We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolmen Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dolmen Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Dolmen Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Victoria, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

excellent service and we are very satisfied with the service . sure We will go again..Large and very clean rooms. excellent food. a variation of food for breakfast. Staff very helpful and friendly.. It was our 7 th stay at Dolmen. I really recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear JGrech,

Thank you for taking the time to place such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor.

We do our best to provide our guests with a pleasant and comfortable experience as your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us. Rest assured that the entire Dolmen team is only too pleased to make your stay with us an Exceptional one.

Your comments are truly appreciated by the team and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again.

Thank you once again and best wishes,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    644
    291
    119
    67
See reviews for
441
723
77
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We are really satisfied with our choice to come to the Dolmen Resort. First of all there is actually a Dolmen in the Resort belonging to Malta's neolithic Gargantya Phase, dating c. 3300 calBC. It is the only Resort in Malta with a stone monument. The Hotel is an excelent 4 star, clean and in good shape. Beautiful rooms with spectacular sea views and a very varied and tasty dinner buffet will complete your vacation. It has also a nice SPA but with only one sauna. Perfectly located with the bus station at 1 minute walk, this is really a plus since in seconds you can take any bus to anywhere you may want. Sooner or later we'll be coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Marco A,

Greetings from the Dolmen Resort and the Maltese Islands!

Thank you for making the time and posting a review following your stay at our resort, it is with great pleasure to read that you found our rooms delightful.

Looking forward to having you back at the resort and the Islands.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Nothing too much trouble to make your stay an enjoyable experience in every department. The reception manager sorted a major problem out for us regarding our tariff which was no fault of the hotel for which we were very grateful. Chefs and dining room staff coped remarkably well when hotel was busy food replenished and tables cleared very efficiently. Animation team very
amiable and always available when needed. No charge for dressing gowns beach towels and one tariff for safe in room however long your stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Bat1944,

Thank you so much for the favourable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Recently stayed at the Dolmen for the European 8 ball Pool Championships. Staff are exceptionally helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Everyone worked long hours to ensure that we had a very successful Championship. Rooms are very clean and our allocated housekeeper did everything just as we like including respecting our privacy.

I am on an extremely limited diet due to several food allergies/intolerances and was a little worried about being away from home and wondering whether the hotel would be able to cater for my needs. No need to have wasted any energy on worrying. Omar and Rennie, two of the chefs, made sure that my food was prepared as required and only contained ingredients that I am able to eat. What superstars (wish I could have brought both of them home with me). They always made time to enquire afterwards as to whether I had enjoyed the meal and to discuss what I would like the following day.

Would we go to the Dolmen again - without a shadow of a doubt. Anybody who has food allergies or intolerances (or even both) should seriously consider this hotel - we're sure you won't be disappointed. Just let them know in advance and you too can enjoy delicious meals prepared as required with a great deal of care and attention to detail.

Only downside for both of us - soft bed. We have a bed like a wooden plank and found it difficult to sleep on what seemed more like a cloud.

Hope to be back again very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear PoolRef,

On behalf of the team at the Dolmen Resort, I would like to thank you for the great review you have so kindly placed on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your comments and mention our colleagues for their professionalism. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With best wishes,

Sincerely,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

A friend and I have just returned from 5 days in Malta, we stayed at the Dolmen and overall the stay was very good, rooms were clean and tidy although are showing some age in the bathrooms.

We were on a B&B basis and the breakfast was fine, but could be improved with proper sausages rather than the hotdog type on offer.

Our rooms were on the 3rd floor (340 & 344) 340 is somewhat larger than 355 whcih I suspect is down to the hotel being laid out on an arc, the views were inland and not really that impressive, but I wasn'y looking for a view and the price paid was reasonable.

We had a late arrival at 1am and it would have been nice to find maybe a bottle of water in the room, or maybe some tea making facilities, but the lack of these is no big issue.

Upon arrival my room had an odour of stale smoke and as a non smoker I popped downstairs to reception, they advised that all rooms are non smoking but they include an ashtray in the room for use on the balcony, I suspect that in the real world many guests will therefore smoke in the room itself, that said the front desk staff immediately arranged for someone to pop up with some air freshener and after 5 minutes with the balcony door open the room was fine.

We generally ate out other than for breakfast, but on one rainny afternoon we decamped to the bar, only to find that the food offering was from a rather limited menu, the full menu is not offered off season, which is madness you would expect a hotel to be able to offer a menu regardless of the time of year.

The spa facility is surprisingly good and look out for offers, we had 25 EURO off vouchers in our room on arrival. T&C's applied but these were more than reasonable.

I can't comment on the evening entertainement as we were generally out and about.

The hotel is one minute walk from the bus terminus with frequent departures to various destinations, route 12 seems to be the most popular to Valetta, but if it's busy and you ahve time to kill jump on one of the others that end up in Valetta but take a little longer to get there, at least that way you see some of the Island.

Staff were all friendly and were willing to sort issues and provide information when asked.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just arrived back from Malta last night. We stayed at the Dolmen for 4 nights and generally the hotel is was lovely. The room was 602 and it was very clean with a great sea view. The room had all we needed but it lacked a bit of comfort....it could have done with a small rug and some cushions.....but this is only a small thing! The cleaners were lovely and they cleaned the room on a daily basis unless you asked them not to. However I could not say the same for the reception staff.....there was one lovely girl called Kateianna who was very pleasant but the rest were very abrupt and rude and made you feel that you were bothering them when asking advice!! I have to add that the breakfast was wonderful and had a great variety to suit everyone. I think we would return to the Dolmen however I would be reluctant to ask the reception any questions!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Shauna40,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your constructive comments.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. This is certainly not a situation we are happy with, since we strive to maintain the highest possible levels of standards and facilities in order to meet the expectations and desires of our guests.

Indeed your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management Team, in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer.

Thank you once again for your feedback. Your constructive comments will only assist us in continually improving on the services we have to offer to our clients.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Hi I stayed here with some friends recently and was very excited by the website and the fact this is a 4 star hotel.
However on arrival there was rowdy football teams and young people who shouted and had parties all the time. For me this was a big put off espically since it was tolerated by the hotel.
The bad:
- the rooms were that thin you could hear people having sex or moving above
- The 'free wifi' advertised on the dolmen website is a lie and there is no free wifi. All you get is 30 mins of free wifi per stay. Once it's gone it's gone and you pay 1 euro a hour for internet. The internet isn't powerful enough for laptop use and only tablet.
- The swimming pool and spa is constantly fully booked so if your going for 7 days or 2 weeks then I'd book well in advance. The swimming pool is also very small and shallow. Therefore it cannot fit more than 5 people in it. The whirlpool also never works and the sauna is the same in that it is extremely small and can only fit around 5 people in it.

The good:
- The hotel staff do try and help you and understand/speak good english
- The resort is in a safe location
- The maids will change your bed everyday and do a good job, no need to ask!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Mrrapper,

Thank you very much for taking the time to register your experience on Trip Advisor. We are extremely sorry to find out that so many little things that make up, what should be a great experience, did not meet your expectations.

Your comments have been shared with the Management Team in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer so that similar incidents will not reoccur.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies and thank you once again for your feedback.

With our warmest regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul’s Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel’s general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Cocktails Bar, Wine Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant.Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Within the hotel’s garden two tennis courts are available.Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolmen Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.