We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolmen Hotel, Malta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolmen Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dolmen Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Dolmen Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dolmen Hotel, Malta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Our room was very nice. Our view was spectacular. Our maid, Marisa, did a very good job of caring for our room. Daniela was exceptional as a greeter at the dining room. We appreciated these two staff very much. Food was excellent as well as the serving staff in the dining room. There was only one negative. The internet accessibility was beyond poor. It was next to impossible. It was expensive. It was very difficult to get on. Often you were dropped from connection in the middle of transactions. Because of the difficulties with it I used it much less than I would have wished which left me with half my minutes unused, which doubled my cost. That one experience was problematic, more so since I was there 8 days, not on holiday but on business. Thanks.

Room Tip: Get on the sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Henry C,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for finding the time to highlighting your stay at our Resort. Your candid feedback is very much appreciated and has certainly warranted our sincere attention in order to fully address the feedback you felt necessary to outline.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Dolmen Resort Hotel,

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    600
    277
    113
    65
See reviews for
415
674
69
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I travelled to malta june 7th 2011 with my twin sister, At first we were disapointed to get a sea/view room that also shared views with air conditioner units, but once politely approached the front desk they were happy to move us too the 5 floor which was an excellent room, with beautifull terrace and fantastic views. We loved the buffet and also the choice that was on offer. The rooms were cleaned everyday. The different pool areas are all fantastic and you can just charge to your room rather than worrying about where to leave your money etc. The are is amazing too, with the bus station being just nextdoor, so easy to get out and about. The small bar and eateries nearby are quite cheap aswell compared to other places we have visited. I loved it that much i have re-booked and will be staying at the dolmen resort this august, only this time i am going to take my husband, even he will enjoy it im sure.....

Room Tip: select 5th floor if able too, fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear RACHIECAKES_12,

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to place such a fantastic review about the Dolmen Resort Hotel.

Our aim is to make your stay with us as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, so we are very pleased to see that you were satisfied with the service of our staff and all of the facilities we have to offer each and every guest.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Resort and on behalf of the rest of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With warm wishes,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Unfortunately, on our return last September for some unknown reason I was unable to communicate my comments., However, I and my wife , son and his wife thoroughly enjoyed our 10 day holiday at the Dolmen - the staff, the food and facilities were all very good. In fact I have booked a week with my other son, wife and his son so they can hopefully enjoy the pleasure of this hotel.. Look forward to seeing you in April

Room Tip: Try to have the second floor overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Ermon L,

Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback that you have very kindly placed on Trip Advisor and shared with fellow travelers.

We are so pleased that you were satisfied with the service and facilities that you experienced during your stay at the Dolmen Resort.

Thank you once again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My friend and I went to Malta the first week of November. A 4 night sight seeing break. The Dolmen is an great hotel as it is very near the bus station. Every member of staff was very helpful. The food in the hotel was excellent so much choice and variety. One the last day we packed our bags and left at the hotel as our flight was not till night time, when we got back the receptionist was very helpful
and told us to go to the spa and to change there. I would book the hotel again if we came back to Malta plenty of sun beds round the pools areas.. Very very clean everywhere.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Marleneyork_12,

On behalf of the Dolmen team, I would like to primarily thank you for making the time to kindly post a great review on Trip Advisor.

Rest assured that as a team we certainly engage in doing our utmost to make each and every guests' stay comfortable and pleasant, irrespective of their purpose of travelling.

So we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and the location of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed there for an overnight. The staff are very friendly. Good value for money. Food is up to high standards. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear MariaScMalta,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,

Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed here last August for our honeymoon for 5 days. It was my first time in malta and I instantly fell in love with the country, its quirky and pretty and the people are so friendly. The Dolmen was a fantastic hotel, we treated ourselves to one of the suites. The views were great and the room was clean and spacious. There is plenty to keep you busy in the resort and the food was always great and very well priced. The breakfast buffet every morning was the best I've ever had. The staff were always very friendly and helpful in all areas. I noticed alot of families holidayed in the area and think it would be a great place to bring my 3 year old this year. The whole country seems very child friendly. I hope to return to the Dolmen for my anniversary this summer.....I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The suites are worth the extra money, ask to be placed in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Michelle d,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,

Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We chose this hotel to spend our new year break in. The hotels facilities, staff and overall location is better than average although the price was still pretty low. It was our first time in Malta and we were impressed with the quiet lifestyle the Island seems to revolve around. The old buses and lorrys on the roads are like a trip back in time to the fifties. Our room was on the fourth floor and we paid the extra for a sea view from our balcony. The public areas are all big and bright and seem to be in the middle of being done up. Breakfast is good fresh hot food is regularly topped up, but they do start to clean away before ten so dont be late. Very pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Grace h,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Dolmen Resort and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Malta!

With our warm regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul’s Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel’s general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Cocktails Bar, Wine Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant.Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Within the hotel’s garden two tennis courts are available.Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolmen Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.