We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winery, great host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montioni, Oil Mill & Winery

Montioni, Oil Mill & Winery
Viale della Vittoria 34, 06036 Montefalco, Italy
+39 0742 379214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Montefalco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of Umbria Region for lovers of good living and quality .Visits , Tastings e Familiarity . ( Nel cuore dell' Umbria per gli amanti del buon vivere e della qualità . Visite , degustazioni e Familiarità . )
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great winery, great host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stopped at the winery by chance. Paolo came out immediately and welcomed us in. We visited a few wineries before, but enjoyed the visit here more then any of them. Paolo is charming and his explanations were fascinating. The wine we tasted was great, and although we were already loaded with wine from previous wineries, we decided to drink them up on the way, to make home for his wine in our luggage to take home.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent winery visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My group had a wonderful visit at Montioni. Paulo is a very gracious host who spends time explaining the process and showing the wine preparation areas. After about 20-30 minutes of learning about their facility, he took us up to a great wine tasting room where we enjoyed both wine and the olive oil that is produced at their facility. The tasting is free and the wine is very reasonably priced - you'll want to buy several bottles to enjoy during your stay in the area. We enjoyed all 4 varieties: Sangrantino, Montefalco Rosso, Umbria Rosso and a very nice white wine. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Amazing wine, but most of all a great host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Paolo gave us a very interesting tour of his cellar and we tasted his different wines at the tasting room. He has been a great host and you can be sure that you get the best possible, personal service and interesting discussions at Montioni. Besides the wine (try the Passito dessert wine, outstanding!), the olive oil is also definitely worth the journey.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Highlight of Day in Montefalco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our tour of Farm Montioni was one of our best memories of our October visit to Umbria and Tuscany. The guide and owner Paolo Montioni shared the traditional methods of cold pressed extra virgin olive oil production and helped us understand the history and value of natural olive farming. The farm is a block outside the Montefalco walls and convenient to the city parking lot. We parked in the farm driveway with no problem. Besides the warm welcome from Paolo and his obvious dedication to the traditions, we found his olive oil to surpass any we sampled throughout Italy. The scenery of Montefalco is magnificent and a tour of this family farm is not to be missed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were keen to try some local wine and rang Paulo from Montioni Oil mill and Winery at Montefalco and were immediately accomodated that very afternoon. After an informative tour of the family winery we were offered a structured tasting of the Montefalco Rossi and the famous Sangrantino- both fantastic.
With amazing mountain and hill town scenery, excellent wine and sublime olive oil enjoyed with generous hospitality this was all in all a special and memorable afternoon. Paulo's Mum sent us away with a plate of home made salamis and hams to enjoy with a bottle of their excellent wine that evening. Can thoroughly recommend!

Visited July 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montioni, Oil Mill & Winery also viewed

Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Montioni, Oil Mill & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montioni, Oil Mill & Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.