We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not the hotels fault if the weather is bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Pawl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Its not the hotels fault if the weather is bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed here Feb 21to Feb 26 on a short break.Weather was cold and windy and has apparently been bad for some weeks and I think this is colouring some peoples judgement of the hotel.The Hotel is not geared up for cold weather because it doesnt happen very often.Normally a med coast hotel would not need central heating and consequently this hotel hasnt got it.The hotel was spotless when we visited,all areas very clean.Our room 212 was large ,overlooked the pool and had a heater in it,which warmed the room up ok.Bathroom was large and modern and room had tv,fridge and was furnished adequately.Towels changed every day.The indoor pool was clean,very warm ,and the gym looked well equipped.Prices in the bar were reasonable,but this being a big room was cold due to the weather.
Food in the dining room was plentiful and hot and tasty.Not cordon bleu cooking but ok.Choice of hot dishes each night,plus salads,soups,pastas and desserts.What more do people expect for the price they are paying here.Most people are paying around £17 per day half board.and I thought it was good value.Breakfast had the usual choice of breads and rolls,cold meats,cheeses,cereals,juices,eggs fried and scrambled,sausages,bacon,beans ,tomatoes.Some of the biggest moaners I heard there were the ones with the fullest plates.
The staff are friendly,whch must be pretty hard to keep up with some of the whingers there.
It is a good value basic ,clean .hotel with above average facilities.If you were paying £50 per day you would maybe expect more but for the money paid ,a very good hotel,give it a chance

Room Tip: not all rooms have balconies,larger balconies are on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    205
    177
    104
    116
See reviews for
141
306
61
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We knew it wasn't going to be a 5 star experience due to the very 'reasonable' price that we paid, but we did have expectations. For a start we expected that it would at least be decorated to a fair standard or at least decorated within the last 20 years!

To say it was tired and in need of updating would be far too kind, it needs a DIY SOS rescue! We looked around and as positive as we are we couldn't see where the 3 star rating came from.

We also chose a cold week in Malta, which wouldn't have been a problem if there had been any form of heating in the hotel! It really was like being in an igloo! I was desperately trying to convince myself it wasn't as bad as it appeared but it was a fruitless excercise.

We were at the end of a cooridor near the fire exit, which wouldn't of been hard to get out of as you could see daylight through it! There was a half inch gap around it!

Being half board we hoped that the food would at least give us something to be positive about, alas this wasn't to be the case. I'm not a fussy eater but as much as I tried I couldn't even convince myself that the majority of the food was edible let alone Mrs Me.

I could go on about the woes of this place but I am too disheartened to carry on. I can't even be positive about the hotel staff.

If you are thinking of stopping here, think again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belturbet, Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

read some reviews on this and was kinda scared to go, but was suprised when we got there. We were there Feb. 3-10, 2012 and I have to say, the only fault we could find was dinner. We tried it once and that was enough, meat over cooked, frozen veggie still cold. I run my own cleaning company and I could not find fault on the cleaning end of things, it passed my white glove treatment...and as my hubby says, that says alot! Rooms cleaned everyday, towels changed on a reg. basis. Stayed in room 320. Breakfast was kinda the same everyday, one day is sausages, next bacon. Great chinese right around the corner, cinema is a 5 min walk, €4.00 per person and the beach is 5-7 min walk. The Donut Factory on the main street is to die for!!!
The min wage on Malta is €4.00 an hour, personally, I think the staff were great for what they are working for, plus the fact that we went on a budget holiday, and I feel that we got what we paid for, it is not the Hilton and if that is what you are wanting, then book in at the Hilton.. For the price we paid, €400.00 for a week for 2, flights and B&B and transportation, I think we got a great deal, can't stay home for that. We did book the "hop-on, hop-off tours" we had a wonderful time on them and saw the whole Island and then over to Gozo. Let reception know you are on tour and they call and have bus pick you up at front door with in 15 min of call. Had to rent a kettle for a 10er, but you get that back when you leave. It was the coldest it had been in 40 years this week while we were there, 10-18 degrees. The hotel will give you a heater for your room if you ask for it, but the rooms are not equiped with heaters. We did not need one while we were here. We bought a bus pass for the city buses, you can go anywhere for €12.00 for 7 days, great deal since it cost €3.00 per person each way to get to Valetto. Tried out the massage, 1 hour for €20.00, wonderful!
There were alot of "regulars" there, retired folks that come over for 6 weeks at a time and have been coming for years, they were the best ones to find out where to go, eat and all the good info, better then any tour guide or book. A regular meal out for 2, that is dinner, dessert and a drink will cost about €20.00 alot of the pubs it is €1.20 a pint, hubby was in heaven over that one! mixed drinks, €2.00 each.
This was our first time to Malta, we had a great time and it is on our go back too list.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

we stayed in the hotel for a week 28.1.12 when we complained we were asked to leave. we were given a small heater but it was like living in a fridge and as jackie said i dont think the penquins would have the sense to go to the room the staff were wearing overcoates the food was the best thing going for this hotel the manager was no help when we conplained did not want to know. i was so cold it made me ill and they gave way and gave us a second heater. workman were workiing on the floor above started work about 7.30-7.45am
the staff in the main were helpful no heating in the public rooms other than a small oil filled heater the room was 40 x 30 meters as said a small oil heater.if we could have gone home we would have we paid and booked for 5 weeks our travel agent said we hade made ourselves homeless as the management had asked us to leave and easyjet were going to charge £250.00 one way office charge. please be careful

we paid for superior room all the

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

went to this hotel for first time over the new year and stayed 10 days, been in malta for holidays over a 25 year period but never stayed in st pauls. the hotel had some very of putting reveiws,so was a bit corncerened but it is a clean hotel,the rooms are clean the breakfast is good,the room is cleaned every day the towels are left the water is hot ,what more does anyone want?,,iwould deff stay there again and recomend it to friends,,

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Yes this is true..................everwhere in this hotel was extremely cold. We were in a superior room and the heating blew cold air (max 12 degrees).
We were given a portible heater.
All the soft furnishing including matteresses, pillows, sheets, bed spreads, blankets and towels all need renewing.....like yesturday! Oh yes coat hangers there were none!!
Check out the artificial flowers in the reception, full of dust.
Food was Ok.

Room Tip: Do not pay any extra for a superior room, heating does not work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

got a week cheap with easyjet holidays, hotel nice and clean but very cold, in the lobby area they had oil filled radiators, we asked for one in the room as the halogen one gave off light and no heat, cleaners were in room most days changing towels, you can use the indoor pool but u have to pay for jaccuzi, alot of cats around make a bit of a racket at nite,intertainment on at wkends alot of the locals come in to dance, great to watch,st pauls bay itself nothing much to do, you have to get a bus every day, daily bus ticket for 2euro 60, thats takes you to any where on the island get on and off when you want, turn right out of hotel and straight down to a busy street, this side takes you to valetta 41 bus, the same bus takes you to massarsoloxx market you change at bus station in valetta, worth seeing,mosta market on mon you get same bus, ten mins from st pauls bay, 12 bus to sliema, great shopping place all your english shops and maltese shops,we were room only so a few gud chineses not far from the hotel, dont eat in the one round the corner from hotel very poor,as you come out of hotel and turn right and right again straight down heading for the promanade theres a place to eat called the 23 steps, full english and lovely dinners very cheap,

Room Tip: pool view are better as sun gets theremost of the day, 2nd floor has very big balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Budget Places, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Pawl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.