We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Qawra Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Qawra Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Stafford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“An honest review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Myself, my wife and daughter stayed at the Qawra Palace for a week leading up to 1st May 2012. A holiday is what you make it and I can only say we had a really enjoyable time.

The hotel is generally clean and tidy and given the price paid for our holiday leaves little room for complaint. We did look at the reviews on tripadvisor before leaving home and the advice was helpful. I can endorse some of the comments made in other reviews some of which are reiterated here:

Booking: beware that when booking you will get a standard inside (courtyard) balcony room. These rooms look onto opposite and surrounding balcony rooms which impinges on privacy and limits the amount of sunshine you can expect to receive; perhaps none on lower levels. This however may suit some. If you want a sea view this is offered as an upgrade cost (for us 98 euros) but worth it in our experience. We stayed half board.

Service: the staff are generally pleaseant though one or two seemed to be downright unsociable. We visited the entertainment ballroom on the first night and when ordering drinks at the bar found the barman hard to engage in conversation. It was our first and last visit to the ballroom for the duration of the stay. Staff in the restaurant were efficient, friendly and helpful. Reception staff could smile a little more and a 'good morning' now and then wouldn't hurt; you will however be engaged in polite conversation from cleaning staff. Access to the hotels wifi is at a cost (see location below)

Rooms: the rooms are a little sparse but generally clean; don't go with high expectations. Take a travel kettle if you fancy a tea or coffee in the morning. Reception can provide a kettle, tea and coffee, but at a cost of 3.70 euros per day. We followed the advice of an earlier review. Not sure if all rooms have a safe but ours did (11 euros for the week for the key). The room had a flat screen tv with a selection of channels, a tv remote is available from reception for 10 euros, refunded when remote is returned. A small fridge is ample for needs. A hair dryer is provided.

Restaurant: the restaurant is generally well set out and geared for buffet service. Food choice is a little limited and caters for an elder clientel in my experience; nothing really to excite or complain about either. Juice,tea and coffee dispensed from machine and toasters unpredictable. Wines and beers to be be purchased at bar prior to entry but prices and quality pretty good. Don't expect the fine dining experience.

Sleep Quality: It can be noisy, we had a few youngters in the hotel banging doors in the early hours and traffic noise, late night revellers and music from nightspots along the way may disrupt your sleep. We did hear others complaining to reception. Probably more of a problem at height of season.

Location: the location is ideal for accessing all the main visitor attractions on the island, but then again given the size of the island, anywhere could be. St Paul's Bay is a 15-20 minute walk around the coast and Arriva buses can be hailed directly opposite the hotel at a cost of 2.60 euros for all areas day pass (can get a little crowded, but air conditioned). A couple of bars nearby have free wifi; take a left out of hotel along the road to Champions Cafe on seafront (5 mins). Take a right out of hotel along sea front to the Fuego Salsa Bar and turn left towards sea to Chaplins Bar; here you can get wifi access via a password. Great little friendly bar too.

Pool: the outdoor pool is ok but could be overcrowded in height of season I guess. It is sea water (treated) so be prepared. Smaller 1m depth pool for kids and splash pool. Pool surroundings are slippy when wet so not ideal for kids who want to run and play (not really child friendly to me). Indoor heated pools are better suited for families.

General: Malta is a great place to visit and the Qawra Palace is a good spot from which to grant the best of experiences. From an experienced traveller having stayed at the best and not so fantastic, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for upgrade to an 8th floor sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    457
    371
    203
    146
See reviews for
390
619
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Just returned from the Qawra Palace Hotel Malta.
I found the staff very friendly and helpfull,the room and the rest of the Hotel was clean.Guests are allowed to smoke in there rooms and it permiates though the air conditioning not nice for none smokers.
There are no day time activities in the hotel but in the evening it has live music Over all it was a good value Hotel but not quite four star, I hope to return next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Just come back home after spending a fantastic holiday at the Qawra Palace Hotel and I cannot fault it. Room was spacious and adequate with plenty of cupboards and drawers. Paying the extra for a sea view was worth the money. Very good value for money and when I return to Malta I will certainly book this hotel. Altho situated on a busy road, you don't have to leave the hotel if you don't want to as everything is to hand in the hotel including a gift shop which has very reasonable prices. Staff were very polite and always smiling. All in all a great hotel for the money..

