We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel in a lovely hill-top town, with wonderful rooms, a lovely spa and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza del Comune, 19, 06036 Montefalco, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Montefalco
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel in a lovely hill-top town, with wonderful rooms, a lovely spa and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011 via mobile

Hotel Bontadosi is a gem. Set in the beautiful small hill-top town of Montefalco, it has stunning views over Umbria and occupies pride of place in the town square. There is free parking (down a very steep side street, most alarming, and tricky to get out of!) and the reception we received and service generally  was excellent. 

A great little hotel with only ten rooms, we were delighted to get Room 1, whose vaulted ceiling is gloriously decorated with frescoes. A stunning place to stay. The bed was very comfortable, the view fantastic, and the mini-bar well stocked and priced. 

The spa is great. The spa probably could do without the tv playing pictures of African wildlife to soothing music, but the steam room and salt water pool were fabulous. Gardens lovely and the hotel occupies a brilliant spot in the main square. Has it's own gallery, which is interesting, and small, stylish bar. The restaurant was a little disappointing and perhaps trying too hard. My duck was dry and the service was slow, perhaps due to over-worked waiting staff. 

Generally though the staff were great and i would certainly recommend this place to any visitor. 

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    36
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
97
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Bontadosi is an exquisitely restored and decorated hotel right on the main square of a delightful little town. We were there when they kicked off the Christmas season, and were enchanted by the twinkling lights and sounds of a choir singing in the piazza.

Our room was large and decorated with tasteful and surprising Middle Eastern touches. Our only minor complaint with the room was the bathroom, in that it was large enough but oddly laid out, so that one's knees basically touched the shower when seated, but converting old buildings isn't an easy task. Towels were small, and the shower lacked a shelf for soap and shampoo, but it didn't detract from our stay.

We enjoyed an amazing, relaxing experience in the spa, which you book for private use for about an hour. There's a steam room, sauna, and mood showers, all of which are lovely, but the real star was the ancient cellar room converted into a small pool. I could have spent hours floating down there, staring up at the crystals suspended from the ceiling.

We also had a great meal in the hotel's restaurant and will write that up separately.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We booked room N.2. On the first view a beautiful new hotel with a perfect homepage. Rooms too small, closets too small for a longer stay. Design kills function. The shower had some problems with the water pressure. Pillows made the bed uncomfortable. Staff: The maid didn't detect cigarette ashes in a small glass on the shelf above the bed and the dust in the closet (mini bar) - I guess it is still there. Dust on small decoration figurines. The waitress serving the breakfast was completely overstrained with 6 guests. This is not necessary for this room price. We thougt that we can use the spa area but you are only allowed to use the spa for one hour per stay for free. The spa is a steam bath and a small salt water pool (app. 5x5 metres) and a recreation area. We booked the spa once and the steam spa was not preheated. Have you ever tried a cold steam bath? In total: Disappointing!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bontadosi, Direttore at Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
We've had only one couple from Austria in the last months, so I'm pretty sure to spot the authors of this review and I must say I'm surprised to read such a disappointing!
I know sometimes we can make a mistake, that's why we frequently ask our guests if everything is going well during their stay to be able to solve potential problems immediately. In this case we had no complaints at all neither about the cleaning of the room nor about the steam bath malfunction. These are for sure our faults and I'm very sorry for that but they only had to tell us about it and we would have been able to do everything possible to please the guests...

Then I would like to clear up the other complaints:
- Room #2 is a Superior Room that costs € 80,00/person per night including breakfast, unlimited internet connection, and one complimentary "AQUAM" (one hour private spa access with a € 40,00/person value). Even if this is our basic and cheaper room level, it has a size of 18 m2 + bathroom, king size bed with top quality mattress and pillows, modern design furnitures, precious oriental sculptures and decor and normal sized closet (cm 65 x 60 x 200).
I really don't think it can be considered a small and overpriced room, anyway we also have larger and more expensive deluxe rooms and junior suites up to 40 m2 and, once again, they only had to tell us... sometimes we even give free upgrades!!!
- The shower has a very appreciated large shower head (no water pressure problems confirmed in the last months)
- As enjoyed by other Tripadvisor members, our breakfast consists in a buffet with a wide choice of cold food. All the hot food and drinks (coffee, eggs, bacon etc.) are prepared and served (for free) as requested by guests without beeing precooked to grant quality and freshness. This means it is possible to have a few minutes wait before beeing served.
- We never say our guests they can use the spa as they want: one of the most appreciated aspects in our hotel is the fact that every couple can use the spa with an exclusive and private access even if it is only for an hour. In this case, as always, we have specified it in our email massages so I wonder why they were disappointed in having only one hour use of the spa for free!

