We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dolmen Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dolmen Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Dolmen Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
falkirk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

stayed 21/4 to 28/4 paid extra for superior deluxe sea view efficient check in but no offer of porter excellent view of pool/baybut mismatched furniture on balcony .and room very basic although spotless.
had fridge but safe is extra charge
thinga are not in full swing but the pools are nice with plenty of sunbeds entertainment team good during day
lovely pool complex through tunnel on rocky shore but nothing open yet so able to grab Balinese bed and enjoy infinity pool!!!!
hotel location is excellent with bars restaurants shops close by.
we hireda car /car park extra 9 euros for week and barrier wasn't working properly so had to get help from reception who had the attitude that it was us but it was lots of cars and it suddenly worked next day!!
hotel is a conference venue so it is busy
we were b&b restaurant was chaos open 7-10 but nearly impossible to find a seat staff slow to clear and reset food average allself service no egg chef /bacon only 3 days condiments poor quality an unpleasant unfriendly experience not 4 star but you wont starve
had a couple of lunches at café delos excellent not overpriced

impersonal hotel

casino is in hotel and is same as on our last visit 15 years ago

Room Tip: some rooms don't have a balcony so pay more as it is hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    644
    290
    119
    67
See reviews for
441
721
76
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my mum stayed here mid week for 4 nights in April and had a great time. The staff were very helpful and breakfast and dinner options were fantastic.
The pool area is great too. I read a review saying there's only 2 pools but there's definitely 4 as I was in them all! Although they were very cold! The entertainment was also good.
The pool bar and nightclub weren't open but it was off season so we couldn't complain! The cafe at the pool serves food, coffee, alcohol and cake! There's also plenty of bars round the town.
Our room was very modern and comfortable with sea views. We were very happy with the facilties. However, we were above the cafe and a generator seemed to be left on all night. We considered asking to move rooms but we opted for earplugs instead and they did the trick!

Overall I'd definitely stay here again. It was great accommodation. We were slightly disappointed with the St Pauls Bay area, but the bus station is right behind the hotel and buses are only €1.50 so you can get out and explore the island!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I travelled to Malta and stayed at the Dolmen for a friend’s wedding in April.
The hotel is average and nothing special. The Wi-Fi is terrible and could only get signal in certain parts of the hotel (and not our room)

The rooms are basic- but have everything that you need.
The cleaners start vacuuming the corridors outside the rooms at 8 in the morning, and then changing bed linen on the beds nearby while dragging the beds across a tile floor to do so.
So not what you need when you are looking for a lie in on your holiday.

The restaurant in the hotel the food was ok, but at times the staff were very slow, even when it wasn’t overly busy.
On the day of the wedding we went to get lunch and waited an hour for pizza and burgers, and when it arrived it was cold, it had just been sitting there waiting to go out.
A lot of people that day ended up walking out because the food had taken so long to come to them.

The pools looked nice, however we were in Malta when it was freezing with gale force winds so we couldn’t get to use these facilities.
The wedding itself was in the Dolmen- and the venue and food could not be faulted- but again nothing amazing just average.

One redeeming features about this place was the trip we booked to Gozo for the day… that is a must and such a beautiful island.
Overall I wouldn’t recommend Malta, there are much nicer places and hotels to see.

Room Tip: go for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed in a superior sea view room for a week in April. The room was lovely, we had 2 larger then normal single beds pushed together as one, a flat screen tv, a table and chairs, wardrobe, safe, kettle and cups, mini fridge and a massive balcony. We had a gorgeous view overlooking the pool area and the sea. We were booked in for bed and breakfast, which we had 4 out of the 7 days. There was a wide selection, cereals, fruit, pastries and sausages/bacon/eggs/beans/toast. Breaskfast was very busy, it was served between 7:30 - 10:00, we got there around 9am. We watched a football match in The Temple Bar and the barman was very kind to put our match on a different television while we waited for a match that was already playing to finish. We did not dine at the restaurant or use the spa or casino. Our room was cleaned everyday by a lovely room maid named Daniela, she provided clean sheets, towels and toilet rolls. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to Bugibba bus station where you can get the bus to Sliema or Valletta for €1,50 for a day rider or €6,50 for a weekly pass. It is a 5 minute walk to Bugibba square where there is a variety of bars and restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Dolmen Resort.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a week in an apartment. There was a bit of a glitch in the first 24 hours but it was sorted out, without any fuss, when we spoke to reception. Special mention to Cindy who was extremely patient and could not do enough to accommodate my request. The apartment itself was super clean, yes the room is starting to look a bit dated but as mentioned it was very clean and had everything we needed. Again credit to the person who cleaned our room (and came in daily which really was not required). We had an apartment on the 5th floor with an amazing view across St Paul's Bay.

Non-hotel
The bus terminus is close to the hotel (5 minute walk), buy a 7 day ticket for €6.50 and use that to get around (be aware, no one waits in the queue, and there is a good chance you will be standing for the journey - that said it gets you there). We didn't really use any of the hotel facilities and we did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on these areas.

Room Tip: We had D589. Great view & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived on Weds 15th April for a week of Bed and Breakfast. Checked in with a rather rude receptionist! Manners cost nothing in any language and dealing with the public means they should be there all the time! Our bags were taken up to our room by a rather lovely little chap though, how different attitudes are depending on the job in this place!

