We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Piazzetta del Borgo

La Piazzetta del Borgo
Via Iano, 50050 Montaione, Italy
+39 057 1697943
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Montaione
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We decided to have lunch in this restaurant as we were staying in the village. We werent disappointed - it exceeded our expectations. The restuarant doesnt look particularly pretty as it is situated in a modern looking building with the village store next door. But the tables are nicely laid and the chairs are modern looking and comfortable - so a good first impression.
The waitress/owner was very helpful and charming. I cant remember all that we ordered, but I do remember my home made pasta with goats cheese it was delicious - it was supposed to have augergine on it but the waitress whisked it away before the chef got a chance to add it! The omission was admitted by the waitress who had been told off by the chef - they were so sorry they didnt charge us for this dish - but it was lovely anyway! My husband ordered a pizza and my son a slow cooked cut of meat (cant remember what) which he enjoyed very much. Our starter was a taster plate of a selection of the different starters on the menu - the courgette mouse was delicious (sure it wasnt called that on the menu).

I enjoyed a glass of white wine with my meal and my husband and son shared a 75 cl bottle of 'special Italian beer' served in an ice bucket which they really enjoyed. I would love to have returned to this restaurant - especially in preferance to some others we visited but we ran out of holiday.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinzia C, Proprietario at La Piazzetta del Borgo, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks so much!
You very kind.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denderleeuw, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A more refined Italian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

La Pazzetta offers a more refined Tuscan cuisine. The prizes are a bit higher than in a "normal" Tuscan restaurant, but the food is good. The only disadvantage : you can only sit outside when the weather is very good. Otherwise you have to sit inside where there are only a few tables and you don't have a view, no outside windows. You have to give it a try.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent quality and so tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We ate several times here last year and ended up back again this year as you just can't beat the excellent quality of their food. Beautiful attention to detail and so very tasty, this restaurant is up there with some of the fancy London restaurants, yet in a lovely hamlet in tuscany! Cinzia was so helpful in catering for a dairy allergy. Well worth the money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb contemporary Tuscan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Four of us ate here after several recommendations, and we were suitably impressed, especially with the attentive but non-intrusive service. Every course was very good indeed, but following the trend the chocolate soufflé is every bit as good as the recommendations would indicate.
Only disappointment was they didn't have any after dinner drinks!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leuven
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant in a little town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have eaten three times in this restaurant and it was everytime excellent. Great Italian food, good terrace, good atmosphere, a very good service, very nice people. I will go back to eat the chocolat cake and the great pasta's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piazzetta del Borgo also viewed

Montaione, Province of Florence
Montaione, Province of Florence
 
Montaione, Province of Florence
Montaione, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Piazzetta del Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Piazzetta del Borgo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.