Room Tip: Go for a sea view or side sea view if you can afford it. Worth the money. The higher the room the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I recently visited the island of Malta for the first time and found it to be a really fascinating island, steeped in history and many interesting places to visit. A day out to the island of Gozo by ferry is also a must. The Maltese are very kind and friendly people who are proud of their history dating way back to the 12th Century. In fact a week was not long enough and I intend to go back again next year to see even more of this lovely island. The Qawra Palace Hotel situated on the north/east side of the island can be highly recommended set on the coastline with good facilities. I booked with Chevron and for the month of April there was no single supplement, making it a very reasonable holiday for around £350. on a half-board basis.

Room Tip: For my first night I was givien a ground floor room which looked out on to a brick wall and was quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The Hotel:
This is a great all-round value hotel. The rooms are perhaps a little dated - and my wife thought the pillows lumpy, but we really couldn't find fault with anything else. The location is in the NW coast of Malta - which is more the "sun and sea" end, rather than the "historic / swish" part, nearer to the capital, Valletta. The food is fantastic! Huge amount of choice and quantity: for example, at breakfast, there was full Engish/bread/jam/porridge/fruit/tea/coffee/juice/rolls/etc, etc! In the evening there was about 5-6 main course and vegetarian options/salad bar/soup and 3-4 desserts - every day! There are 3 outdoor pools (-unheated/saltwater) and 1 indoors (heated - plus 2 jacuzzi)

The Island:
- Very few beaches in Malta are sandy - or even shingly: they are mostly rocky, due to the geology. If you are after a sandy beach, then a hotel near Golden Bay or one of the handful of others - see http://www.maltalinks.co.uk/sandy-beaches-malta.htm for details

- Virtually everything (-including shop names) are in english - and virtaully everyone speaks fluent English. Younger Maltese learn Maltese, English and Italian at school, so you shouldn't have a problem being understood!

- Qawra is pretty quiet - and seems more popular with mature clientelle. Bugibba (15 mins walk away) has a much busier nightlife scene - especially in summer. San Gilan (St Julian) and (I suspect) Sliema also seem to have more of a buzz about them

Getting About:
- Buses are frequent (-every 5-10 mins in peak times) and are geared more towards tourists than locals. Bugibba bus station is 15 mins walk (-down Trig Il Touristi) but the 12 (Valletta via the coast road), 31 (Valletta via Mosta) and X3 (Airport via Mdina/Rabat) stop outside the Qawra Palace. Note that buses follow a circular route - with the outward route differing often from the return route, so factor that in. Also note that they get VERY full and we found it difficult to get a seat, so if you have mobility problems, this may be a factor. It was 2.60 for a day ticket and 12 euros for a week ticket (per person) - very reasonable. Note: these are NOT valid on Gozo - just the main island

- I don't recommend hiring a car if you are faithearted: some rules differ from ours (-i.e. buses always have priority and can pull out in front of cars legimately) and city driving looks scary!

- Roads are VERY bumpy - in bus or car: we found it fun, but others might not

- To go to Gozo, get the 221 from Bugibba bus station to the ferry terminal at Cirkewwa. Ferries take about 20 mins to cross to the island and seem to go every 30 mins. At the other side, buy a daily bus pass for Gozo and head for Victoria/Citadel, where there are several attractions grouped together

Places to see:
- Neolithic: the caves at Ghar Dalem are interesting, but the megalithic temples at Hagar Qim/Minajdra, Tarxiem and Ggantija are the real star attractions - build from 5000BC onwards
- Roman: the Domus Romana villa and museum are superb
- Byzantine: the catacombs in Rabat
- Middle Ages: most of Valletta (-present capital) and Mdina (-old capital) are wonderfully preserved. Lots of old streets - with exhibits, coffee shops, etc!
- The Sunday market in the twee fishing village of Marsaxlokk
- Valletta harbour cruise

