We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Podere Le Monache, nr. San Gimignano, Tuscany

view from the villa
view from the villa
view from the villa
swimming pool
small terrace
view from Monache 3 and Monache 4
bedroom
Montaione
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JRabbit20...
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“Fun in Iano, Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Great visit -- even nicer than we had expected. The villa had all the amenities advertised and the view was awesome!! The kitchen was well equipped and there was coffee and a complementary bottle of olive oil and wine. Though the Owner was out of town, the caretaker helped us with questions and any additional requests. We were located within 35 or 40 miles of Florence, Pisa, Siena, Montaione and San Gimignano -- all great places of interest. We were also near the Italian Riviera. We would definitely rent again if we decide to return to Tuscany on a future trip..

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view :)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Andy M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in July 2013 and we had a fantastic time. Beautiful settings, classic and quality facilities and an atmosphere of relaxation and tranquility made this a truely wonderful stay. My wife and I were already talking about going back, whilst we were still there, which is always a sign of a good holiday. Would recommend this place in an instant! The village of Iano is a picturesque and quaint location and the two local restaurants served delicious food. One tip for future visitors, go easy on the Grappo - it's strong stuff!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Pool, settings and the sun!
Liked least: Pillows were a bit hard
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Helen S
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place but problems with getting deposit back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my family (husband and 2 teenagers) in August 2012. The accommodation was beautiful, spacious and furnished in old world Italian furniture (although the bed wasn’t the most comfortable I had ever slept in). The apartments are in the village of Iano which has 2 good restaurants and a mini market. Once you go through the gate from the village, you feel that you are miles from anywhere as the patio of the apartment looked out onto the beautiful Tuscan country side, although a large pylon (not shown on the website photos) did mar it a little. The gardens are lovely and very well maintained. It is a very nice environment and we enjoyed the swimming pool although it would have been nice to have had sunbeds rather than just the deck chairs provided. We visited most of the hilltop towns mention on the website and enjoyed them very much. Tuscany is a beautiful place. We also really enjoyed a visit to a vineyard where we had a tour and wine tasting. We visited the Waterpark on the coast one day which the children really enjoyed. Everything did feel quite far away though. The travel times on the website are quite optimistic (or maybe we just don’t drive as fast as the Italians) so we did end up in the car a lot of the time. Even just to get to the local supermarket took us half an hour each way.
My biggest problem with this holiday was that the owner kept £25 of my deposit because she claims a blanket was missing from our apartment. I say it wasn’t but it is my word against hers, although why she thinks I would want to take a blanket, I don’t know. I certainly wouldn’t have been able to take it home with my Ryanair luggage allowance. What was really annoying was that she just kept the £25 without any communication (a covering email would have been courteous) . Together with this issue and the fact that we were charged extra if we wanted to use the WIFI (10 euros a week) and the washing machine (4 euros per wash, and this was just for electricity not the powder or anything), neither of which were mentioned on the website, I came away feeling like I had been fleeced. Which is a shame, because I actually had quite a good holiday.

4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 2 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2012
I have been renting Le Monache for the past 20 years to guests from all over the world,
My objective is to make the stay of my guests as comfortable and pleasant as possible.
My charges are clearly stated and when the guests ask for WiFi they pay their 10 Euros . You did not pay the 10 Euros although you used it.
The Laundry room has detergent and softener always! You rented all of the 4 apartments together with friends , you left early in the morning before check out, your left friends later in the morning they were made aware of the missing cotton bedspread that same morning as soon as the maids went in to collect the used linen.
Mentioned on my website are also the Km to the major cities and the neighbouring Historical Towns. Which is an indication of how long the drive may be at normal speed limit. Speed Limits in Italy are similar to other EEC Countries .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jake H
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tuscany Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

My family and i stayed here for 4 weeks, 4 kids under 10 included. We rented cars out of Florence and drove to the property, a round a 2 hour drive through some of the most picturesque country in Italy.

The property itself is on the edge of a very small town called Iano, which is a lovely, quaint, quiet little village. It has two fantastic restaurants with a brilliant range of local cuisine. The town has a very small little grocery store that sells ice cream and other necessities.

The property itself is outstanding...... the little touches are perfect, a bottle of self made olive oil and soap, a garden with a wide range of herbs, great bathrooms and warm and inviting living areas. The pool is great, sitting atop the Tuscany hills and the view from the house, in all rooms, is simply breathtaking.

The village really is a throwback to the bygone days of Italian life, as i imagine it anyway. Old ladies sitting on their terraces stitching quilts, hunters chasing pheasants, wood being chopped, olives being picked. A real treat for all the senses....... Friendly locals, including a local cleaning lady who was a real character make the village a real focal point of the stay.

The surrounding area is truly a playground to be explored, 15 mins from San Gimigano, a few hours to Florence and Sienna. 2 hours to Pisa and 3 to teh Cinque Terre, 45 mins to Volttera (be sure to go through Le Specia - home town of the Bocellis). There is so much to do in the surrounding areas that you will need to plan your time to make the most of it.

A magical part of the world

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2011
Dear Jake
Thank you to you and all of your family, a pleasure to have hosted you at Podere Le Monache.
Wishing the very best to all of you.
Best Regards
Liliana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Brisbane Australia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Weston super Mare
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SophiaLoo...
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The place to experience Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

The house with a wonderful history dating back to the 11th century provides an excellent base to explore Tuscany. Main Tuscan sights are easily reachable by car, the land is interwoven by a dense network of small roads, you never drive the same one twice. After sightseeing there is a swimming pool in the beautiful garden with a far view over the countryside. The little village has a shop and a restaurant just few steps from the house. People and local housekeepers are very helpful. The landlady cares for all details as well as the rose-garden, vineyard and olives. The appartment was comfortable, after every busy day we loved to come back to the terrace with the fantastic view. Would be great to come back.

5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Rates have not been provided for this property. Please contact the owner/manager for total price.
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
Liliana P
441784438537
Speaks English, Italian
Listed since : Apr 2010
Response Rate: 75 %
Calendar Updated: 114 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing