We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ta' Bertu

Ta' Bertu
492, St. Paul Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2720 3456
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This place has amazing food. Specialising in local cuisine Bertu promises to put the best food on the table. I always recommend this place to people using our apartments and they always come back thanking us for the lovely evening they had. Do not miss this place. Great food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    13
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birzebbuga, Malta
1 review
“One of the best restaurants!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Been at Ta' Bertu for a couple of times now, and i can rest assured that it's always on the top list of our favourites,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW WOW WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My fiancée and myself returned to malta again and was recommened Ta;Bertu by a kind gentleman at the craft village. we had the steamed beef with veg and new potatoes we both agreed it was the best meal we had out EVER. also had the free malteese platter a meal in its self. we ordered a bottle of wine with our meal yes you wait a little bit but we didn't notice as we talked and enjoyed the free platter. Ta; Bertu you are an AMAZIEING MAN we will see you next year. love Diane and Pete from Cornwall England

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, null, Montenegro
1 review
“Simply one of the best restaurants in Malta!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I don't know where to start; I've eaten here several times and have never been disappointed. Whether you want to eat dolphin fish (lampuki in Maltese) or a lamb shank or something else you can rest assured that Bertu will cook it to perfection for you - and with a smile! The man is very approachable and friendly and more importantly an excellent chef! The ravjul with rabbit sauce as a starter tasted lovely too and I'm started to get addicted to it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food & wine, friendly atmosphere, multi-tasking proprietor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I visited this restaurant with a group of six on the recommendation of our dive shop in St Paul's Bay, and what a find - without doubt the best meal I've had in Malta. Great selection of Maltese and Chilean wines, and a chalkboard-only menu with a couple of 'catch of the day' specials (I'd recommend the swordfish when it's in). Proprietor Albert Fenech laid on a sharing platter of traditional Maltese starters whilst the mains were cooked. The most remarkable thing about this place though is that the whole restaurant of perhaps 15 covers is run by Albert alone (including front of house and kitchen). That we only discovered this in conversation with Albert at the end of the evening speaks volumes about the effortless genius of this one-man band!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta' Bertu also viewed

St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 

Been to Ta' Bertu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ta' Bertu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.