We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can understand all the crushing comments, but what do you expect for 20 €?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bugibba Road, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2741, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Dettenhausen
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Can understand all the crushing comments, but what do you expect for 20 €?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

Definitely not a four-star-hotel, more a bad three star or a good two star hotel. Good location, rooms are big, but not clean, horrible breakfast. If you expect a four-star-hotel, you will be very disappointed. But the cost-performance ratio is great, 20 € a night (40 € for a double room).

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    36
    43
    68
See reviews for
35
91
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

Well where do I start. As soon as the room door was opened there was an horrific smell of damp. I could see black damp patches around most of the walls. There were small animal/insect droppings all around the edges of the floors. The 2 bedrooms smelt of damp and felt damp. We did not open our suitcases for fear of the contents getting damp. The beds and bedding smelt of strong body odours (Sweat) The frosted windows had broken handles and when opened the view was into a very wet and blackened with damp void where the drains/sewer were placed and had clearly overflowed recently. The following morning the breakfast was barely edible and that is being kind. I made my complaint as soon as I could and the saving grace was that the manageress moved us without question to another nearby 4* Hotel Karanne.

The Mediterranea Hotel should never be a 4* and should never be sold by any holiday company. Be Warned You Will Be Dissapointed************
***************

  • Liked — Location only
  • Disliked — Disgusting condition
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
black country
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

i would not give this hotel 1 star let alone 4 we booked a room with street view ,got a room so small you could not get 2 people in and a frosted window with broken catch looking out into a void .then 2nd room not much biger toilet would only flush after about 6 goes shower head falling of wall room not cleaned for 2 days, jacuzzi not working. people checking out complaming the list goes on and on , go somewhere else for a good holiday

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — ariving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

We booked a double bedroom/apartment with seaview and wireless internet and when we arrived late afternoon we were given a two bedroom apartment, both rooms had two single beds and the only sea we could see was when standing on the balony looking right.

We spoke to reception to be told that there was no management available and we must push the two beds together. We were not happy about this and the next day we were moved to a two roomed apartment with a sea view. Apparently none of the rooms had double beds so we had to make do with the crack down the middle which was annoying.
The wireless we could only pick up when placing the laptop on the windowsill. Lovely view when using the laptop but unfortunately there were no plugs near enough for the battery. There was also no washing up liquid which I didn't really want to buy. We didn't have any meals at the hotel so I can' comment on that.
The pool was quite small and the outdoor furniture rather old and tired and not very comfortable. Couldn't quite make it into the water in Jan as it wasn't heated.

In regards to location it's right on the harbour with a lovely view. The road wasn't busy but apparently it's filled with British tourists in the summer! It was a short walk to the main square say 15min with more cafes and restaurants. The area caters for the 'British' so if that is something you wouldn't like I would choose another area.

The apartment was clean, colourful and very pleasant but not quite managing the 4* it boasts.

  • Liked — The view, position
  • Disliked — The few problems we had and it was a bit 'tired'
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidcup
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

The fact that it had Howard Johnson on the name plate gave us the impression that we would not disappointed in our choice of hotel for our first trip to Malta, how wrong we were. We booked three rooms for three couples, but on arrival were given a two bedroom apartment, a camp bed was already set up in front of the main seaview window, in which we took to be the living room. So they knew exactly what they going to give us before we arrived, no curtains being fitted ment we had to hang blankets and towels in the window and move a wardrobe across the room for privacy. On the night of a heavy storm we awoke to find the camp bed, bedding and makedo curtains awash with rain water, where the rain had come through the closed windows and frames. At approx 2.30 in the morning I was trying to ask reception for mops etc, but was dumbstruck to be told "we all have our problems" not what I want to hear in any hotel, let alone a Howard Johnson establishment. We were given free evening meals until the monday, as some kind of compensation, when we were told another room would be available. The view from this room resembled a war zone from a tv news report, the fittings and furnishings of both rooms were tired and worn with stuffing busting out of the split arms of seats, cracked toilet seats and shower panels etc. (these items should have found their way on to a landfill long ago.)The pool area on the roof seemed grubby and poorly maintained, as were air conditioning units, with parts hitting the floor regularly. Food was edible if slightly bland, but be ready to clear your own plates and dishes at breakfast. A very sorry reflection of a Howard Johnson hotel, Never a four star hotel, AND NEVER AGAIN.

  • Liked — forward views
  • Disliked — any other views
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

My Husband & I booked a last minute break in Malta and were offered the Mediterranea in Bugibba .I booked it, then read the reviews.We were a bit warey as some of the reviews were unfavourable ,but as this was a cheaper deal we didn't have high expectations ,but we ended up having a lovely holiday.On the negative side..OK ,the Mediterranea isn't the 4* that it is rated. a lot of rooms don't have balconys, and the first room we were given looked out at a brick wall !!!!! but we were moved when we asked.Rooms are also basic.The breakfast is basic, not a lot of choice at all.The meals in the evening (we were half board) didn't have a great amount of choice either.On the plus side ,the location of the hotel is lovely, overlooking St Pauls Bay,only a few minutes walk from Bugibba Town Square, but far enough away to be quiet .There is a roof terrace with fabulous views (but the pool is tiny).The rooms ,though basic,were clean.Beds were comfortable & bedding clean & fresh....The dining room overlooked the bay and the evening meals,although small choice, were really nice.The drinks were very cheap, The staff in the dining room were lovely, so friendly.... there was a bus stop right outside the hotel and we saw lots of places by bus, which was quite cheap!!!! The rooms at the front of the hotel ,although more expensive, had balconys & fabulous views,one guest who was staying in one told us they were lovely big rooms.....All in All we really enjoyed it, I would stay there again..we didn't pay a lot for the holiday, so felt we got good value, but I would say if anyone was expecting 4* standard,and had paid 4* prices ,then they could be disappointed.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Lack of balconies
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

Mediterranea Hotel Bugibba MALTA sold as a 4*, probably only 2*, hygene issues in the restaurant, extremely limited and poor quality food, no choice. Pool dirty. No balcony furniture.noisy fridge in the room. Very unhelpful staff not willing to take on board any complaints. The courtesy room on the last day was a shower in the gym. Cannot recommend any thing in the hotel.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites

Address: Bugibba Road, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2741, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mediterranea Hotel And Suites
The Mediterranea Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Mediterranea Hotel St Pauls Bay
The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.