We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wine, but most of all a great host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montioni, Oil Mill & Winery

Montioni, Oil Mill & Winery
Viale della Vittoria 34, 06036 Montefalco, Italy
+39 0742 379214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Montefalco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of Umbria Region for lovers of good living and quality .Visits , Tastings e Familiarity . ( Nel cuore dell' Umbria per gli amanti del buon vivere e della qualità . Visite , degustazioni e Familiarità . )
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Amazing wine, but most of all a great host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Paolo gave us a very interesting tour of his cellar and we tasted his different wines at the tasting room. He has been a great host and you can be sure that you get the best possible, personal service and interesting discussions at Montioni. Besides the wine (try the Passito dessert wine, outstanding!), the olive oil is also definitely worth the journey.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Highlight of Day in Montefalco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our tour of Farm Montioni was one of our best memories of our October visit to Umbria and Tuscany. The guide and owner Paolo Montioni shared the traditional methods of cold pressed extra virgin olive oil production and helped us understand the history and value of natural olive farming. The farm is a block outside the Montefalco walls and convenient to the city parking lot. We parked in the farm driveway with no problem. Besides the warm welcome from Paolo and his obvious dedication to the traditions, we found his olive oil to surpass any we sampled throughout Italy. The scenery of Montefalco is magnificent and a tour of this family farm is not to be missed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were keen to try some local wine and rang Paulo from Montioni Oil mill and Winery at Montefalco and were immediately accomodated that very afternoon. After an informative tour of the family winery we were offered a structured tasting of the Montefalco Rossi and the famous Sangrantino- both fantastic.
With amazing mountain and hill town scenery, excellent wine and sublime olive oil enjoyed with generous hospitality this was all in all a special and memorable afternoon. Paulo's Mum sent us away with a plate of home made salamis and hams to enjoy with a bottle of their excellent wine that evening. Can thoroughly recommend!

Visited July 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Personalized host / amazing wine and olive oil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Winery tucked away down a small street just outside of the walls of Montefalco in Umbria -- amazing drive up the mountain to get to the town -- views are priceless! Anyhow, greeted warmly by a sweet Italian woman who spoke just a bit of English who lead us over to their new tasting room. The facility built with only locally sourced raw materials sourced from local vendors -- stone, slate, etc -- absolutely timeless construction -- believe they have recently opened a very small B&B on site which would be a great stay when the grape harvest or the olive pressing is underway. The owner came out very shortly after we were greeted at the tasting room -- believe he was the son of the nice lady who had initially greeted us -- perfect english speaking and filled with pride at his Italian region and energetic about showing us their facility. He was completely dedicated to our inquiries and spent over an hour talking and answering our inquiries. A very small winery so easy to see it all in 30-45 mins, plus the time in the tasting room -- a small craft producer -- beautiful oak casks for storage of the aging wine, olive press, etc...but obviously the highlight is sampling the wine and the olive oil. From the second we tried the olive oil, I was trying to figure out how to get the largest can of oil into my already full luggage for trip back to USA -- amazing! The table wine was very nice but several higher end varieties were also quickly purchased for the trip back. Great way to get a feel for what a small family owned and run oil mill and winery in Italy truly is -- now if they would only export to the USA!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Delicious, friendly, educational tour--old world charm blends with modern innovation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

June 6, 2013 While staying in Assisi, online research lead us to Montioni Winery for an authentic Umbrian wine and olive oil tasting. Walking up to the winery, I first noticed the beautiful location. It overlooked the beautiful Umbrian countryside where I saw every shade of green. The sun was shining and the sky was blue. The architecture was well-planned, warm and inviting. A place you wish you could live. We later learned all the materials (stone, etc) for the medium-size campus were from local sources and that there is a bed-and-breakfast in the works. Paolo's mom said ciao and that her son spoke better English and she would send him out. Paolo was very friendly. He happily gave us a tour of the operation prior to the tastings. He is clearly extremely knowledgable about his business that his grandfather ran at one time and he modernized and now runs. I was with two guys who work in production and they were fascinated by the operations and machinery. All questions were answered and it was more like visiting with a friend not a tour. Then the tasting was done over a gracious plenty antipasti plate that the mom made. (Wine tasting is free but there is minimal charge for the food if you want that. I think $15 Euro. It was a ton of food.) It was delicious. The wine tasting and olive oil tasting was delicious and fun. The olive oil tasted fruity and pure...heaven on earth. The wine was amazing tasting and we learned how it is made and what the different names mean. I left some favorite wedge shoes out of my luggage home to make room to bring back home a gas-can-sized olive oil and four wines. You know it's good when a woman is choosing it over shoes. We had a wonderful afternoon learning, tasting and bringing back goodies to remember out visit by. Oh, when the bed-and-breakfast is open here soon, I think it will be amazing like everything else Paolo's doing on his campus. I highly recommend an afternoon here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montioni, Oil Mill & Winery also viewed

Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Montioni, Oil Mill & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montioni, Oil Mill & Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.