We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms not like pictures and half the facilities were closed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dolmen Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dolmen Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Dolmen Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average rooms not like pictures and half the facilities were closed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Got to hotel on 2nd April. Like most writing a review we waited til 2pm for room after we arrived at 11am. We got a free upgrade which was nice. The room was lovely with everything we wanted and expected... Until....

After a couple of days it suddenly got an infestation of ants. I asked to change rooms and after lengthy debates they agreed as apparently the ants "weren't that bad" according to the cleaner Zara. The duty manager agreed to swap rooms. We were downgraded to a room that did not have a working plug or a working remote for the 10 year old television. I told the reception about it and they did nothing about either thing.

By this point we only had 2 nights left so we just could not be bothered to waste time trying to beg the staff to sort our issues out. They did however give us a complimentary late check out on the last day which was nice.

Overall I would have said good but because of the ants and uninterested staff I would say this hotel is average and over priced. The rooms do not look like the pictures and half of the bars (advertised) on their site were closed and was a shame as that was part of the reason we chose dolmen.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Tazzy147,

Firstly allow us to thank you for your candid feedback which is very much appreciated and has certainly warranted our sincere attention in order to fully address the issues you feel necessary to highlight.

Guests' comments are always taken into deep consideration to constantly help us improve our services. Rest assured that all your comments have been well noted and investigated with the respective managers.

We would like to further express our gratitude for your continued support in providing this feedback.

We sincerely hope that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back.

Always at your service,

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    644
    291
    119
    67
See reviews for
441
723
76
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in a standard room. It was large but the furniture was dated, TV had only one english channel, found a giant cockroach in my room, breakfast was poor, not good value for money. We could have paid for a really good B&B in the UK for the same price. It felt like going to blackpool trying to get breakfast, with people queing and shoving. I wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Georginaw302,

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us.

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.

Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel staff, I am inviting you to send us an email so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We choosed this hotel based on the TripAdvisor tourists reviews. Arrived at 2nd of April 11.30AM, had to wait till 2PM for the room to be ready. No problem, at least we had time for a good meal at the Oz Sofra Kebab House and a yummy coffee and cake at theTal Pjazza. We were tired, full and satisfied when got our room in the hotel, who cared about the facilities :-) I celebrated my 43th birthday that day we arrived and the staff sent me a nice b-day card and a voucher for a free wine in the bar (i'm not drinking alcohol, so kept it as a souvenir). Really kind gesture, thank you Dolmen, it was a nice surprise. But the real surprises came the next day we got up. The wall was wet, the hair dryer broken, the frame of the door in the bathroom fell on me... No problem, hubby fixed it without complaining. The breakfast was great, no one would like more and better. Went out for a Hop on Hop off trip, when came back to the hotel, all was shiny and clean, our maid, Katya did a really good job. Even replaced the towels we kept for another day. After a shower went out to the coffee shop, had a heavenly coffee and apple pie recommended by a great staff. Later we remembered we need a kettle for our early morning coffee. The staff were ready to help immediately, in the same minute the kettle was in the room. The TV wasn't working, but for the first call the staff came and replaced it.
When - a day before leaving - we asked for an extra time in the hotel, the staff agreed, but we were transferred to another room, a better one, so we learned what's the difference between room and room. Well...what to say...good times in a poor room of a great hotel....Even if not everything was perfect (what and who is perfect :-)) we had a really good time in the Dolmen Resort Hotel. Thank you for all Dolmen, see you soon.

Room Tip: Never ever take the first floor rooms. Windy and some of them have wet walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Sophie-David S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your constructive comments.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. This is certainly not a situation we are happy with, since we strive to maintain the highest possible levels of standards and facilities in order to meet the expectations and desires of our guests.

Indeed your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management Team, in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer.

Thank you once again for your feedback. Your constructive comments will only assist us in continually improving on the services we have to offer to our clients.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I are seasoned experienced travellers and will give this hotel an honest review.
Check in was smooth but we were served by an unfriendly French female who looked bore and had a can't be bothered attitude. We had emailed the hotel weeks prior to our arrival to request a high floor room. We had already booked and paid extra for a seaview room but we were disappointed on arrival to find out that our request appeared to have been totally disreguarded and we had been allocated a dingy dark damp room (295) at the very far end of the hotel . The view from our room was a seaview but the balcony was tiny, set back and overlooked rusty air conditioner units as well as being overlooked by balconies on either side. Also there was a neon casino sign right outside our window. We politely asked if we could change rooms and were told abruptly 'Hotel is full '. We then spoke to the Mercury direct rep who very quickly ensured we were given a new room. Thankfully as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and wanted to make this a memorable trip. Our new room was much better and had a full seaview and the room was large, airy and sunny. Our room had an old TV where as some rooms had LCD screens. Fridge in room worked well.
Review of Food: Restaurant was closed for most of our trip for refurbishment and the conference room was used instead. Food choices were limited, although food was hot, well cooked and tasty. Breakfast consisted of cordial, no real fruit juices, canned fruit, yoghurt, cold meats and cheeses, eggs either boiled, scrambled or fried, bacon every other day, sausages were mini frankfurters, baked beans, fried potatoes and grilled tomatoes. No omelettes. Choice of two soups, veg/potato limited to one of each, one meat dish, one fish, one pasta dish each evening. Salads numerous but quite bland. Desserts very poor, no selection, all made with artifical cream. No ice cream. Fruit salad was just chopped apple with canned mixed fruit. Drinks service was slow and unreliable and drinks often arrived halfway through the meal.

