We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Qawra Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Qawra Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Did the job!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Qawra Palace hotel for one week. We chose half board & had a sea view twin room.

This hotel is not 4 star, it's 3 star. I'm not saying this because I was unhappy with our stay I am just simply stating the facts.

The clientele in this hotel is slightly varied but the majority of the guests are elderly couples and groups. A few under 50 couples and families. Myself and my friend are both 21 and we were the youngest couple there without a doubt. If you are coming for a young, party and drinking holiday this hotel is not for you!

The rooms are fine, more than fine for the amount we paid (which included flights, transfers and half board). We upgraded the extra £70 to a sea view room which was lovely and had a spacious balcony. Beds and rooms were spotless and kept spotless each day we were there. Cleaning staff are polite and fantastic and as a young couple who did come back a few nights a bit too "jolly", sometimes our room was very messy but they were fabulous and kept it spotless each and every time.

The bathroom is small, yes but it does the job, hot water is plentiful and enough space for us to use it comfortably. One issue is the towels are extremely uncomfortable and hard, I blame my sunburn because I nearly ripped off half of my face one evening while drying my face.

The staff in this hotel vary from poor to very good. One of the night security men were amazing to us and even sat down at 3am when we returned and gave us a cup of tea. The little things helped! Some of the reception staff and security staff are rude. Simple as. I don't find it acceptable to feel as I have done something wrong & the need to apologise while making small requests. They made us feel quite uncomfortable.

As young guests, we were quite & well respected to the hotel & staff but we could defiantly feel a lack of service towards us and maybe that was due to our age.

Hotel food, breakfast is pleasant and more than fine. Usual affair of juices, cereals, baked items & hot items. Bacon isn't UK style as we are familiar with but bacon in most foreign places is the same and kinda is more similar to cooked ham slices. It did the job. The dinner we went too was horrendous, we are very non fussy eaters and found the food for dinner to be tasteless and simply very poor standard. We only ate once due to this so cannot comment on other nights. The seating arrangements in the dining area were weird. Each room is a certain zone and they can get very touchy (staff) if you sit in the wrong zone. Still confused on how it made a difference as nobody was really checking but hey ho, didn't bother us - always found a table quickly.

Entertainment was very similar each night, it was "ballroom" themed that week and somehow they combined Elvis and a very cheesy "butlins" type singer into one show. It was a laugh for us and we didn't mind but had we come in peak summer we wouldn't of been happy. I assume they cater to the majority and the other guests enjoyed it and danced away. The nightclub was open once on a Saturday and we really enjoyed that, was a great laugh. Most other nights we went out to the bars, parties etc.

The whole pool situation with beds and saving spaces is the same in most hotels. I don't get why people get so annoyed by it, it's the same everywhere and is extremely hard to monitor people who save beds. I get that larger groups want to be sat together so it didn't really bother us as we strolled down at midday and found a space to put down some chairs and sunbathe. Pool was cold but we enjoyed it.

Drink prices and room service prices are cheap compared to hotels you are usually familiar with! We had ordered 2 wraps and 2 drinks and it was way under 15 euros. The wraps were large and tasty, actually very nice and we preferred this to some of the lunch places we went in the square! Be aware that the dinner buffet closed at 8.45pm! Which is ridiculously early for a European country! I am used to eating at that time not finishing!

Alcohol wasn't as bad as other hotels and most UK pubs. 6 euros for a large cocktail with 4 different shots of booze, that can't be bad? It wasn't. We didn't order a lot of alcohol during our stay because we went out to local places near by!

The location is great, the square and nearby restaurants and shops can vary from 3/15 minute walk. It's easy and was pleasant to walk. Taxis charge 10 euros from the square to the hotel when in reality it's less than a mile drive away!

Aquarium is also 3/5 minute walk near by. Beaches aren't sandy. I believe sandy beaches are 15 minutes away but we never felt the need to visit them.

There are vending machines and 2 hotel shops that sell essentials, gifts and towels. Also a local shop next door the hotel cafe which exchange pounds, sell booze, snacks and cigarettes.

The hotel has a royal cafe as it is named. They served a good brew and for a large pot of tea for 3 people was 3 euros. It opened late and was nice to sit outside, people watching with a nearly british cup of tea. Staff were lovely in the cafe also.

Overall, this hotel is fine. It does the job. It's not luxury but it isn't hostel like either. It was pleasant. I wouldn't stay here again because of the food & age gap for us but for a relaxing holiday for an older couple/group this is fabulous.


  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    457
    372
    203
    147
See reviews for
391
620
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Mum and I stayed at Qawra Palace,Qawra,Malta for 2 Weeks from May 6th 2014.What a fantastic Hotel it is. really clean and excellent buffet style Breakfast and Evening meals.
We were on the 6th floor and had really interesting views from our balcony of Salina Bay and also watching People and Traffic going by.
The Weather the first week was really fantastic but a bit more breezier the 2nd week but still really good.
The staff at Qawra Palace Hotel were really friendly,expecially Malcolm and David in the Restaurant.
The Bus Terminus at Bugibba was about 15 minutes walk from the Hotel.we got the bus to Valletta 4 times from there as it was usally quite crowded by the time it got to near Qawra Palace
Hotel.we also did lots of walking in the area.
Mum and I have been to Malta 4 times now and would like to go back to Qawra Palace Hotel again some time in the future.Lovely island and lovely people.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room up high and with a sea view or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Firstly I have to laugh at the previous comment about the tikka masala. Yes indeed it was a large lump on chicken on a bed of couscous but whilst it looked odd it tasted nice. I think that's the problem with tourists, they expect their version of what's on offer however it's better to expect the unexpected when abroad and react with humour. The staff that appear surly really are not, for example Malcolm Cini in the dining area - with little effort on my part, he was smiling and charming and is really very witty. It's human nature that you can't walk around with a permanent grin on the hours they work.