Ok, so the room itself was a large room, with two double beds ( extra pillows in the wardrobe) a decent amount of hanging space and plenty of drawers.. It was clean and airy with a balcony that overlooked the pool and the sea. The bathroom was clean, there were a couple of loose tiles on the floor. The flush button on the toilet had a habit of falling off but there were plenty of towels and more if you asked the maids nicely. Unfortunately didn't take any pictures of the room so i do apologize. The sheets were not changed in the week we stayed.

The Hotel it'self is not all it's made out to be. Whilst they seem to have made an affort with the Lobby, Bar, Cafe, Restaurant and Spa area, the rest of the hotel is showing signs of tiredness. It's also a maze of corridors, so if you do stay there, make sure you learn where the Fire exits are! We were there a week and it took us 3 days to find a quicker way down to the pool which was practically underneath us.

Impressions! Breakfast was ok, there seemed to be a good choice of fruit cereals, breads, cheese, eggs, bacon (when they felt like it), tomato, beans, Fried potatoes, Saveloy sausages ( although the menu did say 2 different kinds of sausage!) and even salad. Fruit juice, coffee, tea and water.

The Spa, we didn't use, although we did wander through from time to time. and we did take a look at the indoor pool but the artificial heat and chemicals made our eyes water so we didn't use.

So on to the exterior, on the Dolmen website the hotel boasts four outdoor pools! we found 2! One not in use for some strange reason, apparently it's not June yet even though we paid a lot of money for our B & B holiday and there were a lot of people staying at the hotel, (more coach loads by the day, we were expected to all use the one pool. (which was absolutely freezing) The Pool bar was also closed!! again, it's not June even though this is part of what sold us the holiday in the first place! To be honest, The pool bar is so filthy i wouldn't want to be the first person to take a drink from there anyway. I know it has to be cleaned up, but it should have been done before any people arrived and what really made us laugh was maintenance sanding down tables in the bar area by the pumps and pipes and letting the dust settle in and on the whole bar area without cleaning it and the pool which didn't get cleaned till next morning.

There is also a walk way by the outside toilets to the left of the pool in use that takes you through to the sea and a small childs splash pool. This again, has a bar which is not open and a snack bar, which is not open ( both are dusty and should have been cleaned by now) so if you choose to use the sea view beds or splash pool before they decide they want to open these beverage areas up you have to walk back through the walk way and up to the cafe for a drink and either stay there to drink it or start the walk back to your spot carrying your beverages. There is no pool side waiter/drinks service at all regardless of how many staff you see doing nothing! If like some of the holiday makers that had arrived when we had you are of later years, this can cause a few problems as there are steps and small steep slopes.

The Main Bar, The entertainment is to your own taste. Mostly Duo's and a party on a Saturday. The Bar staff are Lovely though and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The Cafe. Again, the food in the Cafe was well priced and well prepared, the staff were lovely here as well, they enjoy a laugh and a smile which i don't think they get a lot of.

The Casino. Wednesday night is play and eat night. This is Buffet night for a few Euro's you can go have some food, play your games and drink free coffee or tea.
The Casino itself is FREE to join, there are two bars and play areas, Smoking and Non Smoking. The staff here are a gracious courteous crew, enjoyed our time in here very much.

Round up. Would we stay here again! No. We like our holidays to be what's advertised not half holidays. We cannot fault the bar staff, cafe, or casino but we paid for what we believed to be a wonderful hotel from the hotels own website and we didn't get what we expected I have put a screen print in with my photo's of the website so you can see what it is they offer and what sold us the whole idea of taking this trip but as you can see from what i've written it is nothing like it.

St Pauls. Qawra and Buggiba are wonderful places and i would return to Malta time and time again i love the country and i love the people, Just a short walk away is Buggiba Square where you can find amazing Food for such reasonable prices.

Recommendations are Tal-Piazza, Huggy Bear Lido and Bad Bull


Sadly, i do not recommend the Dolmen. It has a lot of public relations work to do on reception and also it needs to sort it's priorities out for holiday makers. Don't advertise what you haven't got and don't make yourself out to be something you're not.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Mel d,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your constructive comments.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. This is certainly not a situation we are happy with, since we strive to maintain the highest possible levels of standards and facilities in order to meet the expectations and desires of our guests.

Indeed your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management Team, in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer.

With regards to our outdoor swimming pools, apart from the two fresh water swimming pools that are situated in our gardens, one can also find two seawater pools situated at the waters edge on our own beach club.

Thank you once again for your feedback. Your constructive comments will only assist us in continually improving on the services we have to offer to our clients.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Dolmen is clean, close to lots of restaurants and opposite the beautiful beach where we jumped in for a snorkel. The buffet breakfast is fantastic with ocean views, the cafe is lovely, pools clean and our room had a comfy double bed, good tv, verandah with sea views, Fridge , bath and great shower, wifi that we got a new password for each day but it worked fine then, lovely staff and room cleaned daily.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Juliefitz1905,

Allow us to thank you for making the time and sharing this review following your stay at our resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your days relaxing at the resort's sea front and that you thoroughly enjoyed the views we have to offer. This is indeed a very significant feature of our resort, overlooking direct views of the Mediterranean Sea.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul’s Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel’s general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Cocktails Bar, Wine Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant.Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Within the hotel’s garden two tennis courts are available.Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolmen Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.