We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very dated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bugibba Road, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2741, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very dated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

myself and family stayed for two weeks. the reception staff and cleaners/ maintance were always very pleasant and where helpful ,the room and bathroom where clean however the hotel is really unloved needs more than a 60 min makeover our first night the air con did not work so we where loned a fan it took about two day for it to be fixed. only one double socket in the room which was used by fridge and tv so asked if they had an adapter two euros deposit however on our return from an outing another double socket was left outside our room so we had lots of extra sockets if you like everything loading in one place. twice there was no hot water so we where given another room just to shower in. breakfast was not too good i gave up and lived on toast with spead never thought in a millions years i would go off bacon and sausages, a chef came from there sister hotel twice which was a treat as he made us fried eggs twice did ask another day from a different cook for fried eggs which was so funny 2 looked raw and the other 2 looked like a car had been driving on them so completey gave up. as we where where there for two weeks i was looking forward to the jacuzzi but it had no water in it was told it was broken and they where awaiting a new pump it looked like it had been broke for a while as there was a lot of dried dirt in the bottom of it found out on the second to last day that it had been fixed so didnt bother the pool was too deep for me and little one as it is 1.5 metres so we spent our time in the sea which was fine.maintanace man turned into a cook and a reception staff turned into a cleaner which was funny to us or maybe muli tasking. we do love malta but will not go back to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    33
    42
    50
    73
See reviews for
35
89
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

First the good points - the reception staff were always very pleasant. The cleaners came in every day and replaced the towels, bedding was changed twice, floors swept daily and bin emptied. I've stayed in worse places for a similar price in Greece. The hotel was adequate (just) and I was glad to leave. The views are stunning.
Now the minus points - the hotel is little more than a hostel. Mainly occupied by young German people. You need to be aware that the photos on the website bear no resemblance to the current reality of the hotel.
When we got to our room (411) the toilet didn't work, we were told we could go next door to use the toilet at which point we threw our dummies out and the loo was fixed temporarily? with a paper clip - I presume this is still the case. The aircon is less than adequate, blows out a warm breeze similar to a fan which is my major complaint. Paid extra for side sea view, couldn't use balcony as it was so small, but apparently better than an internal view which leaves you looking at the plumbing system. When we closed the bedroom door plaster fell from the ceiling on to our heads - this was skimmed over the next day. The breakfast is inedible, cheapest of ingredients used, I would advise go out for breakfast which we did after the first day. Additionally there is a roof top swimming pool with bar - the bar appeared open but nobody serving. Although I did not see them personally, I was informed that the public toilets near the pool were disgracefully dirty.
The hotel is at the top of a hill which would be very difficult for less able people to leave.
It looks as though the hotel has been something very special a number of years ago but is now very run down and shabby, leaves you feeling a bit grubby.
A local told us that it only opens for about 4 months of the year.
Depends what you pay I suppose, but I paid a fair bit and there is no way that anyone could class this as a 4 star hotel. Take no notice of the fact that it won awards as part of a prestigious hotel chain years ago - it was sold off long ago and seems to live off the back of it.
I would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a side sea view - apparently the full sea views are even more inadequate despite the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Southend
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend just returned home today from staying in this hotel in Malta and were sad to leave. The hotel could probably be summed up as 3.5 star, staff were always very polite despite what other reviewers wrote (if you're polite to people they're generally polite back...) , the rooms were fine altho admittedly a bit dated but if you don't want to leave your room and expect it to be totally modern then try a 5 star instead. The value of the holiday was outstanding , with working air con, comfortable beds and a decent shower, as well as a small but nice swimming pool on the roof along with a decent sized spa pool. Only slight negative would be the limited tv channels in the room but once again, if you want to live in your room watching telly for the holiday then find somewhere else or stay at home. As for Malta itself it's lovely, people are great an welcoming, food and drink are good and at a reasonable price and the weather is perfect, so all in all I'd say take this review on board, unless we just got really lucky I'd say this hotel was more than satisfactory, especially for what we paid .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Anticipated reasonable hotel and facilities when booking this 4 star accommodation .What a massive disappointment. When we arrived we were greeted with such a miserable reaction from the receptionist that my holiday was a disaster from the off. Anyway room was eventually ready after an hours wait and we got in to a unlookedafter drear apartment . Cooker was a disgrace ,hadnt been cleaned in months.Half the crockery and cutlery was missing and it was generally unkempt and not looked after. I think the 4 star rating was gained in the year 2000 according to all the certificates and awards posted on the reception walls but i think the hotel hasnt been touched ,maintainance wise,decorating wise,or upkeep wise since,When we asked about the water taking 20 mins to get hot in the bath,shower or sinks we were told we know about it ,just leave the water running as long as you need to.I am sure there was an environmental friendly award on the wall.Air conditioning didnt work at all when told ,we know about it and it will be repaired,WHEN ?,not in our 2 weeks it wasnt.Anyway decided we would try some lunch in the restaurant ,closed for the 2 weeks we were there,maybe a drink at the bar ,closed for the two weeks we were there,ok then we will have an hour in the spa pool on the roof the one seen in all the review photographs,empty of water and closed for the two weeks we were there,alright we will just sunbathe on the sunchairs ,wow we actually found 2 that worked properly we had to scrub them first,so as not to get bird poo and suchlike on our nice new holiday clothes,ok its a bit hot now so we will get some shade under the canopies ,oh dear there are already two people under them and we cant fit ,maybe a parasol then,what parasols?,i could go on but i wont.This place has been left to rot since 2000 and i would NOT recommend this place to anyone,its a disgrace and should be stripped of any stars.Some of the staff were quite pleasant but it was obvious that when you told them about any problems they were aware of them already and were quite embarrassed about the maintainance .A message to anyone who reads this CHOOSE SOMEWHERE ELSE.DONT BE DISAPPOINTED

