We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riding vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Via Cerroni, 50050 Montaione, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Riding vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

What an experience so beautiful our apartment was so so nice even though the low lighting made it difficult to read. Our particular apartment was the right size in all means and was designed with the bathroom between the rooms as a good sound buffer for privacy. the food was great and our servers especially Fabio were just delightful.
Our trip was just the greatest thanks to Jess and Matteo our riding guides. My horse Muskie I call him took care of me in every way since even though a rider i was not an experienced trail rider and with Tuscany s steep terrain i never felt unsafe with him. We had some great canters too across the gorgeous countryside. Jess and Matteo treated us with the best lunches scenery and fun. They went beyond the call of duty on a couple of rainy days and took us to Piza and some surrounding small towns that we would never have known about otherwise Thank you so much for making a hard worked on dream to come to Tuscany the best ever

Room Tip: ask for a room with good reading light otherwise perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctonda, Public Relations Manager at Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you sincerely for your review of Castellare di Tonda, and specifically our horse riding holidays. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the horses and riding enjoyable and exciting. We have worked very hard to provide our clients with safe, sure footed and friendly horses to enable the best possible experience out on the trail. We are also pleased to hear that our staff left a lasting positive impression along with the memories made with our horses, and we hope to see you again soon and share more of the beautiful Tuscan countryside with you.
Thanks again for sharing!
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    207
    42
    23
    14
See reviews for
154
257
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Six horsey ladies (we have horses, we don't resemble horses) took a week's riding vacation here. Would not change a thing, except maybe a slightly larger bathroom - but what do you expect from a century-old renovated building? The countryside is incredibly beautiful, and to see it from horseback is a unique experience. Our guides, Jess and Matteo, took great care of us. Although the resort is in a remote area, it's not far to Pisa, Florence, and assorted medieval and renaissance villages and towns in the area. The food? Let's just say I'll be wearing elastic waistbands for a while. I don't mix well with red wine, so I drank their own white wine all week and enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctonda, Public Relations Manager at Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,
Thank you wholeheartedly for sharing your experiences at Castellare di Tonda.
We are pleased that our countryside left a good impression on you, and we are also strong believers that travelling through the area on horseback is one of the best ways to experience it. Our kitchen staff pride themselves on creating typical Tuscan dishes that are simple and delicious, using the best regional organic produce. We also appreciate your comments on our white wine, produced and bottled right here on the estate.
We hope to have the chance to share Castellare di Tonda's wonderful scenery with you again, and thank you again for sharing your impressions online.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Awesome and beautiful property. Friendly and helpful staff and comfortable rooms.A little bit far away from everything but that was exactly the purpose of the trip: peace and contact with the nature. I recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctonda, Public Relations Manager at Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear valued guest.
Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay at Castellare di Tonda.
We agree, that the location of Castellare di Tonda is without a doubt its strongest point. The panoramic views throughout the estate are some of the best in Tuscany. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the peace and quiet of the farm and found our staff friendly and accommodating.
Hopefully we have the chance to have you with us again in the future, and we thank you again sincerely for sharing your impression of Castellare di Tonda online.
Kindest regards
Castellare di Tonda PR team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very nicely renovated old Tuscan farm houses have been turned into apartments with shared kitchen and living room, bedroom and bathroom. The bathrooms were somewhat tiny, not well planned and thus not really inviting to use though everything was clean. Each house has several apartment and a pool.

Breakfast/dinner is served in a building next to the reception. We had dinner once, and it was good. There is a small store where you can get bread and other products. You will need this as the houses are literally in the middle of nowhere. The landscape is really beautiful with the vineyards and all. But bear in mind that it's always gonna be a long drive to Florence, Siena, Pisa, ... If you're looking for a nice hideaway in the Tuscan hills, this is your place!

We had our motorbikes with us on a trailer and had some decent fun on the hilly roads. But watch out for the speed cameras. There are everywhere!

Room Tip: Our house, Il Fornace (?) was directly located next to the store. Made getting rolls in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctonda, Public Relations Manager at Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for providing a detailed and honest account of your stay at Castellare di Tonda.

You are correct that some of the apartments in the estate have slightly smaller bathrooms, this was due to keeping the old farmhouse's original architecture we had to at times sacrifice space.

We are glad you had a good experience at our restaurant, and enjoyed the fantastic network of dirt tracks around the estate which are ideal for motorcross, mountain biking, hiking and horse riding.
The shop and cafe beside reception is ideal for buying fresh bread (delivered daily) or just having a great Italian cappuccino on the terrace.

We hope to warmly welcome you back for a future stay.

Thank you again for your time and response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

