We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Qawra Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Qawra Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having read some earlier reviews I had my doubts about staying here but was completely wrong. The location of the Hotel is perfect, although no beach nearby, just on the other sideof the pool area is a concreted strip with sun beds and umberellas with a ladder for access to the sea which even at this time of year is still quite pleasant. We paid extra to ensure a sea view room which is definately worth it if you enjoy sitting out and watching the world go by, balconies in the courtyard at the back are small and you are looking out on other rooms. The sun rises at the front of the hotel and the view is really good, we didn't find the noise a problem as we were up late ourselves. The staff were friendly and helpfull especially at the bars. We were all inclusive which I thought was the best option, main meals were fine with good choice and there were different snacks available most of the day at the pool bar, burgers, sandwiches, ice cream etc. Some alcoholic beverages and mixers were named brands rather than local, the draft beer is Stella and not too bad. Overall for the cost of the holiday it was very good value. As things get quieter later in the season it is a good time for sightseeing, Malta has many interesting places to visit and I was quite suprised, it's history is amazing. Will definately be going back next year.

Room Tip: Definately book a sea view room preferably mid or high level. Balconies at the back in the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    457
    371
    203
    146
See reviews for
390
619
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent 7 days on a half board basis, really wish I hadn't. There is, as others have stated a wide variety of food, but trying to match the actual food with what is written on the 1 menu outside is a game in itself. The food was like being back at school, totally unappealing, bland, cold and if you were lucky cooked. One dinner was enough to put me off for the rest of the stay ate elsewhere. The Breakfast waiter (if thats what he was) was sullen, rude and more interested in talking to his friends. The orange juice (or water with a splash of cheap juice) machine needed cleaning and once opened it was disgusting full of manky crud. The 4 toasters hardly worked probably due to the amount of old crumbs and filth sitting in and on them. Definately not worth the risk to your health eating in here.

The rooms, are beyond grotty and unhygenic . The walls had holes in, broken floor tiles , 1 electrical socket in the entire room. Dirty marks on the walls, the curtains had dried blood on them as did the cover on the bed which also had other stains which I would not like to hazard a guess what they were.. The Bed was like sleeping on a concrete slab, it has a plastic cover on it like that which is used for incontenance, the things that were in the pillow cases were as flat as a pancake and as hard as nails, hardly pillows. The sheets were only changed on the day before I left, makes me wonder if the next person were going to have to sleep in used sheets. You maybe lucky and they leave you a towel. Not that I would have use them anyway took my own. The lighting is so poor in the room it made if difficult to read. You had to read as there is only one Engish TV channel thats BBC World News which repeats itself all day. If you have kids you have no chance of them watching TV unless they speak Italian.

The worst bathroom I have ever seen in my life. The floor was cracked and the cracks full of dirt. The toilet was badly stained and marked on the seat and the wall. The bath surround full of mould, dirt &, limescale. The shower curtain had seen better days. There was a 2 inch layer of dust on the light over the sink. The taps were filthy and so coated in limescale that big bits chipped of when the tap was on. The shower was grotty and again covered in dirt, mould & limescale. More interesting is the toilet roll situated over a disgusting filthy smelly, toilet brush. The paper hung down on top of the brush. Went and bought my own.

The balcony doors do not lock and the door to the room had no lock on the inside, felt very insecure. The state of the vents on the air conditoning unit were terrible, don't think they have seen a duster since Noah came over on his Ark.

The Entertainment in the Hotel was like something fom the 50's like the food bland and boring.

Would I stay here again, Not if you paid me.
Would I recommend this hotel to anyone. Not a Chance they would never speak to me again

Look elsewhere if going to Malta.

Room Tip: Don't bother to stay there find somehere better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Found the hotel staff very helpful. I went all inclusive and the food was very good indeed and lots of it. The drinks were named and good quality.
The rooms were spacious and modern with a good level of cleanliness. The pool area is lovely and spotless. Entertainment every night was very good.
This hotel is in a perfect position for travelling around the island as the bus station is 200 yards away. There is a good quality car rental service next door. I found this to be very reasonable the owner (Laurence) keeps his vehicles well serviced and parking is easy around hotel.
The town centre is at back of hotel but has no impact on noise levels. There are many well priced bars cheaper than Britain as well . Drinks from 1 euro. I will go back.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a good sea view but you need to book these in advance. The internal courtyard rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just returned from 7-day half board at Qawra Palace hotel and we really enjoyed it. I had read some other reviews after we booked and I must admit I had a few reservations............ all of which were totally unfounded!. Yes the room was a bit on the dark side (but we only slept there anyway), the lifts take a bit of planning and I would guess these would be more of a problem in the summer (we were on the 8th floor so it was a long way back up) and the entertainment was mediocre on some nights - BUT - the food was excellent with plenty to choose from at breakfast and in the evening, drinks are cheap, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, our room was cleaned daily, the hotel's location is fantastic - right on the sea front but close enough to town and the bus station - and the pool area was clean, tidy and had plenty of sun beds available. And as others have said, don't waste money on expensive tours, the buses are cheap and regular (although crowded on occasions) but we found it better to get on at the bus station rather than the stop outside the hotel. I have no idea what star rating I would give the hotel - but we got excellent value considering what we paid. If you want The Ritz, maybe you need to pay Ritz prices!!!!

