We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sagrantino and Pasta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Alchimista

L'Alchimista
piazza del Comune 14, 06036 Montefalco, Italy
+39 0742 378558
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Montefalco
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Sagrantino and Pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Set on a beautiful piazza in the heart of the hilltop village of Montefalco this intimate family run enoteca offers delicious food along with the local wine. Although we were initially disappointed that we were not able to dine al fresco due to the unseasonably cool weather the cosy inside atmosphere quickly made up for this. The restaurant also serves as an enoteca and its shelves are filled with both wine and the local food products. The friendly staff are kept busy at this popular enoteca. It is a great place to sample the local vino Sagrantino with one of the home made pastas. After lunch be sure to visit the nearby Museo Civico di San Francesco to view Benozzo Gozzoli's magnificent frescos of the life of St. Francis of Assisi. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    240
    44
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Chemistry Is Right for L'alchimistra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Have been a few times before but it was so good this time I had to tell someone. We cruised in ....of course after making a booking....and took the downstairs room along with a baby and pushchair.
We all squeezed in and made the normal apologies in case of cries,drink spillage or catastrophy and set about ordering. It was the time of the Trevi celery palio so why not hit the special.
It was sensational and a good misnomer for one participant who was looking for the 'Black Celery' and was not able to discerne the contextual makeup. Rounded out my selection of a blue rare fillet Carne that was grilled with tartufo and juicy and tasty as ever can remember.
Good Montefalco rosso on the table and the price of this fine fare as normal as any other in the Village.
So weight for age better value than any in town.
You have to love the glassed over cellar tunnels which head off down under the hillside with local spurious tales of priests ,nuns and baby skeletons that would make Dan Brown salivate in expectation of a bloated tale.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Ambrosia in Umbria!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The beautiful, ancient hilltop walled town of Montefalco has a jewel in its crown called L'Alchimista. We ate the most incredible and memorable meal there. Alfresco dining in the last rays of evening sun we were helped by friendly and attentive waitresses. The Umbrian fare was the best we ate anywhere. Each part of the meal was an intense pleasure..the food was quite simply amazing. And it was much less expensive than so many restaurants we had eaten in in Europe. One warning…book in advance. We saw a number of people being turned away. Even in this quiet and small town, this place was full. And so it should be.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We ate here several times and the food was always excellent. Beautiful tender steaks, delcious pasta, yummy puddings. The service was always friendly and helpful. The prices were no more than any other local restaurant but the quality was the best.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Montefalco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The food here is really excellent. A recent lunch included farro polenta with Trevi black celery and sausage, followed by incredibly rich and tender slow braised ox cheeks followed by an almond semifreddo. Three courses, wine, water and coffee for three people was a very reasonable 120 euro. The wine list has all the best Umbrian wines and some others at prices barely above what you would pay retail. Definitely worth a visit but pre-booking recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Alchimista also viewed

Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 

Been to L'Alchimista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Alchimista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.