We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San Pawl Hotel to your Saves list
San Pawl Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Returned from a fabulous holiday with friends yesterday 19th June, there were 5 of us and after reviews seen was worried what we would find, but it was great really good value for money, yes you get what you pay for, the room was basic but clean and linin and towels changed housekeeping staff helpful and would clean daily. Enjoyed the pool and relaxed on comfortable sunloungers and pool very clean and a good size. The food was also good and enjoyed the variety. I heared people look at the menu and moan, well if they want top class food then they should have put there hand in their pocket and gone to a 5 star hotel, as i say it was worth the money you pay you can't expect top class for what we paid £320 for a half board holiday flights etc, I would go back there and so would my friends, Malta great and i would say Don't believe all the negative views, a comfortable, clean Hotel no issues here, only thing it would have been niceto have a fridge, or a kettle, if you are going take a travelling Kettle,thats all, enjoy your trip if you are off there soon, regards Linda (Hastings)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    246
    215
    121
    139
See reviews for
179
362
70
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Good food, good room service, excellent prices in the heart of St. Paul's Bay.

Room Tip: second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Arrived back from Malta 15th June. First thought of our room was that it smelt of stale dirty water and the room was very small. Air Con didn't work, complained but nothing was done about it. Cant sleep with the balcony door open as it is always noisy. Staffs hospitality was one of the worse. Very unhelpful and miserable. Breakfast unappertising. Hotels star rating is 11 years out of date as it was last rated in 2001. One of our beds had bed bugs as woke up the next day covered in about 10 bites. Matress' are awful, every spring makes a noise as you turn over and one of the beds a spring was sticking out of the matress. Bed sheets do not fit the beds.
Hotel is classed as a leisure complex with the gym. The gym has 6 machines but only two of them work and the other one of these 2 is not safe The foot holder on the cross trainer is not fastened down. So whilst using it your foot slips off! Lift was not working for most of our holiday & on our last day someone got stuck in the lift. Staff didnt bother to put any out of order sign up to let anyone know.
Hotel entertainment was not the best and alot of locals tend to overtake the evenings around the pool area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just back from the beautiful Malta - Can I say the same for the San Pawl ?
Room - clean, plenty of space, good air con. However... rubbish balcony over looking a horrible road, room for only 2 chairs !! in a room for 4 !! We asked for a better view and we were told there wasnt another 4 bed room available !!
Outdoor pool - great. Nice baby pool too. Indoor pool - spacious and cool on a hot day.
Food - good choices and plenty of it. Had to buy your own drinks with the evening meal which we found odd.
Entertainment - Oh my, now that was an experience !! Every night, too loud (made us slightly thankful that we didnt overlook the the pool area - I might have drowned myself). Same boring songs by different singers. And 3 nights we were overtaken by the most miserable group of alien line dancers, that came in from somewhere!! If I hear Cotton eyed Joe ever again I will scream!!
Staff - nice and cheery, mostly helpful.
Too be honest, it was okay. Only a 3 star and you do get what you pay for.
Overall... A good, all round holiday, it is what you make of it. Would I go back to the San Pawl... 'fraid not - would pay the extra for a better hotel.

Room Tip: book a pool view room when you book. It'l still be noisy from the entertainment but would be bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Chose this hotel since it was reasonably priced! However, I now know why. Firstly one light wasnt working and nobody bothered to change the light bulb. Then we found out the air con wasnt working (it was 28 degrees that day). Having been there for 4 days, our room service lady never gave us new soap so had to buy our own! Then to top it off, upon return to the UK I noticed a rash on my leg which I mistook for insect bites.......later found out it was bed bugs!!! I would recommend against this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I visited Malta in 1979 and 1980 and thought that it would be nice to revisit. We were not aware of any bad reviews and went on travel agents recommendations!!! Really wished we'd looked at Trip Advisor. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by a friendly gentleman, who checked us in and pointed us in the direction of our room - sadly the greeting was the best bit! We entered the room to find dirt and dust on the floors and in the drawers, we daren't take our clothes from our suitcase! The floors clearly had never had a wet mop used on them.

The shower head was hanging off the wall and the balcony door would not lock, but after a handyman came and hit the lock with a hammer, we could then no longer access our balcony through this door. Fortunately we had another door but despite this we couldn't sit out on the balcony as the chairs were covered in dust and dirt. We did speak to a cleaner, who reluctantly bought the chairs inside and cleaned them. We had asked for a quiet room but after a couple of days listening to deliveries to the hotel opposite and the general flow of traffic, we asked to be moved. The room was much bigger and situated in a quieter part of the hotel, the only trouble was, it wasn't any cleaner! We did ask for the room floors to be cleaned, however this never happened.

We shall never be revisiting this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

After travelling to Malta over a 10 year period and staying in many hotels, I would say that this hotel was one of the best.We went from 27th May to 3rd June 2012. Like everyone, we went on trip advisor and looked at all the reviews and I would say, please don't go by the reviews because this hotel is perfect! If you want to go to the real Malta, then this is the hotel, the staff are amazing, and that's what makes the place. The maltese people are amazing, all they want is a bit of respect, like thank you or please and beleive me they will look after you if you respect them. Like one of the review says on here, people can be so rude to them and they still walk around smiling and most work 12 hour shifts so that really does say alot. We go back 2 - 3 times a year and it's not only for the sun its for the people too, along with feeling safe at night. When booking with Chevron we asked if we could have a pool view as it was our Wedding Anniversary and when we arrived, we got a pool view! We stayed in room 327, the room was very clean, with white sheets and clean towels, cleaned everyday and the cleaners were fantastic! Yes the rooms are basic and yes the shower is not as powerful as at home but your in Malta and if you have been before then you accept that water is skerse out there and your not going to get a power shower like you do at home and that is across the whole of Malta not just this hotel. The food was great with plenty of choice for breakfast and dinner. The dinning room is lovely and clean and the service is fantastic. If you don't like the food, there is plenty of places close by were you can eat and all are reasonably priced! Drinks in the hotel are cheap too, 2 house doubles of vodka with coke £5 euros! That's about £4 in sterling, you couldn't get that in the UK! If you think that's too expensive Jesters over the road from the hotel does the same drinks for about £3 euros and also if you don't want to go to bed after the hotel entertainment, Jesters are open until the last person goes to bed and again the people in there are fantastic! We would like to say a special thanks to the Bar Manager Alex who couldn't do enough for us, nothing was too much trouble, and his staff Jake and Chris who were amazing! The duty evening managers were fantastic too, if we ever needed anything there were always there to help. The pool is beautiful, plenty of space and sun loungers for everyone and if you fancied a bite to eat and a cold drink the pool bar was just steps away. The entertainment is not what you get in the UK and a little out dated in the week and it only really came alive on the weekend when the maltese people came to the hotel for there night out! Which was fantastic, and been on holiday is all about mixing with the people which makes Malta so special. Also to note they do Pizza's on a weekend which were lovely, all freshly made to order! Like I said we have stayed in Malta many times and travelled to other different parts of the world and in Malta we have stayed at the Qwara Palace, Topaz, Santa Maria, San Anton, Concorde and many more and this hotel by far is the best, we would say it is a 4 star not a 3 star, the staff really do make this hotel!!!

If the management are reading this reveiw, thank you for a wonderful stay and thank you to all the staff that made our Wedding Anniversary magical, and we look forward to seeing you all again on 2nd September!

Kelly & Jason

Room Tip: Pool View room Thid floor with lift service
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Pawl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.