After all I am very sorry they did not enjoy Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa and I really hope we will have the pleasure to have them our guests again to say sorry and give them a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We spent 3 nights this August at this lovely hotel in Umbria and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The Palazzo Bontadosi is located right in the main piazza of this beautiful hilltop town which makes it easy to walk around to the few shops and the many restaurants each day.

You can drive right up to the hotel and drop off luggage and parking is free close by.
The hotel's employees are very friendly and helpful with anything you ask of them. They are there to provide the best they can for you.

Our room was an upgrade from the superior we booked and we found it to be perfect. The bed was a king size one and very comfortable, as were the pillows. The ceiling was decorated with original frescoes. There was a desk with tv, free internet hook up, a shelving unit with a stocked mini bar, but you could also put your own drinks in it, and there was a small safety box that was not bolted to the shelf (so we did not use it).

The bathroom had a stand up shower stall (no tub), a hairdryer, toilet and bidet.
In the room we had there was a large window looking down directly on the main piazza. When you open the window the air conditioning automatically turns off. I wished the a/c to be a bit more powerful as it was very hot while we were there.

As part of our rate there was a breakfast included and use of the spa area for 1 hour per person that you must book.
The breakfast consisted of a buffet table with fruits, breads, cereals, meat, cheese and juices. Coffee, eggs, bacon was made to your preference and served by one of the employees.

We also ate at the hotel's restaurant a couple of evenings and our meals were excellent. We highly recommend this restaurant over the others in the piazza.

As part of the hotel, you can enjoy the works of art in the lobby and small gallery. And each level has an outdoor sitting area/terrace with lounge chairs looking out over the back of the property.
We found a gem of a hotel in Montefalco and would certainly return for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

A sophisticated and unusual blend of modern and ancient. Cutting edge decor in a medieval palazzo. A warm welcome from the owners and staff and excellent service. Enchanting spa area that can be reserved for private use by guests.Beautifully furnished rooms, each one uniquely decorated.Comfortable for singles and couples.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Todi, Umbria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Disclosure: We live in the area but have not stayed at the hotel. We are not connected with it in any way.

Palazzo Bontadosi is an elegant medieval building located right on the central, mostly pedestrianised, piazza of the delightful walled town of Montefalco. Following extensive renovation, it opened as a small and very stylish hotel of about 10 rooms in June 2009. Room rates are about €200/night (or US$285) for a double room. There is a restaurant (with tables on the piazza) and art gallery on the ground floor. The hotel has a spa and hamman in the underground cantina. There is a roof terrace at the back.

I will leave comments on the staff, food and service to people who have stayed in the hotel, but, on account of its excellent location, the evident quality of the decor and what seems to be a reasonable price, I though it deserved a mention on Tripadvisor right away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa

Address: Piazza del Comune, 19, 06036 Montefalco, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montefalco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Montefalco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spa in Hotel Palazzo Bontadosi is situated in the ancient medieval cellars; an oasis of wellness and total relax, ideal place where to revitalize yourself with exclusive and personalized treatments.The salt water pool is in the ancient water tank, where you may try the beneficial effects of a Watzu massage or simply relax sipping a good wine or a herbal tea.The Hammam, built in slate and gilt “bisazze”, is the ideal place where to have a pleasurable and relaxing moment wrapped in the beneficial effects of the steam and chromotherapy.The showers are a small wellness course: neck massage, localised water jets and foot massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel Montefalco
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.