We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best included Hotel Breakfast in Italy; Fantastic Dinner too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oro Rosso

Oro Rosso
Corso Goffredo Mameli, 18, Montefalco, Italy
0742378829
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Montefalco
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Best included Hotel Breakfast in Italy; Fantastic Dinner too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at Oro Rosso recently and loved the atmosphere, family run approach and homemade authentic food. While the place was lovely with firm beds and modern hip bathrooms the food was even more memorable! Highly recommend this find!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    47
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a hotel restaurant should be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This pleasant spot is just inside one of the main gates , only 100 m. from the town center.. It has an interior dining room & separate wine bar and a patio on the never-very-busy street.
There is a very nice wine list focused on Sagrantiono & Rosso di Montefalco. Wines are available by the glass.
The menu promotes local regional dishes. The food is good, but perhaps not as good as the chef/owner intends.
The cured meat and cheese plate is above average in having several varieties of quality. The potato gnocchi are excellent, stuffed with cheese and draped with butter and black truffles. The vegetable soup is less successful, based on a soffrito of carrot, celery and onion which dominated the flavors, obscuring the grains and other vegetables. The pigeon and faraona (guinea fowl) was disappointing. The birds had obviously been pre-cooked; they lacked flavor and moistness, much less the juiciness one would wish. They were "dressed" with the same soffrito as was used in the soup.
Oro Rosso is a good choice for an undemanding meal that will give some indication of local cooking. I would rate it "Good", between "Average" and "Very Good". Actual cost between $$ and $$$.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We first ate here 4 years ago when a sudden rainstorm drove us into this wonderful restaurant. We ate there the remaining 5 or 6 evenings, after an amazing first dinner. We returned this past August and found the place to be as we remembered, if not even better. Fabio and Antonia, the proprietors are warm and friendly. The restaurant is beautiful with stone walls, artwork and elegant linens. The menu offers a great selection of typical Umbrian fare. Antonia is a great chef and we especially liked the tortelli al limone and the pastas with truffle sauce. Several of the antipasti are fantastic-proscuitto and melon as well as the 2 different cheese appetizers with nuts. (The proscuitto is made by the family). The restaurant has an excellent assortment of local wines. Fabio is very proud to discuss and recommend a special wine for your meal. Their waitress, Manuela is a delight. She is hard-working and always has a smile. We highly recommend this restaurant. It is reasonably priced and has excellent service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place in Montefalco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just inside the gate. Really good food and a nice wine selection. My wife and I have been here a number of times and it never fails to satisfy. We do go to other places in Montefalco as well, but Oro Rosso is a solid pick for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Reserve a table to discover the best of Umbria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were so happy that a Montefalco resident told us about this restaurant for lunch. The traditional Umbrian cuisine had great pastas and meat dishes with unbelievable flavors. The earthy flavors of truffle, mushroom and cheese blended so well with local wines, including the Sagrantino. Service was superb, even though we could not speak Italian, and the prices were very reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oro Rosso also viewed

Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Oro Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oro Rosso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.