Cost:
- Generally comparable to the UK (-but in Euros not pounds). Capuccinos cost generally around 1.80 euros - even in prime tourist areas: contrast this to 5.50 several years ago in Paris! A huge slab of cake was about 3.50 and a main course might be around 7 euros

- Ask for a pass (family ticket = 65 euros) to the Malta Heritage sites: this gets you in to all the major museums and historic sites at a fraction of the price: http://www.heritagemalta.org/visiting/visiting.html : this is amazing value - and valid for a month!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non-smoking room as it is not a no-smoking hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I found the rooms spacious and comfortable with plenty of drawers, shelves and wardrobe space. The rooms were cleaned every day and the towels changed without any disturbance to the resident and the cleaners always had a smile and a '' good morning'' for us. I can't comment on the entertainment as we were away exploring the islands most days but the kiddies seemed to be enjoying themselves in the pool, jacuzzi,games room and the PCs. With the bus terminal just 5 minutes away and all the shops, cafes, bars etc, what more could one want. There are morons who complain about dark rooms and bad views in the interior rooms, well here's a solution, PAY MORE AND GET A SEA VIEW. Some idiot complained about ONLY having a choice of 3 mains at dinner, for the price they paid, what do they want, a top chef serving them in their room [ get a life ], and as for the 3 chefs not being bothered to tell them whats on the menu, if they put on their glasses I think they would find it was written above each dish. Our waiter/waitress were very nice without being intrusive and our tip was appreciated at the end of our stay, and some thicko mentioned 150Euro for water, ridiculous. Yes the juice was watery but there were oranges,apples, and Kiwi fruit to supplement this. The breakfast was very good, fried/scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, tomatoes and a selection of breads and that was the second course, There was porridge, cereal, toast butter, jam, yogurt and salad with a variety of meats and lettuce and courgettes plus other things I never tried and some idiot is complaining about no onion or cucumber [ Puuuleeease ]. The reception were very helpful booking our trips and and a sea view room on our last day and withgeneral local knowledge. All in all a very enjoyable stay and may I suggest to these whingers, save up for a few years and you will get the holiday you think you deserve. BTW we were there from 7th to 17th April 2012. Almost forgot to say, visited the masseur and had a very relaxing hour for only 26 Euro, where else would you get that.

Room Tip: I think this is a preference choice, if you want a sea view, pay more but endure the noise, or pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at the Qawra Palace hotel for the second time when we visited in April 2012, as we find it very comfortable and the food has definitely improved since our first visit 5 years ago.
The rooms are clean and comfortable although I suggest a sea view room when the weather is warm as the rooms overlooking the inner sanctions of the hotel can get quite stuffy!
We found the dining room staff quite miserable and not at all friendly, which probably spoils it a bit; they can be quite rude and reach across you all the time when clearing plates etc away. I suggest you take your own tea bags and coffee and just use the hot water from the machine; also, the juice in the mornings often tastes watered down - this was the same 5 years ago so we went prepared.
There is a good choice of food and the fish is lovely - although the Salmon had lots of bones in it on the 2 occasions I had it. I don't eat meat but family members said all of the choices were really good, and there was always plenty of vegetables.

Travelling around Malta is fairly easy; we hired a car for a few days and took our life into our own hands with the drivers there but family members had bus tickets which work out really cheap. Make sure you get the ferry over to Comino and swim in the blue lagoon, and also Gozo is definitely worth a visit, although hiring a car will ensure you see a lot more of it than going by bus. Medina is also lovely and an enchanting place to see. It's best to use the car hire places near the hotel and no need to book before hand, but do check in the height of the season.

Water in Malta is cheap to buy and there's a shop just by the hotel where you can purchase this, as well as very reasonably priced sandwiches.

The bar adjoined to the hotel on road level sells lovely cakes and is very reasonable, so afternoon tea is a must there!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth paying a bit more for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qawra Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.