The food isn't 4 star per se but I guarantee there is always something reasonable to eat although I agree that seating can be a problem at busy times.

The rooms are fine and whilst the bathroom is small, how much time does one really need to spend in it.

I read a complaint that the Maltese took over the ballroom at weekends. I wouldn't agree in all fairness. Yes there were many Maltese there but they are friendly, charming and more than happy to dance and laugh with us tourists. I didn't see them getting any preferential treatment. I like the idea of mingling with the natives as that's part of the experience.

The rooms were so clean and the maids were fantastic, lovely ladies.

The idea of queuing outside the dining room for drinks - ok I found it silly for about 2 seconds. It is what it is and if you can accept that, it simply becomes part of your dining experience. The bar staff are quick and accurate and you don't wait very long.

Now the lifts are very contrary but yet again we turned this into humour. There's nothing funnier than meeting a man with a large bottle of water in the lift and finding him still in it ten minutes later. After all who's in a hurry when on holiday :)

I enjoyed my stay and would really say - make an effort with the staff, fellow guests and locals and you will have so much fun you'll hardly mind the odd niggle.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was brilliant, clean and food great. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Room especially the sea view twin rooms were worth the extra money recommend this hotel and resort to anyone. its ideal for the families or the elderly in fact all groups. the pool area was magical but the view of the bay was the best part of the holiday. A few minor points were sometimes lifts were out of order and at the busiest times of the day especially meal times it took ages to get a free lift. The restaurant was a bit of a collision centre. We sat on the wrong station or zone or our first night and the girl was extremely rude to myself and my friend Heather. we made sure we knew were to sit the next morning at breakfast. We were made feel welcome but the staff at some areas are extremely rude. Don't be put off it was a brilliant holiday and the temp in May were wonderful.

Room Tip: we were in room 602 brilliant clean great view and right next to the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

First time at the Qawra Palace.
Trip is best divided in to two: the first half being surrounded by pensioners (we were three 21 year-olds, not ideal) and the mad half-term few days when the pool was overtaken by children.
Can't fault the cleanliness of the hotel; the maid cleaned our room daily and all the hotel was spotless. Similarly, the amount of facilities available were good, if somewhat disappointing. There are two pools, the outdoor salt-water one and an indoor one, both cold. We went half-board. Breakfast was good, excellent variety, but dinner was disappointing, I don't think we had one decent meal in the whole week (although the desserts are good). This was made up for slightly by the adjoining café, but you have to pay extra for this. Have to say, we found most of the staff moody, if not a little rude.
Could not fault the area: there is an Aquarium nearby; the town of Bugibba is only 10 minutes walk away; the buses take you anywhere on the island
All-in-all, mixed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in the beginning of may. It was a cheap break so our expectations were not high, just as well really. The hotel does not warrant a 4* rating the beds were uncomfortable, we had to ask for a new mattress on one of the beds as every time he moved on it, he went one way and the springs went another. To be fair they did change the mattress to another slightly better one. With regards to the food, the menus sounded lovely and at first I thought the food was going to be good but when you got in the restaurant, the food bore no resemblance to the menu. One example was chicken tikka masala, we thought ooh a nice curry, no! It turned out to be a piece of chicken with a few spices on it on a bed of couscous (!) And a slighhty spicy gravy on the side. The drinks were awful, we had decided on arrival to go all-inclusive but ended up going out every nigght. Don't go if you. Want 4*

Room Tip: Were had a side room AAT road level and it was really noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was our first time at the Qwara Palace, will not stay there again. The hotel was very clean, and most of the staff were polite, whilst others definitely need a lesson in customer service. We used the all inclusive option, which was a waste of money, after two days of the lunches, they were so bad we didn't bother, a typical menu was meat loaf, soggy fish or baked dry pasta, with a very limited salad bar, the evening meals were not much better, yes, we could find something to eat, which is different to actually wanting to eat it. We also had to pay one euro a day each for the mattress for the sun bed, which you could not lay on without one, pay for the safe, etc so not really all inclusive. The pool bar food was burgers and chips, which we do not eat, a dry sandwich in a plastic pack, or a tuna roll, some selection!! The pool area starts to be cleared from around 4 o'clock, and closes at 5.30, the evening meal starts at 5.45 and finishes at 8.45. The management of this hotel need to start thinking of a more modern approach, and stop thinking that the number of mainly elderly people who return year after year, means they have got things right.

Our room was on the 8th floor with a sea view, which is a must have, it was very clean, as was the rest of the hotel, the biggest problem we had was the shower, never have we seen such a small shower head, you may have well showered under the tap!! The pool area was a nice place shame they start to hose it down when you are still at the bar at 5 o'clock, we ended up being hosed down as well.

It is a shame the management are not more forward thinking, they need to start catering for a younger group of guests. A few improvements this could be a better hotel.

Getting around on the buses is easy and great value, but you must go to the bus station just round the corner if you want a seat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qawra Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.