We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit to UNA Palazzo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Palazzo Mannaioni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added UNA Palazzo Mannaioni to your Saves list
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G Marconi 2, 50050 Montaione, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Montaione
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“visit to UNA Palazzo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

great hotel and staff. Great jumping off point for San Gimignano and Volterra. Would definitely stay there again. The staff was particularly helpful and the views from the town were spectacular. Although the hotel was difficult to get to, it was worth the effort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    96
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
29
155
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A must stay when visiting Montaione for business.
Beautiful building full of history and a restaurant serving excellent food and wine
Breakfast is also something to look forward to, with freshly baked croissants and many other wonderful things to die for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked this hotel through Voyage Prive and if you want to be in the centre of things its a good venue, easy to get to Siena, Pisa and Florence without having to stay in a city, Montaione has a lovely hilltop setting, the hotel is old in parts with a new section across the road linked to the main building by a walkway under the road, it has an underground garage (9)Euros a night. The room was in the new section and ticked all the boxes it also had a little terrace you could sit out on.
Breakfast was included in our deal and provided for most tastes Cold Meats, Cakes and Pastries, Fruit, Cereals, Yoghurts, Toast, Cooked breakfast was Bacon, Scrambled Egg and Sausage. Drinks were Tea and Coffee and Fruit Juice.
Unable to comment on Lunch or Dinner here as we ate out in Montaione see my other Trip Advisor entry on where to eat out.
During our stay nothing was to much trouble for the staff they were all friendly and very helpful, even printing train times from the local station and car parking places in the main cities, one piece of advice do go to Florence, Pisa and Siena go by train if you stay here, its so easy to do and you avoid all the city traffic. All in all a good venue, and a special thank you to the Groundsman for helping with our bags and to Esmeralda on reception for her help with information

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the night on the way to Sienna . Set in a very small town on top of a hill with great views of the area, the hotel is quite modern , clean and very quite. Can,t fault the staff . Rooms were bright and very comfortable. Only grumble was our garden room had a light on a night outside our window which lit our room up like daylight all night. Overall though, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Positives:
-quiet, clean, excellent service, good breakfast, great view from the room, tidy/clean pool area, style of the hotel (suited the walled town of Montaione), nice idea to give a free bottle of wine and vouchers for meals

Negatives:
-The restaurant was very pricey, as were lunch snacks, drinks etc, no free wifi in the room, TV was from the stone age ;-), leery pool staff, the hotel isn't 'luxury' so don't pay overboard for the rooms.

We did it without a car which is fine if you're only staying for a couple of days before moving on. The town itself is quite small and quiet but just lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our stay was absolutely wonderful. The hotel was absolutely a pleasure. The best part of the stay was the staff. They were wonderful and tried to accommode our every need. Dinner at the hotel was delicious with breakfast being the same. There is a small bar available for people wanting to enjoy a drink, in the lobby area. Additionally, there are two different areas of the hotel. One is the old palace, with the typical Tuscan décor. The other is the modern, sleek side. The hotel staff will show you both sides and give you the option to choose the style that fits your needs. The pool, which was GREAT, is located outside of the main building, or the palace. However, there is an underground hallway (nicely decorated) that leads you from the modern side to the pool and main lobby area of the palace. Our room had a great balcony with great views. Internet is only available on the main floor, with the staff happy to accommodate internet needs, by giving a code for access. We had parking as part of our package, which was in an underground garage. I would like to warn people that this hotel and town is for people looking to relax and go “off the grid.” IMPORTANT: You will need a GPS in order to find your way.

The town itself is a very low key Tuscan village. There are just a few restaurants to enjoy, all of which offer delicious options. The Pub, within Montaione, was our favorite part of our stay. Ask the owner for recommendations, and you are sure to get a paper full of great things to do, see and eat in the area. I would recommend him as your concierge to assist with your planning! You can also head to the local wine shop in the piazza to enjoy a glass of wine and people watch in the evenings.

We did a day trip to San Gimignano and decided to get lost within the countryside to do some wine tasting. Both are a must do if you are staying at this hotel.

Overall an amazing, wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from Hotel Mannaioni and wanted to thank the superb staff who were friendly, full of advice and always smiling. Daniela and Vincenzo especially were wonderful, great fun and couldn't have been more helpful but everyone including the cleaners, handymen and waiters were great. The hotel itself is a wonderful old building, some of the older rooms could do with a bit of modernising and minor upkeep but we had everything we needed and the classic room we had was spacious and atmospheric. When we asked for anything such as extra hangers we were provided with it immediately. Coffee at breakfast time is our only complaint - it really isn't nice but the waiting staff will bring you lovely coffee from the bar area if you ask for it. The pool was fabulous and a nice place to relax in the sun in the daytime - the hotel provides towels for the pool. Montaione itself is a lovely old Tuscan hill town and although small has a lot of charm and if you relax into the rhythm of village life you will love it. We spent some lunchtimes sitting in the main square drinking prosecco in the sun watching the world go by. There is a lively town market every Friday morning where you can buy fresh bread and cheese and although there are not many shops, there are a couple of lovely ones including a great leather bag shop - Ferracuti on Via Roma and a small cafe on Via Roma that does cheap good cappucinos and amazing Italian hot chocolate. There is also a good ristorante with a panoramic view, a nice fish restaurant and a Scottish pub which really livens up after 11pm. Check out the Museo Civico which has leaflets about free walks (we did a good one in Peccioli 30 mins away by car) and events going on in the area. You are about an hour away by car from all the main cities and large towns so you do need a car, but it is central - we got to Lucca and Siena easily with Sat Nav but go to CastelFiorentino and catch a train to Florence as parking is not easy there. San Giminango is only 20 mins by car and lovely in the evenings although very touristy in the day. If driving to Lucca, make time for the lovely spa centre in San Giuliano about 15 mins from there. In the evenings in Montaione there is not much to do but we expected that in a small hill town; take games/books etc in case of rain in the evenings. We used the pool during the sunny mornings then took off by car in the afternoons to hit the other towns in late afternoon when it gets less hot and less touristy and better for photos in the evening sunlight. Food (and ice cream) everywhere was lovely apart from Florence but we were caught out by sitting in a place too touristy just off one of the main squares. When staying in Montaione in the evenings, consider walking or driving to some of the Agritourismo restaurants nearby - Casa Masi was 8 mins by car and although slightly more expensive, was lovely. We would definitely stay in Una Palazzo Mannaioni again and recommend Montaione. Thanks again to the lovely staff.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms and you can choose from the old or new building. We were happy with our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to UNA Palazzo Mannaioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Palazzo Mannaioni

Address: Via G Marconi 2, 50050 Montaione, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Montaione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Palazzo Mannaioni 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your UNA Palazzo Mannaioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni Montaione, Italy - Tuscany
Palazzo Mannaioni
Una Palazzo Mannaioni Hotel Montaione

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Palazzo Mannaioni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.