be missed. the pool area was cleaned daily plenty of comfy loungers. nice bar for drinks and lunch time tasty snacks .evening entertainment all the staff were friendly and enjoyed a chat and worked hard. the hotel could not have been any better for us. we had a wonderful holiday.we will be back next year same room .a big thankyou to all the staff at san pawl hotel .

Room Tip: corner suites are large sunny with large balcony and quiet room 1065 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Ms. Holloway,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the San Pawl Hotel during your recent visit to Malta.

We are pleased to note that you had a lovely stay with us and you found the hotel clean, staff and service very good and the food excellent.

We will pass on your lovely comments to all concerned.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We liked the location of this hotel as it was only a short walk to the front and also Bugibba square.
There are a couple of nice bars which also do fast food very nearby, for football fans right by the hotel is Chris's snack bar which has a big outdoor screen and serves good beers.
The room, balcony and bedding was all clean and maid came in every day to clean which is important as it was hot in the room with no air con, but the ceiling fan was great when combined with opening the balcony door.
Staff at reception were either very nice or very grumpy, but being polite to them helped resolve minor issues such as not getting towels replaced and getting local information. The one problem that I found difficult to overlook was a problem with the shower in the room which was so weak it was virtually useless. When I asked at reception if something could be done I was told "it is old shower what can we do"! Also as their was no extractor fan in there or window it was like a sauna as soon as you used hot water if the door was shut.
Breakfast was a buffet which was quite good and there were plenty of tables even when at its busiest.
What may be an issue to some guests is the evening entertainment which is very loud and goes on late, we never had problems sleeping though as we the days out in the sea air sent us to sleep quite easily.
The pool area was always clean as was the pool itself and the bar area was a pleasant place to have a drink before heading off. The take out Pizza at the hotel was highly rated by several guests.
They have recently spent a lot of money on the reception area, I think it would have been better spent on upgrading some of the very dated looking rooms to be honest. But all things considered for what we paid it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased that you found the hotel good value for money.

We value the comments regarding the couple of points you brought up regarding the reception service and the shower and would like to assure you that we will be looking into these to improve.

We hope to see you again at the San Pawl Hotel on your next visit to Malta.

Kind regards,
Carol Burgess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Having travelled to Malta for many years, we always wanted to stay in the San Pawl and we certainly did that, 3 times in one year now that should speaks volumes.

We stayed from 1st September to 15th September this year and had a fantastic time as we did last year. We stayed b & b, and the breakfast is nice, lots of choice for everyone and the food is well cooked. The coffee machine is amazing!

The rooms are basic but adequate for what you need, when travelling to Malta you have to go with an open mind, it's not like it is in England. The rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh towels which is great.

The pool area is cleaned everyday and there is always plenty of sun loungers for everyone. The salt pool is a delight to get into. You can purchase food at the pool bar at lunchtime, it's reasonably priced and very nice.

Evening entertainment is good and on a weekend the Maltese come along for the entertainment, sit with the locals and enjoy it, believe me, you will have a great time. I know they like there line dancing and so they should, they are great at it! The Maltese are lovely people, again have an open mind and you will really enjoy it.

Finally the credit of this hotel goes to the General Manager Carol and his staff. Any issues are sorted out straight away if any and the staff are very helpful and friendly from the bar staff, reception and dining room.

The San Pawl is a very good 3 star, try it and im sure you will like it, one of the best in the area.

Keep up the good work San Pawl and we will see you again in December for our 4th stay.

Kelly & Jason

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Kelly and Jason,

Thank you for posting this review regarding your recent stay at the San Pawl Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and staff met up to your expectations.

I will certainly pass you wonderful comments to all concerned and we look forward to seeing you again in December.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick-on-Suir, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I like this hotel, it has to be one of the best 3 star establishments I've stayed in, and cheaper than many others. The reception area is spacious, posh décor and the staff are friendly....nothing is too much trouble.
My room was spotlessly clean but too small and I could hear very bad karaoke most nights from a nearby pub. That's my only complaint. The dining area is bright and busy and the breakfast good....I've paid a lot more and had worse. Loved the outdoor pool area (indoor one not open until October) loads of sunbeds and definitely no need to be up at the crack of dawn to stake your claim with a towel. I had a single room so I cant speak for the other size rooms. As check-out time is 10am and my pickup not until7pm, I expected to be charged extra but there is a luggage room, showers and all use of other facilities at no extra cost. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: I would request a room overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Joan Carol,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review regarding your recent stay at the San Pawl Hotel.

I am very pleased that the services, food and the hotel was up to your expectations. The management and staff are committed to providing the best service to ensure that our clients enjoy their stay with us.

We hope to see you again at the San Pawl Hotel on your next visit to Malta.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Budget Places, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Pawl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.