1. Direct reservation is a challenge. Different people reply to every email you send to reservations.
2. They prefer that you call them on the phone, however when you arrive you realise that half the things you agreed on have not been kept.
3. Reception is a bunch of ladies bickering about each other's inefficiencies at the drop of a hat. The only exception to this is a lady by the name Simona Safina who is experienced and understands and enjoys hospitality. Address all problems only to her if you want a solution. The rest are not even amateurs.
4. When we arrived were greeted at the reception by a rather unfriendly young lady with the attitude of a stern boarding school head mistress.
5. We were shown to the apartment by a disinterested lady eating her yogourt while talking to us.
6. Appartment was not at all what was on the web. Was dirty with many things falling apart. The first day was lost in getting things fixed. The next two days suffering from a stink from the bathroom....
7. Restaurant has great team of waiters and waitresses but lousy food. Head 7 km away to Osteria S. Vivaldo for a delicious meal minus the table setting charges.
8. The little shop behind the reception is great. Fantastic team and great products.
9. The saving grace of this resort is the horse riding team of instructors- Katherine, Jessica and Matheo Genini are a great team. The three don't seem to have a single personality trait in common however function in perfect coordination and harmony. My coach was Mr. Genini who had the most patience with me as a first time rider at the age of 43. It was a delight. My family was mainly with Katherine who they were very happy with. Go to the stable early to see Mr. Vinci train the horses in the stables. A memorable sight. It is only the horse riding for which this place deserves a visit again and again.
10. Unfortunately the riding booking is not computerized. Bookings have to be made via reception who with their chronic dysfunctionality screw up bookings and invoicing for the same with regularity.
11. Whenever you ask for the general manager you are told that there is none. When you ask for the person in-charge you are told that there is none. The slightest problem if you insist on resolution is being referred to the owner of the resort who guess- guess has nothing to do with hospitality. He is a cars dealer!

It is such a pity that this very beautiful property is being run so unprofessionally. The owners should pray that their three riding instructors, and Simona Safina stay put. Otherwise it would be soon- game over!

Room Tip: Go have a look before you choose a room. Pics on the net are not representative of all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctonda, Public Relations Manager at Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear mowgliguru,

Thank you for providing a detailed and honest account of your stay at Castellare di Tonda and for taking the time to provide your opinions on our staff and service. We sincerely apologize for the situations that you encountered and that your apartment fell short of your expectations.

We understand how frustrating it can be to have your emails answered by different staff members every time, and we have addressed this issue. Also we are very sorry that you felt the staff on reception were not efficient at addressing your problems. Unfortunately your experience is not indicative of the service that we can and do provide, and for that we are extremely sorry you experienced these issues.
In regards to the apartment mentioned. Over the duration of the winter, we have a team of builders restoring the apartments in the farmhouse you mentioned. These apartments should be returned to their former glory in time for the 2014 season. We are very sorry that the apartment was not what you expected, though we are happy that the alternative option our staff found for your was better.
We are very happy to read that you found our restaurant staff, shop staff and riding center team to be accommodating and professional. We are happy to hear that your experiences at the riding center were very good, and we will pass on your compliments to the staff mentioned.

We have take into account your feedback which has been invaluable and will assist us in providing our future guests a better experience in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you like to discuss your thoughts further. Again, we extend our deepest apologies for the inconvenience caused to your family during your stay and hope we can have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed there in 2011. This is a large area with number of buildings located far from each other.
We were travelling with 3 years old boy and we found there was sligthy too little animation for children this age. Number of paths and bike trails makes it an interesting and picturview place.
Restaurant is ok but nothing special.
As it is now 2 years since we stayed there I would probably choose alternative option and book directly a house in vineyard where I could enjoy tuscany life and chat with the owner in the evenings. This resort is ok but I feel you can get more from Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctonda, Public Relations Manager at Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us and sharing with TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location and the many trails throughout the estate for walking and exploring the area.

We have taken on board your comments in regards to animation for small children. You mention that you last stayed at Castellare in 2011, and things have no doubt changed since then.
The mini club today offers a selection of different activities for children 3 years + with pottery classes, painting, cooking classes and fun excursions to the lake or San Vivaldo Monastery in the tractor.
Thank you again for sharing all of your experiences, we will be using your comments to further improve our agriturismo and service for all of our guests.



.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We returned last week from an excellent week at Castellare di Tonda. I traveled with my husband and 2 year old son. The purpose of the holiday was to visit local towns and cities and generally relax and it fitted the bill for this perfectly. The apartment was very close to the reception/restaurant area and had a lovely pool. The apartment itself was clean and comfortable in typical Italian rustic style, the view from the kitchen window was fabulous (with frequent tractors driving past much to the wonder of my tractor obsessed toddler!). The buffet in the restaurant was stunning with a wide variety of options which changed each time. We also enjoyed sitting in the outdoor patio area overlooking the converted church.

The spa is fabulous, I had a spa tour followed by a wrap/massage treatment and it was bliss, I could have stayed in that jacuzzi looking over the Tuscan countryside for hours!

The horse riding centre and horses looked great and we saw several rides come past. We own our own horses at home so had no desire to ride on holiday, it was however an equine connection that recommended the place.

The pool area was lovely and very quiet, there was a good slide and swings for my son which he loved.

All in all a great family holiday destination

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctonda, Public Relations Manager at Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor. Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay with us, we are delighted to that you found our location favorable, and enjoyed the unique rural experience that we provide at Castellare di Tonda (horses and tractors passing by etc).
In addition, it is good to know that you enjoyed your apartment, playground and swimming pool at Fornace (near the reception and restaurant) and that they were cleaned to your liking. Castellare di Tonda is a fantastic location for holidays sightseeing holidays. We are located only 20 minutes from Volterra and San Gimignano, and less than an hour from Siena, Florence and Pisa, and our unspoilt countryside is the perfect base to relax after visiting these historic art centers.
A special thank you also for your kind comments about our restaurant, spa services and the quality of our horses.
We hope to warmly welcome you back for a future stay. Thank you again for your time and response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa

Address: Via Cerroni, 50050 Montaione, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Montaione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castellare Di Tonda Resort And Spa
Castellare Di Tonda Hotel Montaione
Castellare Di Tonda Resort & Spa Montaione, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.