We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel with very friendly and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellex Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ellex Hotel to your Saves list
Ellex Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc.Tschaval, 11020 Gressoney-la-Trinite, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cosy hotel with very friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Fantastic week in the Ellex Hotel. New and clean facilities with a warm and cosy atmosphere. Very friendly staff that are helpful and open to whatever question you might have. Would definitely recommend staying here if you are visiting Staffal!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    33
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
46
77
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

On our 8-day tour around Monte Rosa, we stopped in Stafal at the hotel Ellex. This is by far the best stop we had: price is more than ok, rooms clean and new, for additional 12 EUR have a sauna or a steam bath, best breakfast buffet with house made cakes – really not to be missed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spend a week at the Ellex and felt welcome from the moment we walked in. This 3star facility looks to be very modern and everything works--from the tidy spa/sauna/steam downstairs to the warm and well laid out rooms in this chalet. A short ski / walk to two cabin lifts starts the day on the slopes and one can literally ski home at the end of the day.

Only complaints--and these are minor--the bed was very firm (my personal opinion) and the food, while healthy and ample, was fairly average, despite multiple options. The pasta course was the highlight of every meal but the meat couse was unimaginative and covered in some sort of sauce. I usually was so full by the end of pasta and starter though that it was not a huge deal--and the desserts were worth saving room for! The staff knew their wine list and we got great recommendations--even some wines that were not on the list! This is a great family destination and most of the guests were family oriented.

For a family trip to the slopes Ellex is a wonderful choice. We hope to return again soon!

Room Tip: Our room, 103, was a corner room with a lovely view of the slopes and valley. We had an extra bed pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacka, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Traveled with 4 friends to go skiing. Ellex hotel is a small place but in this very small village everything is small. The rooms are ok but not so much space. On the other hand we spent most of the time in the slopes. The Spa is very convenient in the basement and included in the room-price. There is a bigger room for everyone with a fireplace and easy chairs. Looks very nice. The chairs might look nice but isn’t so cosy. They have tried to make it personal and you can see that it is a bit artificial.
The staff is very friendly and the food is good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our second winter stay in this cosy, family runned Hotel Ellex. We are not one of the most easy quests, but with this hotel we have absolutely nothing to complain about. The general atmosphere and details are just right:Owners and staff are extremely friendly, helpfull and efficient. The rooms are well furnished with lovely local details. The beds are very comfortable (very un-Italian!). For 7 days we enjoyed half pension with really good food with every night the choice of a local menu or Italian menue. Hotel Ellex is very close to the lifts and with enough snow you can ski until the hotel door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed in the Ellex in January 2013. Nice hotel and friendly staff but beware if you ask for an extra hot drink at breakfast you will be charged for it. We didn't find this out until we paid our bill at the end. There is no notice to say you can only have one drink and the staff didn't say anything when we ordered it. This is the first time in 17 years of skiing that we have come across this. Also if you have an early flight on departure there is no breakfast in the morning - you are given a doggy bag in the evening with 2 rolls (bit dry by the morning) but NO drink so you need to go and buy one at the supermarket the day before. Crystal have apologised for this but have said no-one else has complained. Apology accepted but we would rather have not been charged in the first place!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

To save space I echo most of the comments made by Matjcollins. A real gem of a hotel where staff and management, generally, try very hard to meet customers' needs. Breakfast is superb...with an excellent variety of food available. Evening meals also good, often featuring dishes based on local recipes. After skiing hard all day I found the portion size on the small side...however, others in our party thought them adequate.

The location of this hotel gives great views as it is set up on the side of a narrow valley. The only real downside to this is there's a steep hill to negotiate down to the skilifts. It can be icy and we and several other skiers slipped enroute. You can ski back to the hotel if the snow's good (unpisted backyard stuff) and by crossing a neighbour's land you can ski down to the main road...but still have to walk to the lifts.

When we arrived at the village the hotel owner met us and transferred our luggage up the hill to his establishment. Unfortunately, when we departed - early morning - no amount of requests from guests could persuade him to take our luggage back down the hill to the village. To sum up: Excellent hotel to stay at; take some grippers for your ski boots - to negotiate the hill if icy - and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellex Hotel

Address: Loc.Tschaval, 11020 Gressoney-la-Trinite, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressoney-la-Trinite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Gressoney-la-Trinite
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gressoney-la-Trinite
#3 Family Hotel in Gressoney-la-Trinite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ellex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellex Hotel Gressoney La Trinité

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.