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Arrived around midday, receptionist did not have a smile and we were given our key for double room, it was not acceptable so went back and asked for another room, after paying extra we were gven a studio room with the most beautiful views of the bay. That was the best bit. Room was badly in need of a complete overhaul, it was tired, not as clean as I would have liked but towels and sheets were clean, air con/heating not working, they offered me a heater which did not work but did change it. Hotel is listed as 4 star, this may have been the case in 2000 when it was re vamped and won an award but its only really a 2 star now. Having said all that, my correspondence with the hotel before our visit was good, most of the staff were really helpful and polite and all my requests to put things right were actioned. It was not expensive but would rather have known about current state before committing, but relied on star rating and dated pictures of rooms etc., I think staff are doing their best under the circumstances.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012 via mobile

We arrived after a long flight from australia to a rude recetionist, filthy room with a toilet that didn't flush. The breakfast the next morning was barely acceptable. We were booked for a 2 week stay, but packed our bags & immediately left to find alternative accommodation. Luckily we only paid for 1 night & the manager had the nerve to offer to clean the room so we could stay. Don't waste time at this decrepit, grubby hotel, it is cheap but everything in the room was grimy & the staff don't want to be there. I found out that they the property is on the market, hence no care factor. The views are amazing but you can't even sit on the chairs outside to enjoy them because everything is dirty.


  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

On booking the hotel the website looked fantastic and the it looked great value for money. I went to Malta with 3 of my other friends for out first holiday. On arriving to the hotel we were greeted by a receptionist who was not in the slightest helpful... Clearly hated her job! We got to our room number 2?? And were pleasantly surprised that we had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, the apartments was pretty big. Although it looked clean, it was clear to see that there was lots of room for improvement. Our wardrobe STUNK of urine. Best thing about the hotel was that the views were AMAZING!!!!!! As we got more in to out 10day stay at The Mediterranea the cracks were beginning to show. Lack of cutlery and the usual equipment that you would need for self-catering. The sink blocked, the toilet broke and there was a foul smell coming from one of the cupboards.

The 'swimming pool' was revolting, as you got out of the murky water you had other peoples suncream stuck to you, so we stuck to the 'jacuzzi' more like paddling pool. Also a distinct lack of sunbeds.

It was a good holiday over all but there are better hotels that you can find which offer the fab views and location. Recommended trips would be the Mermaid cruise which departs from the bay opposite the hotel, takes you to the Blue Lagoon and St Pauls island, great day out and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites

Address: Bugibba Road, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2741, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mediterranea Hotel And Suites
The Mediterranea Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Mediterranea Hotel St Pauls Bay
The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mediterranea Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.