Cleanliness of Hotel: Cleaning of rooms average. We noticed that soap dish in our bathroom was not cleaned for the entire period of our stay and was actually dirty on arrival. This isnt a biggie but not great. Clean towels every day if requested. Bed linen changed every couple of days. Hallways needed hoovering more often as they looked grubby most of the time. Hotel needs upgrading in general as looking tired and jaded.

Comfort; Our room had 2 double beds in it and bed was comfortable. We noticed that there was no mattress protectors on the beds and bed only had bottom sheet, not very hygenic. We reported this to rep and he agreed this was not acceptable.

An accolade to Matthew on front desk who was very helpful, always had a smile and went out of his way to assist in every way, its a pity the rest of reception staff dont follow his lead. Managers included. Well done Matthew.

Overall we would grade this hotel and its amenities as 3 star not four. Recently we stayed at the Barcelo hotel (4 star) in Fuerteventura where for a similar cost we received 5 star food, service and amenities. Dolmen Hotel should take note.

Location of this hotel is good, very close to bus station. You can purchase a day ticket for 2.6 Euro or a weekly ticket for 12 Euros.

If we visit again we would not stay at this hotel again or recommend it.
.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Holidayloversnz,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your constructive comments.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. This is certainly not a situation we are happy with, since we strive to maintain the highest possible levels of standards and facilities in order to meet the expectations and desires of our guests.

Indeed your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management Team, in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer.

Thank you once again for your feedback. Your constructive comments will only assist us in continually improving on the services we have to offer to our clients.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I had a nice and decent size room (#254), but it had a lousy view of a construction area and a wall. I'm a little jealous of the views from the ocean side rooms. My room wasn't what I would call luxurious, but it was clean and fresh. This is a large hotel, and the restaurant was really crowed at breakfast and dinner, and I was there in the off-season at the end of November. The time of year meant the pool and beach were not a consideration so I can't speak to those, and perhaps they are fabulous and I missed out. I was a little surprised that wi-fi was not free, but more shocking, and a first occurrence in a LOT of travel in many countries was that they charged to use the safe in the room. That's just odd. In my experience nothing about this hotel (reception, halls, room amenities, dining room) stood out as great or wonderful which is why I give it an average rating. If comparing it to an American hotel chain, the room would was like being in a Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 254 and had no view, so you probably want an odd number room to get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear EUReview,

We reviewed your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. Rest assured that we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get from past guests.

We do thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and had to wait an hour for our room to be ready, which we had never experienced before. On being given our keys we found our room which was of a good size however there was no balcony and we had to stand on the bed to look out of the window which looked over a side street. I went to reception to complain about the lack of balcony and the lady on reception was very abrupt and informed me that it was actually a premier room(there idea of premier was very different to mine) She offered to show us another room which she said was the only free room in the hotel. The other room was much smaller, on the ground floor and did have a balcony which looked straight at a brick wall, it also had a very strong smell of damp!! We decided to stay in our original room, this spoilt our holiday as we like to sit outside and read. The door to the bathroom to the bedroom was little more than a shower door so anytime during the night you have to use the toilet and needed to put a light on it lit up the bedroom waking everyone else up. The hotel looked shabby when you got away from the main reception area. The food was also disappointing as it didnt cater for the tastes of all nationalities and on more than one occasion we had to eat out as there was nothing we liked on the menu!
We thought Malta was a beautiful island with excellent transport links at very resonable prices and we would maybe return in future years but certainly not to the Dolmen. This trip was a special birthday present for my partner which was spoilt by the hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure you check if theres a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Tina B,

Firstly allow us to thank you for your candid feedback which is very much appreciated and has certainly warranted our sincere attention in order to fully address the issues you feel necessary to highlight.

Guests' comments are always taken into deep consideration to constantly help us improve our services. Rest assured that all your comments have been well noted and investigated with the respective managers.

We would like to further express our gratitude to you and your partner for your continued support in providing this feedback.

We sincerely hope that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back.

Always at your service,

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauterbach, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Breakfast coffee could be better, breakfast was traditional English.
Staff on reception very polite.
Would have been nice to have a kettle in the room.
Busstation right in Front of the hotel where you can start your trips pretty cheap all over the island.
Bars and shops are close to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Groetaz,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

As a management team, we do take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.

Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

With our warmest regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul’s Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel’s general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Cocktails Bar, Wine Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant.Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Within the hotel’s garden two tennis courts are available.Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolmen Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.