Room Tip: If you don't like climbing stairs, I would suggest you get a room on a lower floor as the lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

this was the first time going to malta for me, we went for my mums birthday, my first impression was really nice hotel, we got a room on the 5th floor with sea view and pool view. Some people complained about the main road but you got use to the buses passing by. Really handy having the bus stop right outside the hotel, only over 2 euros return ticket.

i organised a birthday surprise for my mums birthday the staff were really helpful in organising the surprise a big thank you to (marion) who helped to arrange it for me.

i am a fussy eater but there was plenty to choice from, you couldnt say that they didnt cater for everyone.

the only thing about the hotel it is a bit out of the way, the entertainment was ok at night but i think malta is for a maturer age group. although i dragged my mum and aunty into the nightclub in the hotel i got bored with watching the foxtrot lol, the nightclub in the hotel was great 80 songs took me back lol

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed as a couple half board one week.I had requested a seaview room which i got on 8th floor.I do agree with those that stated it is more 3star than 4star.However I would certainly return to the hotel again. I am a very fussy eater and there was plenty of choice i think the buffet was adequate of course it would have been great to have even more choices but that could border on been greedy.The desserts were little cakes gateaux style ice cream fruit salad and natural yogort and at times mousse and water melon.

Breakfast was eggs boiled and fried beans bacon toast fruit loaf roast pots and small selection of cakes and fruit salad juices such as orange pineapple apple and tropical tea and coffee.
What i would say it that at times the plates and sections of the food do run out but be patient and in a few mins they do refill the food and bring the plates and the glasses.So the service may not always be first class but u can eat as much as you like and ive always had hot food oh there is a tiny selection of breakfast seriel and few different breads like crossiants and rolls on one occasion tasted stale but didnt have bread daily.
Over all found it to be a friendly place and guests were usually the older generation but that was fine.There is 2 shops downstairs by reception and quite reasonable you prob cant get cheaper else where that are well stocked>there is a hairdresser too and a massage service i did have 30 mins massage lovely lady was good cost 16 euro.

There were jacuzzi indoors but they felt too cool for me unfortunately. The hotel is in great position overlooking the sea do try for sea view room as others at back are not private and some of them you could jump from one balcony to another and they bit too close for comfort perhaps if you stayin with friends or family then you might not mind been so in close proximatey of every one.
The room we had was fine yes they do need updating but they are cleaned daily and towels changed everyday.The road below can be a little noisy at times so it good to be on a higher floor if you dont mind waiting a few mins for the lifts.Oh must mention there is air con in the room which is great.
Cannot comment on the evening entertainment as did not attend to any of it.
Do remember to carry your own kettle otherwise it aprox 3.70 perday. I carried by own and tea bags and coffee and im glad we did the plugs are same as in uk do take a multi plug very important. The tv has 2 or 3 english speaking channels bbc world news euro news and cant remember what else 10 euro deposit but get it back at end of stay. Safe in room aprox 11 euro.

If you want late check out it will be 25 euro which is most helpful. internet hire 1 hour 2 euro but you can carry on your mins you dont have to use it all same time.

There is a bus stop over road from hotel that takes you to various desinations and the air port and to valletta which is about 1 hour away by bus. It is ruffly 2.60 euro for day ticket and about 12 for full week where you can go on all the buses around malta but not valid for gozo. If you go gozo which is worth a visit ferry is 4.65 each return you pay on return and there is a cafe on board take about 30mins . On gozo got bus for aprox 2.60 for day ticket went to victoria lovley place.

Well hope this helps some one.

Room Tip: high floor must be seaview even side seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed seven nights on half board basis. The hotel has obviously been a beautiful one; but is a little bit aged now. All public areas are lovely; with lots of comfy sofas to sit on. Our room was fine; it was very clean and bed was comfortable. The shower was very old but itworked fine. The Staff were all fantastic, especially on reception. There is internet use available at a small cost. There was some delay on the lifts but this was due to the number of people all going for meals at the same time. We went a little later and had no real problem.
There was a very good window for meal times eg 7.30 to 10.30 for breakfast. Much better than in some places where you would have to get up early. Hot food at breakfast was good and there was aways fruit; some fresh and some tinned. Juices were not great. They were the synthetic type. Cereals were ok if on the cheap and cheerful side. There were plenty of choices of bread, rolls, pastries etc.
At dinner there was plenty of choice. Soup was always good. There was always a fish option, and there appeared to be be pork every night for some reason; but at least one other choice too. There was a local food night on thursday when the soup was fantastic, and the beef so popular it ran out . Desserts were mediocre. I would say the food was three star plus, not four star.
Overall, given the price we had paid; this was excellent value for money. We have usually paid more for B and B in the UK. The location is right on the sea front, and the pool is right beside the sea. Plenty of sun beds and chairs, and bar prices were excellent. I don't think it is right to charge for sun bed mattress use; though I believe this is not uncommon.
Just 10 minutes walk away up tourist street is the Bugiba bus station where you can get buses anywhere; often via Valetta. It only costs two euro 60 for a day ticket. We went all over the island using these. Service was good though be prepared for very crowded buses.

Room Tip: Can opt for a sea view, but I don't think it was worth 14 euros a night extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qawra Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.